Europe, Travel reports, Sardinia, Travels
Comments 5

Sardinia round trip in the south - beach holiday at its finest

Two weeks we traveled through the south of this beautiful island. The originality of the landscape and the endless Caribbean beaches not only inspired me. Also my husband and two kids were blown away. For me, a Sardinia tour is a real insider tip in the off season!

At a glance:

Travel time: 10.05.-24.05.2016
Check in: Flight with Ryanair from / to Weeze to Cagliari for a total of 330 € for 2 adults and 2 small children incl. luggage
Cars: Rental car of the compact class at Thrifty for about 350 €. Booked on CHECK24
Accommodations:
Airbnb and a Hotel

Arrival (day 1)

Arrival at about 9 in Cagliari, After the typical "waiting at the baggage conveyor and picking up the car-don'ts" we are about to arrive on our way to our first accommodation in 2h Arbatax in the east of Sardinia. The weather is rather temperate, on the ride through the mountainous landscape it even rains.

View from the terrace on Porto Frailis

View from the terrace on Porto Frailis

But despite bad weather awaits us in Arbatax but actually my first FAVORITE SPOT in Sardinia: The Airbnb Enrica with great sea views, great location and plenty of space. So the holiday can go on! Today we only cover ourselves with food for the next four days at Conad in the city.

In Love with Arbatax in Eastern Sardinia (Tag 2)

Spiagga San Gemiliano

Spiagga San Gemiliano

Who or what is actually Arbatax? Granted, this place is certainly not among the top 10 of Sardinia. And that's what makes the charm somehow. Even with the short walk (about 5 minutes) to our "beach house" Porto Frailis I fall in love with this little tourist village. The beach is not breathtaking, but beautiful and almost empty, the cafes and hotels manageable. A sweet campsite (Telis) is still there. Nothing exciting, but all the more lovable.

Beach Porto Frailis Sardinia

Beach Porto Frailis Sardinia

In the afternoon we walk to the beach San Gemiliano, about 10min away (if you sneak through the hotel Saraceno). It's a bit more impressive and miles long! There is also a small airport by the sea, but this is no longer in operation, really bad. Also similar here Scenario: hardly built, just said club area, a campsite, and endless sea. If you dream of your own property right on the beach can even be found here. In love with Arbatax, in love with originality.

Wildromantic (Tag 3)

I've read that word so many times and always dismissed it as exaggerated cheesy. But as we drive our car through the beautiful mountains today, I always have this concept in mind: wildly romantic. Goats and wild boar along the wayside, spectacular serpentines, quaint restaurants and felt a thousand hiking trails through olive groves. Mountains, valleys and in between sea.

Coast at Arbatax

Coast at Arbatax

From baunei to Chiesa San Pietro and on to Pedra Longa and to the beach of Santa Margherita Navarrese, But the most beautiful is it but at home in Arbatax...

A shepherd on the Vespa (Tag 4)

Sardinian shepherd

Sardinian shepherd

Granted, the weather is not perfect in May. Here and there a few raindrops and a cool breeze. Nevertheless, we enjoy the breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea always happy. I'll definitely miss that.

After a short walk on the beach and a delicious lunch in the "Il Faro" right on the sea, we cruise a bit through the area. Past the beautiful natural beaches Lido di Orri and a Lido di Cea. The roads are narrow and winding and it's just fun to drive.

And there we discover him, the shepherd on the Vespa, how he drives his flock of sheep with a few dogs and a shepherd's stick! A picture for the gods and certainly only possible in Italy.

On to Villasimius in the southeast (Tag 5)

Even today the weather is on our last day in Arbatax unfortunately mau. Gray clouds in the sky and a cool wind. Nevertheless, we have breakfast for the last time on the terrace with sea views and walk to the beach. Then it is time to say goodbye, I would have liked to stay longer ...

Terrace of the Family Suite in Hotel Mariposas Sardinia

Terrace of the Family Suite in Hotel Mariposas Sardinia

But I am also looking forward to it Villasimius! Above all, I'm curious, because I've read that it is here a bit more touristy. After about 1,5h drive we are there. The landscape in the extreme southeast is not quite as "wild", the city also clearly alive: Restaurants, shops and cafes everywhere. Even in the low season is something going on. And thankfully, my next LIEBLING SPOT is already here:

The hotel Mariposas with a beautiful garden with pool and partial sea view, extremely friendly staff and a great location between the village center and the beach of Simius.
Here you can definitely feel good. So today we just stay home ...

Dream beaches as far as the eye can see (day 6)

Spiagga Porto Giunco

Spiagga Porto Giunco

I was a bit skeptical of the rather touristy region here in Villasimius, But I am excited! The weather god says it's good with us today - steel blue sky, the sun is laughing. Only the wind could be a little less ...

First, we have breakfast with great views in the hotel and then drive to the beach Simius. White sandy beach and turquoise blue sea, in the Caribbean it could not be more beautiful! Thanks to low season, hardly anything going on.

Beach of Simius Sardinia

Beach of Simius Sardinia

Then we drive on to the nice harbor and discover at the end still (at least in the low season) my first beach-LIEBLINGSSPOT: Knead Spiagga Porto Giunco ​​- fantastic! We let the day end relaxed by the pool ...

Dolce farniente (Tag 7)

A phrase known from the movie "Eat, Pray, Love" and means something like: the sweet idleness. Which is not quite true. After all, we are up to today Costa Rey in the north of Simius hazards. Here, too, a dream beach joins the other. Finally we stop at the 15km long bay of Costa Rey, Even in midsummer, everyone will surely find a spot here.

On the way back it is still to Spiagga di Punta Molentis over a small gravel road. Very nice, as everywhere here, but unfortunately too windy. In the hotel we prefer to jump in the pool again ...

A New Day in Paradise (Day 8)

Again the sun is shining and after a lap at the pool we drive to our favorite beach Port Rush, This time it is a bit fuller as the weather is better. In addition, it will be upgraded for the high season and built a bar. Nevertheless, the scenery and especially the water remains indescribable! This time we jump into the cool water, even though it probably has no more than 18 degrees ...

Dream Beach Porto Giunco ​​Sardinia

Dream Beach Porto Giunco ​​Sardinia

In the evening I'm still in the Tanka Village ride for an hour. Balm for the soul. We ride towards the sunset, along the cliffs along the sea and past the lagoonwhere there are flamingos. After that, I am completely relaxed and dog-tired ...

Same same but different (Tag 9)

In principle, today is very similar to yesterday. First relax by the pool and after lunch once again to the beach. This time again to the Costa Rey to the nice beach bar "Il Girnapio". On the way back we make a stop at the playground around the corner from our hotel. Has to be too. In the evening we get to the take-away a super delicious pizza in the "La Galeria" in Villasimius.

Continue to Pula in the south (day 10)

Our apartment with sea view

Our apartment with sea view

Today is another day of travel. It goes on a big trip Santa Margherita di Pula west of Cagliari. We need about 2 hours with children (yes, that's a difference) Villasimius File Then we reach my next LIEBLINGSSPOT around noon: The Airbnb Accommodation in 1. Sea line with stunning terrace. Today we only make a bulk purchase in the Conad Chaff and chill out until the evening at the almost deserted "house beach".

Just relax (Tag 11)

Today is time again doing nothing. And really. We do not move from the spot, only from the apartment to the beach and back to the food. The weather is perfect and everyone enjoys our beautiful "private beach".

Beach right in front of our apartment

Beach right in front of our apartment

Pure Caribbean Feeling (Tag 12)

First we cruise a bit through the area, past the beach of Chia and a Tuerredda continue along the Costa del Sud with spectacular views over the many dream bays. At the end we land at the beach of Tuerredda, my second beach-FAVORITE SPOT (in low season). You might think you are in the Caribbean. I repeat myself, but it's really amazing and you just have to jump into the water. In the afternoon we build sand castles on our own beautiful beach ...

Sun, beach and sea (day 13)

Bay of Chia

Bay of Chia

Even today we start after a leisurely breakfast on our beautiful terrace with sea views again a small tour by car. This time we drive inland Domus de Maria. A really cute city decorated with hundreds of flags (just like Pula, by the way).

Then we drive a nice, small serpentine road through the green hills back to the coast. This time the beach is from Chia on the line. Again, a beautiful beach. We "walk" to Torre Chiafrom which one has a breathtaking view of the bays. Then we jump into the crystal clear water. In the afternoon we go to our own beach ...

Our last day (day 14)

Another beach day. First to our favorite beach of Tuerredda and then just chill out on the beach and on our dream terrace. I will miss that.

Beach of Tuerredda

Beach of Tuerredda

Arrivderci and Conclusion (Tag 15)

The journey home early in the morning runs without major problems. We are a bit sad that the great and relaxing time on this dream island is already over. I think Sardinia really has everything to offer. And we've only seen a small part of it so far.

It's Italy with lots of good food and wine, but less crowded. On the small roads you can sometimes make slow progress, which makes the charm of the island. The accommodations are not cheap, but value for money. We will come back!

Ciao ea dopo!

This article contains unpaid advertising!

This is followed by an affiliate link (with which I earn a bit of money;)

Split up

5 comments

  1. Patricia Müller sagt

    I would like to pack suitcases and go to Sardinia. great
    Report.

  2. Patricia Müller sagt

    Looks very nice and is good for stressed young people to Erhohlung.
    But your daddy always goes back to the far north,
    combined with a little adventure.

  3. Hello, your contribution is already something here. Maybe you can still answer 2 questions.
    How did you feel about the trip from the airport to Arbatax with children? It's already a stretch.
    And your hotel was also right on the sea.
    We are Sardinia - newcomers and your tour sounds just perfect.

    Best regards,

    Katja

    • favorite spot sagt

      Hi Katja, thanks for your kind comment! So I found the drive from Cagliari to Arbatax really ok with the kids. For the Tril they slept and partly Hörbuch / Tablet☺️🙈 and the landscape is gorgeous there! Which accommodation do you mean exactly? In Arbatax and Villasimius we had to walk about 5 minutes to the sea :) LG and have fun in Sardinia, you will love it! Tatjana

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Reiseberichte, Travels
Kommentare 3

Sardinien Rundreise im Süden – Strandurlaub vom Feinsten

Zwei Wochen reisten wir durch den Süden dieser traumhaften Insel. Die Ursprünglichkeit der Landschaft und die endlosen Karibikstrände begeisterten nicht nur mich. Auch mein Mann und meine beiden Kids waren hin und weg. Für mich ist eine Sardinien Rundreise ein echter Geheimtipp in der Nebensaison!

Auf einen Blick:

Reisezeit: 10.05.-24.05.2016
Anreise: Flug mit Ryanair ab/bis Weeze nach Cagliari für insgesamt 330€ für 2 Erwachsene und 2 kleine Kinder inkl. Gepäck
Mietwagen: Mietwagen der Kompaktklasse bei Thrifty für ca. 350€. Gebucht über CHECK24
Unterkünfte:
Airbnb und Hotel

Anreise (Tag 1)

Ankunft um ca. 9Uhr in Cagliari. Nach dem typischen „am Gepäckband warten und Mietwagen abholen-Gedöns“ sind wir ca. 2h später auf dem Weg zu unserer ersten Unterkunft in Arbatax im Osten von Sardinien. Das Wetter ist eher mäßig, auf der Fahrt durch die gebirgige Landschaft regnet es sogar. 

Blick von der Terrasse auf Porto Frailis

Blick von der Terrasse auf Porto Frailis

Doch trotz schlechtem Wetter erwartet uns in Arbatax doch tatsächlich gleich mein erster LIEBLINGSSPOT auf Sardinien: Das Airbnb von Enrica mit tollem Meerblick, genialer Lage und viel Platz. So kann der Urlaub weitergehen! Heute decken wir uns nur noch mit Lebensmitteln für die nächsten vier Tage bei Conad in der Stadt ein.

Verliebt in Arbatax im Osten Sardiniens (Tag 2)

Spiagga San Gemiliano

Spiagga San Gemiliano

Wer oder was ist eigentlich ArbataxZugegeben, dieser Ort ist bestimmt nicht unter den Top 10 Sardiniens zu finden. Und gerade das macht den Charme irgendwie aus. Schon bei dem kurzen Spaziergang (ca. 5 Minuten) zu unserem „Hausstrand“ Porto Frailis verliebe ich mich in dieses kleine Touri-Örtchen. Der Strand ist nicht atemberaubend, aber schön und fast leer, die Cafés und Hotels überschaubar. Einen süßen Campingplatz (Telis) gibt es noch. Nichts Aufregendes, aber dadurch umso liebenswerter.

Strand Porto Frailis Sardinien

Strand Porto Frailis Sardinien

Am Nachmittag spazieren wir zum Strand San Gemiliano, ca. 10min entfernt (wenn man sich durch die Hotelanlage Saraceno schleicht). Der ist schon etwas beeindruckender und kilometerlang! Es gibt auch einen kleinen Flughafen direkt am Meer, dieser ist aber nicht mehr in Betrieb, schade eigentlich. Auch hier ähnliches Scenario: kaum bebaut, nur besagte Clubanlage, ein Campingplatz, und unendlich viel Meer. Wer von einem eigenen Grundstück direkt am Strand träumt kann hier sogar noch fündig werden. Verliebt in Arbatax, verliebt in die Ursprünglichkeit.

Wildromantisch (Tag 3)

Dieses Wort habe ich schon so oft gelesen und immer als übertrieben kitschig abgetan. Aber als wir heute mit unserem Mietwagen durch die wunderschöne Bergwelt fahren, habe ich immer wieder diesen Begriff im Kopf: wildromantisch. Ziegen und Wildschweine am Wegrand, spektakuläre Serpentinen, urige Restaurants und gefühlt tausend Wanderwege durch Olivenhaine. Berge, Täler und dazwischen Meer.

Küste bei Arbatax

Küste bei Arbatax

Von Baunei zur Chiesa San Pietro und weiter nach Pedra Longa und an den Strand von Santa Margherita Navarrese. Aber am Schönsten ist es aber doch zu Hause in Arbatax

Ein Hirte auf der Vespa (Tag 4)

Sardischer Hirte

Sardischer Hirte

Zugegeben, das Wetter ist im Mai noch nicht perfekt. Hie und da ein paar Regentropfen und eine kühle Brise. Trotzdem genießen wir das Frühstück auf der Terrasse mit Meerblick immer wieder gerne. Das werde ich definitiv vermissen.

Nach einem kleinen Strandspaziergang und einem leckeren Mittagessen im „Il Faro“ direkt am Meer, cruisen wir ein bisschen durch die Gegend. Vorbei an den wunderschönen Naturstränden Lido di Orri und Lido di Cea. Die Straßen sind eng und kurvig und es macht Spaß einfach nur zu fahren.

Und da entdecken wir ihn, den Hirten auf der Vespa, wie er mit ein paar Hunden und einem Hirtenstock seine Schafherde vorantreibt! Ein Bild für die Götter und bestimmt nur in Italien möglich.

Auf nach Villasimius im Südosten (Tag 5)

Auch heute ist das Wetter an unserem letzen Tag in Arbatax leider mau. Graue Wolken am Himmel und ein kühler Wind. Trotzdem frühstücken wir noch ein letztes Mal auf der Terrasse mit Meerblick und spazieren zum Strand. Dann heißt es Abschied nehmen, ich wäre gerne länger geblieben…

Terrasse der Family Suite im Hotel Mariposas Sardinien

Terrasse der Family Suite im Hotel Mariposas Sardinien

Aber ich freue mich auch auf Villasimius! Vorallem bin ich gespannt, da ich gelesen habe, dass es hier doch etwas touristischer zugeht. Nach ca. 1,5h Fahrt sind wir da. Die Landschaft im äußersten Südosten ist nicht mehr ganz so „wild“, die Stadt auch eindeutig lebendiger: überall Restaurants, Shops und Cafés. Auch in der Nebensaison ist etwas los. Und zum Glück findet sich auch hier schon mein nächster LIEBLINGSSPOT:

Das Hotel Mariposas mit einer wunderschönen Gartenanlage mit Pool und teilweise Meerblick, äußerst freundlichem Personal und einer tollen Lage zwischen dem Ortszentrum und dem Strand von Simius.
Hier kann man sich definitiv wohlfühlen. Heute bleiben wir also einfach mal zu Hause…

Traumstrände so weit das Auge reicht (Tag 6)

Spiagga Porto Giunco

Spiagga Porto Giunco

Ich war ja erst etwas skeptisch gegenüber der eher touristischen Region hier in Villasimius. Doch ich bin begeistert! Der Wettergott meint es heute gut mit uns – stahlblauer Himmel, die Sonne lacht. Nur der Wind könnte etwas weniger sein…

Zuerst frühstücken wir grandios mit toller Aussicht im Hotel und fahren anschließend zum Strand von Simius. Weißer Sandstrand und türkisblaues Meer, in der Karibik könnte es nicht schöner sein! Dank Nebensaison auch kaum etwas los.

Strand von Simius Sardinien

Strand von Simius Sardinien

Dann fahren wir erst weiter zum netten Hafen und entdecken am Ende noch (zumindest in der Low Season) meinen ersten Strand-LIEBLINGSSPOT: Den Spiagga Porto Giunco – traumhaft!  Den Tag lassen wir entspannt am Pool ausklingen…

Dolce farniente (Tag 7)

Ein Satz bekannt aus dem Film „Eat, Pray, Love“ und bedeutet so viel wie: das süße Nichtstun. Wobei das so nicht ganz stimmt. Immerhin sind wir heute bis zur Costa Rey nördlich von Simius gefahren. Auch hier reiht sich ein Traumstrand an den Anderen. Halt machen wir schließlich an der 15km langen Bucht der Costa Rey. Selbst im Hochsommer findet hier bestimmt jeder noch ein Plätzchen.

Auf dem Rückweg geht es dann noch zur Spiagga di Punta Molentis über eine kleine Schotterstraße. Sehr schön, wie überall hier, aber leider viel zu windig. Im Hotel springen wir dann lieber noch einmal in den Pool…

Ein neuer Tag im Paradies (Tag 8)

Wieder scheint die Sonne und nach einer Runde am Pool fahren wir zu unserem Lieblingsstrand Porto Giunco. Dieses Mal ist es etwas voller, da das Wetter besser ist. Außerdem wird für die Hochsaison aufgerüstet und noch eine Bar aufgebaut. Dennoch bleibt die Kulisse und vorallem das Wasser unbeschreiblich! Diesmal springen wir auch einmal ins kühle Nass, obwohl es wahrscheinlich nicht mehr als 18 Grad hat…

Traumstrand Porto Giunco Sardinien

Traumstrand Porto Giunco Sardinien

Abends gehe ich noch im Tanka Village eine Stunde reiten. Balsam für die Seele. Wir reiten dem Sonnenuntergang entgegen,  Felsklippen entlang direkt am Meer und vorbei an der Lagune, wo es Flamingos gibt. Danach bin ich vollkommen entspannt und hundemüde…

Same same but different (Tag 9)

Im Prinzip ähnelt sich der heutige Tag sehr dem gestrigen. Erst entspannen am Pool und nach dem Mittagessen noch einmal zum Strand. Diesmal wieder an die Costa Rey zur netten Strandbar „Il Girnapio“. Beim Rückweg machen wir noch einen Stopp am Spielplatz um die Ecke von unserem Hotel. Muss auch mal sein. Abends holen wir uns dann zum Take-Away eine super leckere Pizza im „La Galeria“ in Villasimius.

Weiterfahrt nach Pula im Süden (Tag 10)

Unser Apartment mit Meerblick

Unser Apartment mit Meerblick

Heute ist wieder ein Reisetag. Es geht auf große Fahrt nach Santa Margherita di Pula westlich von Cagliari. Wir brauchen mit Kindern (ja, das ist ein Unterschied) ca. 2 Stunden von Villasimius aus. Dann erreichen wir gegen Mittag meinen nächsten LIEBLINGSSPOT: Die Airbnb Unterkunft in 1. Meereslinie mit atemberaubender Terrasse. Heute machen wir nur noch einen Großeinkauf im Conad in Pula und chillen bis abends am fast menschenleeren „Hausstrand“.

Just relax (Tag 11)

Heute ist mal wieder Nichtstun angesagt. Und zwar wirklich. Wir bewegen uns so gut wie nicht vom Fleck, nur vom Apartment zum Strand und zum Essen wieder zurück. Das Wetter ist perfekt und alle haben Spaß an unserem schönen „Privatstrand“.

Strand direkt vor unserem Apartment

Strand direkt vor unserem Apartment

Karibikfeeling pur (Tag 12)

Zuerst cruisen wir wieder ein bisschen durch die Gegend, vorbei am Strand von Chia und Tuerredda weiter entlang der Costa del Sud mit spektakulärem Blick über die vielen Traumbuchten. Am Ende landen wir dann am Beach von Tuerredda, meinem zweiten Strand-LIEBLINGSSPOT (in der Nebensaison). Man könnte meinen man ist in der Karibik. Ich wiederhole mich, aber es ist wirklich traumhaft und man muss einfach ins Wasser springen. Am Nachmittag bauen wir dann wieder Sandburgen am eigenen schönen Strand…

Sonne, Strand und Meer (Tag 13)

Bucht von Chia

Bucht von Chia

Auch heute starten wir nach einem gemütlichen Frühstück auf unserer wunderschönen Terrasse mit Meerblick wieder eine kleine Tour mit dem Auto. Diesmal fahren wir ins Landesinnere nach Domus de Maria. Eine wirklich süße Stadt dekoriert mit hunderten von Fähnchen (genau wie Pula übrigens).

Danach fahren wir eine schöne, kleine Serpentinen-Straße durch die grünen Hügel wieder zurück an die Küste. Diesmal ist der Strand von Chia an der Reihe. Auch hier wieder ein wunderschöner Beach. Wir „wandern“ zum Torre di Chia, von dem man einen atemberaubenden Blick auf die Buchten hat. Danach springen wir ins glasklare Wasser. Nachmittags geht’s an unseren eigenen Strand…

Unser letzter Tag (Tag 14)

Wieder ein Strandtag. Erst zu unserem Lieblingssstrand von Tuerredda und dann einfach nur chillen bei uns am Beach und auf unserer Traumterrasse. Das werde ich vermissen.

Strand von Tuerredda

Strand von Tuerredda

Arrivderci und Fazit (Tag 15)

Die Heimreise früh am Morgen verläuft ohne größere Probleme. Wir sind etwas traurig, dass die tolle und entspannte Zeit auf dieser Trauminsel schon wieder vorbei ist. Ich finde, Sardinien hat wirklich alles zu bieten. Und wir haben bis jetzt ja nur einen kleinen Teil davon gesehen.

Es ist Italien mit viel gutem Essen und Wein, aber weniger überlaufen. Man kommt auf den kleinen Straßen teilweise nur langsam voran, was den Charme der Insel ausmacht. Die Unterkünfte sind nicht gerade günstig, aber das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis stimmt. Wir werden wieder kommen!

Ciao e a dopo!

 

Dieser Artikel enthält unbezahlte Werbung!

Es folgt ein Affiliate-Link (mit dem ich ein bisschen Geld verdiene;)

3 Kommentare

  1. Patricia Müller sagt

    Ich möchte am liebsten koffer packen und nach Sardinien. Toller
    Bericht.

  2. Patricia Müller sagt

    Schaut schon sehr schön aus und ist für gestreßte junge Leute gut zur Erhohlung.
    Aber Deinen Papa zieht es doch immer wieder in den Hohen Norden,
    verbunden mit ein bißchen Abenteuer.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.