Asia, distance travel, Travel reports, Sri Lanka, Travels
Leave a Comment

Sri Lanka travel - exotic dream island in the indian ocean

Tangalle Beach on Sri Lanka

Last minute we flew once more into the sun! Sri Lanka is more exciting than Thailand, but not as crazy as India and has everything to offer. Here are the highlights of our Sri Lanka trip!

TSpacial beaches, tea plantations, jungles and Ayurveda - Sri Lanka is surprisingly diverse! Even with children, this island is feasible, although sometimes exhausting and not necessarily cheap ...

Useful information

Flight:

Flight with the A380

Flight with the A380

Approximately one week before we book last minute ours Flight with Emirates from Dusseldorf via Dubai to Colombo, Yes, we are crazy. Especially with two little kids. The flight time to Dubai is about 6 hours. After all, we fly with the A380, very adventurous for the son man. Then from Dubai to Sri Lanka again 4 hours. Phew.

Travel time:

After we booked, we were shocked to find that November is the rainiest month. Juhu! However, it depends on the island heavily on the region. In the south, it is probably the driest at this time of the year. On the spot it rains quite often, mostly in the evening and at night. On the coast it has averaged 25-30 degrees, in the highlands at Nuwara Eliya only 15-20 degrees.

Entry:

Coincidentally I read in the travel guide, that we have to apply for an ETA visa online in advance. Fortunately, this is quickly exhibited, but costs at least 30 $ per person and 70 $ for the whole family.

Accommodations:

View from our bungalow in Tangalle

View from our bungalow in Tangalle

Right away: The accommodations in Sri Lanka are not necessarily super cheap, at least if you want something nicer. And by "nice" I do not mean luxury, but also not a simple backpacker room. After all, this holiday as an 4-headed family is an adventure! You have to expect at least with about 70 € per night. Not to compare with the prices in Thailand or even India.

Time shift:

For German summertime it is only + 3,5 hours, I think that's completely ok. In winter time it will be 4,5 hours. And about 18uhr it gets dark here.

Prices:

Food and drinks are priced ok. In the hotel restaurants you usually pay a bit more and also for European cuisine, of course. If you eat at the booth next door a Roti you pay about 1 €. Fresh fruit juices are the first choice for drinking here. These are always delicious and cost depending on the location about 2-3 €. A beer too.

With children:

On the road with the Tuk Tuk

On the road with the Tuk Tuk

Apart from the high temperatures and the time difference Sri Lanka is also a great travel destination with kids! The Sri Lankans love children! Just keep in mind that even for shorter distances, it sometimes takes hoursbecause the road conditions and traffic are chaotic. You should think carefully about the itinerary to avoid exhausting travel days. That was no problem for the 4 year-old! By the way, you should know that the sea is mostly not suitable for children to swim. Only in certain places or special Beaches.

Unawatuna

When we finally got in Columbo Arrive, more precisely, at the international airport about 35km north of Columbo, Our driver is waiting for us, which I booked in advance, In good two hours he drives us to our first resort in Sri Lanka: Unawatuna, in the southwest of the island.

Exoticism in the Flower Garden Hotel

Exoticism in the Flower Garden Hotel

It's already 16.30hour local time when we were in my first FAVORITE SPOT, the Flower Garden Hotel arrive. A tropical garden with palm trees and two great pools! After a welcome drink we are taken to our bungalow room. This is also located in a green oasis with a beautiful porch. The road to the beach is right on the doorstep and yet not heard. The beach is about 15 minutes. The way there is filled with colorful shops, countless restaurants and travel agencies. Of course, there is also Ayurveda here.

Now we are really getting started in Sri Lanka. We breathe the humid, hot air, everything sticks to one, Asia just. The land is lush green, everywhere you can hear animals, birds, monkeys, mosquitoes. It's exotic, it's Ceylon. A mix of India and a bit of Thailand. Tuk Tuk's are omnipresent.

The beach in Unawatuna

The beach in Unawatuna

The beach is beautiful and about 2km long and is lined with coconut palm trees. There are various bars, hotels, cafes and restaurants right on the sea. There is a lot going on, a typical tourist place. We eat Curry or Roti and drink fresh juices. Here it is easy to switch off immediately. All senses are needed for this beautiful, alien world.

On the beach is also our absolute favorite restaurant: the Kingfisher restaurant! The kids are in love with the long flight and the jet lag. But pool, tuk tuk and beach make you happy ...

Bile

From Unawatuna we make a half-day trip to the former Dutch colonial city. We drive with the Tuk Tuk for 400 slr, so Sri Lankan Rupees (about 2 €) to New Gate and feel instantly transported back to the past.

Walk in Galle

Walk in Galle

Everywhere there are stately buildings and noble hotels and restaurants. I like it here. Many tourists from all over the world stroll with us on the wall around the Fort quarter. It blows a light breeze and once it rains briefly. The flair here is great and we enjoy a delicious lunch in the Heritage Club Restaurant and drive back to the tuk tuk Unawatuna .

Other excursions

Turtle farm

Turtle Farm in Unawatuna

Turtle Farm in Unawatuna

On a rainy day, we have no choice but to make a trip to a turtle farm. It is nothing special, a few small pools with different turtles in it. Apparently they spice up injured animals and release them again. They also collect the eggs from the offshore beach and raise the turtles to survive in the sea. At least the theory. They are already cute, the very little ones. Especially for the older kids a highlight. Cost about 500 slr per person plus Tuk Tuk ride.

Wijaya Beach

Wijaya Beach in Sri Lanka

Wijaya Beach in Sri Lanka

Once we let ourselves with the Tuk Tuk Wijaya beach drive with a natural lagoon. At this time of the year, the sea is everywhere very "rough" with partly high waves and therefore not very suitable for swimming with small children. Here swimming in the sea should be well possible with children.

The beach is beautiful, great coconut palms everywhere. Postcards. The lagoon is really quieter than right in Unawatuna, but not optimal today. At least our son does not dare to go in there. There are hardly any shadows, but for an hour it is quite nice here.

Koggala Beach and Lagoon

Koggala beach

Koggala beach

With the Tuk Tuk it's time to tour again! This time we do a little sightseeing round for 800 slr (about 5 €). First it goes to the beach of Koggala, where you can not really bathe with children at this time of the year. The waves are too high and the current too strong. Nevertheless, the sight of the bay is beautiful!

Continue to the lagoon. There we rent a boat and do a little tour round Cinnamon Island and through the mangrove forests. A man shows us how cinnamon is made and in the jungle we discover iguanas and eagles. Kind. But actually too expensive (4000 Rupees).

At the end we drive to a small bay where the notorious fishermen are sitting on their wooden sticks. Pure Touri rip-off. For a photo we should pay the equivalent of 3 €, we reject with thanks. Nevertheless, it is a successful and varied tour and we are dog-tired ...

On to the Highlands!

Through our hotel we book an 3 day tour of Sri Lanka's Teeberge! I prefer to always book everything myself, but this time I let my husband persuade me to just sit back ... No risk, no fun!

Monkey at the roadside

Monkey at the roadside

Immediately after breakfast we make our way from Unawatuna to Nuwara Eliya with our private transfer. Fortunately, we have a mini-van, which is very convenient for four. The trip takes about 6,5 hours and is more than exhausting with the two children. Had I known that before, I might have changed my mind ...

Well, now we are on the way. The streets are initially overcrowded and chaotic. The higher we get, the more empty and tortuous they become. The Landscape is fantastic everywhere! First jungle and later tea plantations and jungle as far as the eye can see!

Railway station in Nanu Oya

Railway station in Nanu Oya

In Nanu Oya, just before our destination, we buy tickets for the train tomorrow morning at the station Ella. The driver finally brings us to our hotel in "Nurelia". It is not worth talking about. From the place itself we do not see much, it is cold and foggy and we are just exhausted from the long journey.

Train ride through the Teeberge

First of all: the ride was worth every effort and definitely one FAVORITE SPOT of me in Sri Lanka!

Entry into our train

Entry into our train

The next day begins the big adventure. It's time to get started at 9.30. Since the brakes of the train are probably broken, but there are delays. With three quarters of an hour late, we finally start and we hope the brakes will work again.

View from the wagon door

View from the wagon door

We are in the 1 with lots of other tourists. Great, which I am very happy with the two little ones in retrospect. The train has nostalgic charm and usually chugs away at about 30 km / h. One highlight is to stand in front of the open wagon doors and let the wonderful, green mountain landscape pass by. Really indescribable!

Teeberge as far as the eye can see

Teeberge as far as the eye can see

The ride takes a total of about 4 hours, rather than 2,5. With toddler in the end a bit exhausting. I would not necessarily recommend. But for bigger kids a real adventure! And for the Traveler Heart anyway. A really exciting and wonderful journey!

In Ella Our driver picks us up and brings us in Sky Green Hotel, We are probably the only guests here. The room is a good size and the view from the balcony also pretty. Here we spend two nights.

Ella

Look in Ellas Gap

Look in Ellas Gap

We stay one day in Ella. A cute backpacker place in the middle of beautiful nature! If you want to explore the mountains or to the tea plantations is right here. We drive to the first Ravana Falls, then to Ella's Gap with a beautiful view in the valley!

In the afternoon it goes to Halpe tea plantation for tea tasting. The Ceylon tea from Sri Lanka is world famous. Unfortunately, the factory itself is closed on weekends, but it's so nice to see it all. Later it rains and we have dinner in the hotel.

Tangalle

Mangrove Beach Chalets in Tangalle

Mangrove Beach Chalets in Tangalle

Approximately 3 hours we drive from Ella to Tangalle in the south of the island. And land in paradise. The Mangrove Beach Chalets are really heaven on earth and my FAVORITE SPOT here! Beautiful Family Chalets with Daybed on the terrace right on the beach. Surrounded by palm trees and hammocks.

Dream beach in Tangalle

Dream beach in Tangalle

We let the soul dangle, as good as that with two small children. The sea is unfortunately very wild everywhere and has strong currents. Only in front of our Beach Bar you can swim in a kind of natural lagoon with the kids.

Once we drive with the tuk tuk for shopping in the lively place. But the main occupation here is to stroll up and down the beach. There are a few more small facilities along the beach, but ours is definitely the most beautiful!

Unfortunately, we have to cancel our trip a few days earlier than planned because my husband has severe pain and fever. Really a pity, but health is just happening! Nevertheless, it is Tangalle a wonderful end to our eventful holiday in Sri Lanka!

Summary

Tuk Tuk's in Ella

Tuk Tuk's in Ella

Of course we only saw a fraction of this beautiful island on our 2 week trip! We were only traveling in the south with a short detour into the breathtaking highlands.

With Kids: less is more. If it is a pure beach holiday, I would go to the places Unawatuna and a Tangalle hold. From there you can make wonderful trips. From Tangalle eg to the national parks Uda Walawe and a Yala. Of Unawatuna out too after Merissa for whale watching. So it will not be boring. If you are traveling without children is the highlands with Kandy, Nuwara Eliya and a Ella a must!

This article contains unpaid advertising!

This is followed by an affiliate link (with which I earn a bit of money;)

Split up

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Reiseberichte, Travels
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Sri Lanka – exotische Trauminsel im indischen Ozean

Tangalle Beach auf Sri Lanka

Last-Minute sind wir noch einmal in die Sonne geflogen! Sri Lanka ist aufregender als Thailand, aber nicht so verrückt wie Indien und hat doch Alles zu bieten.

Traumstrände, Teeplantagen, Dschungel und Ayurveda – Sri Lanka ist überraschend vielfältig! Auch mit Kindern ist diese Insel machbar, wenn auch manchmal anstrengend und nicht unbedingt günstig…

Unsere Vorbereitungen

Flug:

Flug mit dem A380

Flug mit dem A380

Ca. eine Woche vorher buchen wir Last-Minute unseren Flug mit Emirates von Düsseldorf via Dubai nach Colombo. Ja, wir sind verrückt. Vorallem mit zwei kleinen Kids. Die Flugzeit beträgt nach Dubai ca. 6 Stunden. Wir fliegen immerhin mit dem A380, sehr abenteuerlich für den Sohnemann. Dann von Dubai nach Sri Lanka nochmal 4 Stunden. Puh.

Reisezeit:

Nachdem wir gebucht haben, haben wir mit Schrecken festgestellt, dass der November mit der regenreichste Monat ist. Juhu! Allerdings kommt es auf der Insel stark auf die Region an. Im Süden ist es zu dieser Jahreszeit wohl noch am trockensten. Vor Ort regnet es dennoch recht oft, meistens abends und nachts. An der Küste hat es durchschnittlich 25-30 Grad, im Hochland bei Nuwara Eliya nur 15-20 Grad.

Einreise:

Zufällig lese ich im Reiseführer, dass wir zur Einreise vorab online ein ETA-Visum beantragen müssen. Zum Glück ist dieses schnell ausgestellt, kostet aber immerhin 30$ pro Person und 70$ für die ganze Familie.

Unterkünfte:

Blick von unserem Bungalow in Tangalle

Blick von unserem Bungalow in Tangalle

Gleich vorweg: die Unterkünfte in Sri Lanka sind teuer, zumindest wenn man etwas Netteres möchte. Und mit „nett“ meine ich keinen Luxus, aber eben auch kein einfaches Backpacker-Zimmer. Schließlich ist dieser Urlaub als 4-köpfige Familie auch so schon ein Abenteuer! Man muss pro Nacht schon mindestens mit ca. 70€ rechnen. Nicht zu vergleichen mit den Preisen in Thailand oder gar Indien.

Zeitverschiebung:

Zur deutschen Sommerzeit sind es nur +3,5 Stunden, das finde ich eigentlich völlig ok. In der Winterzeit sind es dann 4,5 Stunden. Und um ca. 18uhr wird es hier dunkel.

Preisniveau:

Essen und Getränke sind preislich ok. In den Hotel Restaurants zahlt man meistens etwas mehr und auch für europäische Küche, klar. Isst man am Stand von nebenan ein Roti zahlt man ca. 1€. Frische Fruit Juices sind zum trinken hier die erste Wahl. Diese sind immer lecker und kosten je nach Lokal ca. 2-3€. Ein Bier auch.

Mit Kindern:

Mit dem Tuk Tuk unterwegs

Mit dem Tuk Tuk unterwegs

Mal abgesehen von den hohen Temperaturen und der Zeitverschiebung ist Sri Lanka auch ein tolles Reiseland mit Kids! Die Sri Lankans lieben Kinder! Man sollte nur bedenken, dass man selbst für kürzere Strecken teilweise Stunden braucht, da die Straßenverhältnisse und der Verkehr chaotisch sind. Man sollte sich die Reiseroute vorher genau überlegen, um anstrengende Reisetage zu vermeiden. Für den 4jährigen war das alles kein Problem! Übrigens sollte man wissen, dass das Meer meistens nicht für Kinder zum Baden geeignet ist. Nur an bestimmten Stellen oder besonderen Beaches.

Unawatuna

Als wir endlich in Colombo ankommen, genauer gesagt am international Airport ca. 35km nördlich von Colombo, wartet schon unser Fahrer auf uns. In guten zwei Stunden fährt er uns in unseren ersten Urlaubsort auf Sri Lanka: Unawatuna.

Exotik im Flower Garden Hotel

Exotik im Flower Garden Hotel

Es ist schon 16.30Uhr Ortszeit, als wir in meinem ersten LIEBLINGSSPOT, dem Flower Garden Hotel ankommen. Ein tropischer Garten mit Palmen und zwei tollen Pools! Nach einem Welcome-Drink werden wir zu unserem Bungalow-Zimmer gebracht. Auch dieses liegt in einer grünen Oase mit schöner Veranda. Die Straße zum Beach ist direkt vor der Haustür und doch nicht zu hören. Zum Strand läuft man ca. 15 Minuten. Der Weg dorthin ist gefüllt mit bunten Geschäften, unzähligen Restaurants und Reisebüros. Natürlich gibt es hier auch Ayurveda.

Jetzt kommen wir erst so richtig in Sri Lanka an. Wir atmen die feuchte, heiße Luft, alles klebt an einem, Asien eben. Das Land ist saftig-grün, überall hört man Tiere, Vögel, Affen, Mücken. Es ist exotisch, es ist Ceylon. Eine Mischung aus Indien und ein bisschen Thailand. Tuk Tuk’s sind allgegenwärtig.

Der Strand in Unawatuna

Der Strand in Unawatuna

Der Strand ist schön und ca. 2km lang und wird von Kokos-Palmen gesäumt. Hier gibt es verschiedene Bars, Hotels, Cafés und Restaurants direkt am Meer. Es ist einiges los, ein typischer Touri-Ort. Wir essen Curry oder Roti und trinken frische Säfte. Hier fällt es einem leicht, sofort abzuschalten. Alle Sinne werden für diese schöne, fremde Welt benötigt.

Am Beach befindet sich auch unser absolutes Lieblingslokal: das Kingfisher Restaurant!

Die Kids sind geschlaucht von dem langen Flug und dem Jetlag. Aber Pool, Tuk Tuk und Strand heitern sie etwas auf…

Galle

Von Unawatuna aus machen wir einen Halbtagesausflug in die ehemalige niederländische Kolonialstadt. Wir fahren mit dem Tuk Tuk für 400 slr, also Sri Lankan Rupees (ca. 2€) zum New Gate und fühlen uns sofort in die Vergangenheit zurück versetzt.

Spaziergang in Galle

Spaziergang in Galle

Überall gibt es herrschaftliche Bauten und noble Hotels und Restaurants. Mir gefällt es hier. Viele Touristen aus aller Herren Länder flanieren mit uns auf dem Wall um das Fort-Viertel. Es weht eine leichte Brise und einmal regnet es kurz. Das Flair hier ist toll und wir genießen ein leckeres Mittagessen im Heritage Club Restaurant und fahren mit dem Tuk Tuk wieder nach Unawatuna zurück.

Weitere Ausflüge

Turtle Farm

Turtle Farm in Unawatuna

Turtle Farm in Unawatuna

An einem Regentag bleibt uns nichts anderes übrig als einen Ausflug zu einer Turtle Farm zu machen. Es ist nichts Besonderes, ein paar kleine Becken mit verschiedenen Turtles darin. Anscheinend peppeln sie hier verletzte Tiere wieder auf und lassen diese dann wieder frei. Sie sammeln außerdem die Eier vom vorgelagerten Strand ein und ziehen die Schildkröten groß, dass sie dann im Meer überleben können. Soweit zumindest die Theorie. Süß sind sie ja schon, die ganz Kleinen. Gerade für die größeren Kids ein Highlight. Kostenpunkt ca. 500 slr pro Person zzgl. Tuk Tuk Fahrt.

Wijaya Beach

Wijaya Beach auf Sri Lanka

Wijaya Beach auf Sri Lanka

Einmal lassen wir uns mit dem Tuk Tuk zum Wijaya Strand mit einer natürlichen Lagune fahren. Zu dieser Jahreszeit ist das Meer nämlich überall sehr „rough“ mit teilweise hohen Wellen und daher mit Kleinkindern nicht unbedingt badetauglich. Hier soll das Schwimmen im Meer auch mit Kindern gut möglich sein.

Der Strand ist schön, überall tolle Kokospalmen. Postkartenmotiv. Die Lagune ist wirklich etwas ruhiger als direkt in Unawatuna, aber heute auch nicht optimal. Unser Sohn traut sich zumindest nicht rein. Schatten gibt es auch kaum, aber für ein Stündchen ist es hier schon ganz nett.

Koggala Beach und Lagune

Strand von Koggala

Strand von Koggala

Mit dem Tuk Tuk geht es mal wieder auf Tour! Diesmal machen wir für 800 slr (ca. 5€) eine kleine Sightseeing-Runde. Erst geht es zum Strand von Koggala, wo man mit Kindern aber leider nicht wirklich baden kann zu dieser Jahreszeit. Die Wellen sind zu hoch und die Strömung zu stark. Dennoch ist der Anblick der Bucht wunderschön!

Weiter geht es zur Lagune. Dort mieten wir uns ein Boot und machen eine kleine Touri-Runde zu Cinnamon Island und durch die Mangrovenwälder. Ein Mann zeigt uns, wie Zimt entsteht und im Dschungel entdecken wir Leguane und Adler. Nett. Aber eigentlich zu teuer (4000 Rupees).

Am Ende fahren wir noch zu einer kleinen Bucht, wo die berühmt berüchtigten Fishermen auf ihren Holzstöcken sitzen. Pure Touri-abzocke. Für ein Foto sollen wir umgerechnet 3€ bezahlen, wir lehnen dankend ab. Trotzdem ist es eine gelungene und abwechslungsreiche Tour und wir sind hundemüde…

Auf in die Highlands!

Über unser Hotel buchen wir eine 3-Tages-Tour durch Sri Lankas Teeberge! Ich buche ja lieber immer alles selbst, aber diesmal hab ich mich von meinem Mann überreden lassen, mich doch einfach mal zurückzulehnen… No risk, no fun!

Affe am Straßenrand

Affe am Straßenrand

Gleich nach dem Frühstück machen wir uns mit unserem Privat-Transfer auf den Weg von Unawatuna nach Nuwara Eliya. Wir haben glücklicherweise einen Mini-Van, was zu Viert sehr praktisch ist. Die Fahrt dauert ca. 6,5 Stunden und ist mit den zwei Kindern mehr als anstrengend. Hätte ich das vorher gewusst, hätte ich es mir vielleicht anders überlegt…

Naja, jetzt sind wir nunmal unterwegs. Die Straßen sind anfangs total überfüllt und chaotisch. Je höher wir kommen, desto leerer und gewundener werden diese. Die Landschaft ist überall fantastisch! Erst Dschungel und später Teeplantagen und Urwald so weit das Auge reicht!

Bahnhof in Nanu Oya

Bahnhof in Nanu Oya

In Nanu Oya, kurz vor unserem Ziel, kaufen wir am Bahnhof noch Tickets für den Zug morgen früh nach Ella. Der Fahrer bringt uns dann endlich in unser Hotel in „Nurelia“. Es ist allerdings nicht der Rede wert. Vom Ort selber sehen wir nicht viel, es ist kalt und nebelig und wir sind einfach nur erschöpft von der langen Reise.

Zugfahrt durch die Teeberge

Eins Vorweg: die Fahrt ist jede Mühe wert gewesen und definitiv ein LIEBLINGSSPOT von mir in Sri Lanka!

Einstieg in unseren Zug

Einstieg in unseren Zug

Am nächsten Tag beginnt dann also das große Abenteuer. Um 9.30Uhr soll es losgehen. Da die Bremsen des Zuges wohl defekt sind, gibt es aber Verzögerungen. Mit einer Dreiviertelstunde Verspätung geht es dann endlich los und wir hoffen, dass die Bremsen wieder funktionieren.

Blick aus der Waggontür

Blick aus der Waggontür

Wir sitzen mit lauter anderen Touristen in der 1. Klasse, worüber ich im Nachhinein mit den zwei Kleinen sehr froh bin. Der Zug hat Nostalgie-Charme und tuckert meistens mit ca. 30 km/h vor sich hin. Ein Highlight ist es, sich vor die offenen Waggontüren zu stellen und die wunderbare, grüne Berglandschaft an einem vorbeiziehen zu lassen. Wirklich unbeschreiblich!

Teeberge soweit das Auge reicht

Teeberge soweit das Auge reicht

Die Fahrt dauert insgesamt ca. 4 Stunden, anstatt 2,5. Mit Kleinkind am Ende etwas anstrengend. Würde ich nicht unbedingt empfehlen. Aber für größere Kids ein echtes Abenteuer! Und für das Traveller-Herz sowieso. Eine wirklich aufregende und traumhafte Reise!

In Ella holt uns unser Fahrer wieder ab und bringt uns ins Sky Green Hotel. Wir sind wohl die einzigen Gäste hier. Das Zimmer ist schön groß und der Blick vom Balkon auch hübsch. Hier verbringen wir zwei Nächte.

Ella

Blick in Ellas Gap

Blick in Ellas Gap

Wir bleiben einen Tag in Ella. Ein süßer Backpacker Ort mitten in wunderschöner Natur! Wer die Bergwelt erkunden oder zu den Teeplantagen möchte ist hier genau richtig. Wir fahren erst zu den Ravana falls, dann zu Ellas Gap mit schönem Blick in Tal!

Am Nachmittag geht es zur Halpe Teeplantage zum Tea-tasting. Der Ceylon-Tee aus Sri Lanka ist ja weltbekannt. Leider ist die Fabrik an sich am Wochenende geschlossen, aber es ist auch so sehr nett alles zu sehen. Später regnet es und wir essen im Hotel zu Abend.

Tangalle

Mangrove Beach Chalets in Tangalle

Mangrove Beach Chalets in Tangalle

Ca. 3 Stunden fahren wir von Ella nach Tangalle. Und landen im Paradies. Die Mangrove Beach Chalets sind wirklich der Himmel auf Erden und mein LIEBLINGSSPOT hier!

Wunderschöne Family Chalets mit Daybed auf der Terrasse direkt am Beach. Umgeben von Palmen und Hängematten.

Traumstrand in Tangalle

Traumstrand in Tangalle

Wir lassen hier die Seele baumeln, so gut das mit zwei kleinen Kindern eben geht. Das Meer ist leider überall sehr wild und hat starke Strömungen. Nur direkt vor unserer Beach Bar kann man in einer Art natürlichen Lagune mit den Kids schwimmen.

Einmal fahren wir mit dem Tuk Tuk zum Einkaufen in den lebhaften Ort. Aber die Hauptbeschäftigung liegt hier darin, den Strand auf und ab zu flanieren. Es gibt noch ein paar weitere, kleine Anlagen entlang des Strandes, aber unsere ist definitiv die Schönste!

Leider müssen wir unsere Reise ein paar Tage früher als geplant abbrechen, da mein Mann starke Schmerzen und Fieber hat. Wirklich unendlich schade, aber Gesundheit geht eben vor! Dennoch ist Tangalle ein wunderbarer Abschluss unseres ereignisreichen Urlaubs auf Sri Lanka!

Fazit

Tuk Tuk's in Ella

Tuk Tuk’s in Ella

Natürlich haben wir auf unserer 2-wöchigen Reise nur einen Bruchteil dieser wunderschönen Insel gesehen! Wir waren lediglich im Süden unterwegs mit einem kurzen Abstecher in das atemberaubende Hochland. Mit Kids gilt: weniger ist mehr. Soll es ein reiner Badeurlaub sein, würde ich mich an die Orte Unawatuna und Tangalle halten. Von dort kann man wunderbare Ausflüge machen. Ab Tangalle z.B. zu den Nationalparks Uda Walawe und Yala. Von Unawatuna aus auch nach Merissa zum Whale Watching. Langweilig wird es also nicht.

Ist man ohne Kinder unterwegs ist das Hochland mit Kandy, Nuwara Eliya und Ella ein Muss!

Pin me:

Sri Lanka mit Kindern! Mein Reisebericht!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.