guest posts, FAVORITE SPOTS city, Toledo
Comments 1

Toledo in Spain: brilliant day trip from Madrid!

Toledo in Spain

Jean, Martin and Michele from the travel blog Nomad nation have a favorite city: Toledo in Spain! Where that should be and what you can experience here, tell the three smart guys in this guest post:

WIf you are asked which cities you should definitely see in Spain, what comes to your mind first? Madrid, the capital, fashion metropolis and with impressive architecture. Then of course Barcelona, less than Madridbut not less well known. Of the two cities, everyone has heard or read before, without having to do much research. However, Spain has so much more to offer on the mainland, if you look very closely: the small town Toledo inland

Getting there

The capital of Spain was not always called Madrid, rather Toledo. The small town, with about 80.000 inhabitants, is just under an hour from Madrid remote and is one of the three historic cities. And she is definitely worth a visit! From Madrid out of reach you Toledo quite easily either by bus or by train. Price wise, both are not really much and usually return tickets are sold as a "package".

Overnight stays in Toledo are of course possible as in any city, but a visit is as a day trip from Madrid from more meaningful. Due to the limited supply of beds in Toledo, prices can be very high. Furthermore, the city is very popular for meetings of companies and politicians.



Booking.com


* Affiliate link

Getting Around

In the streets of Toledo

In the streets of Toledo

Christian, Arab and Jewish culture have left their mark here and in the course of time not much has changed. A visit equals a journey back in time, because in the old town of Toledo almost no buildings had to yield to wider streets or modern architecture. Historic churches, city gates and the remains of the former city walls are all still preserved. Together with small streets and shops they create a very special feeling. It is not without reason that the entire city was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. All this can be explored on foot, however, the city was built on a hill and thus it is often up and down. Comfortable shoes are recommended.

Sightseeing

In Toledo There is a lot to discover and depending on your interests, you can spend more than a day there. Like any city, but has as well Toledo Klassikerthat you should definitely see during a visit.

The Mirador del Valle is a lookout point with views over the entire city. A bit off the beaten track is worth either at the very beginning, or at the end of the trip. Photos at sunrise, or sunset always look very nice (see cover picture).

One of the most important buildings in Toledo is the cathedral "Catedral Primada", It is the second most important Gothic cathedral in Spain and not only impressive from the outside. A look inside is definitely worthwhile because the sight of the main altar astonishes you.

The Alcázar of Toledo is a fortress in the upper city area, which now offers guided tours inside. Everyone who is interested in weapons of the Spanish army and knight armor is right here. Otherwise, it can get tiring quickly, but you will be rewarded with a beautiful view over Toledo.

Historic city wall in Toledo

Historic city wall in Toledo

At lunchtime we recommend a visit to the lively "Plaza Zocodover", The central square in Toledo. Many restaurants and bars invite you to sit comfortably. Just the right moment to try the famous "Queso Manchego". The famous cheese of this region is highly appreciated by connoisseurs and you definitely should not miss it!

Strengthened then it goes on to the former mosque "Cristo de la Luz". Definitely worth a visit as this is almost completely preserved and considered one of the most important examples of Islamic art in Toledo applies.

The last classic is the "Sinagoga del Tránsito". The former synagogue now houses this Museum Sefardí and shows the history of the Jews in Toledountil her expulsion in the year 1492. Admission only costs 3 Euro and definitely recommended for those interested.

Of course it offers Toledo even more, after all, tourism is the main source of income of the city. Whether it's a hot-air balloon ride over the city, or a unique way to see the city with the 180m long zipline. It all depends on how much time and money you bring.

Summary

Toledo is really a very nice, if small, city. Still, you get the full load of culture. Whether this is your thing or not, you have to decide for yourself. Most people there are all very hospitable, though not many speak English. So if you are in for several days Madrid you definitely should make a detour to Toledo . make Walking in the narrow streets gives you a feeling that is difficult to describe and everyone should experience for themselves.

About Nomad Nation

Here write Jean, Martin and Michele, three long-time friends and like-minded people in search of a loophole in the matrix.

Our goal is to combine work with our desire to travel, because in our view the world offers too many beautiful places, cultures and people to take root in one spot. As we try to fulfill this dream, you can join us on any of these trips!

Whether it's factual, funny or just in a nutshell, we all write in a different style and think that there is something for everyone.

Click here for the blog of the boys of Nomad Nation!

Have you ever been to Toledo in Spain? Always with the tips! Maybe you are also interested in the Favorite places in Nice of a local?

This article contains unpaid advertising!

Split up

1 comments

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

LIEBLINGSSPOTs city, Toledo
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Toledo in Spanien: genialer Tagesausflug ab Madrid!

Toledo in Spanien

Jean, Martin und Michele vom Reiseblog Nomad Nation haben eine Lieblingsstadt: Toledo in Spanien! Wo das sein soll und was ihr hier erleben könnt, erzählen Euch die drei smarten Jungs in diesem Gastbeitrag:

Wenn du gefragt wirst, welche Städte man unbedingt in Spanien sehen sollte, was fällt dir als erstes ein? Madrid, die Hauptstadt, Modemetropole und mit beeindruckender Architektur. Dann natürlich Barcelona, kleiner als Madrid, aber nicht weniger bekannt. Von den zwei Städten hat jeder schon einmal gehört oder gelesen, ohne groß recherchieren zu müssen. Jedoch hat Spanien auf dem Festland noch so viel mehr zu bieten, wenn man ganz genau hinschaut: das kleine Städtchen Toledo im Landesinneren!

Hinkommen

Die Hauptstadt Spaniens hieß nicht immer Madrid, sondern Toledo. Die kleine Stadt, mit ca. 80.000 Einwohnern, liegt nur knapp eine Stunde von Madrid entfernt und ist eine von den drei historischen Metropolen. Und sie ist definitiv einen Besuch wert! Von Madrid aus erreichst du Toledo ganz einfach entweder mit dem Bus, oder mit dem Zug. Preislich nehmen sich beide nicht wirklich viel und in der Regel werden Hin- und Rückfahrttickets als „Paket“ verkauft.

Übernachtungen in Toledo sind natürlich wie in jeder Stadt möglich, allerdings ist ein Besuch als Tagestrip von Madrid aus sinnvoller. Aufgrund des begrenzten Angebots an Betten in Toledo, können die Preise sehr hoch sein. Des Weiteren ist die Stadt sehr beliebt für Tagungen von Firmen und Politikern.



Booking.com


*Affiliate Link

Rumkommen

In den Gassen von Toledo

In den Gassen von Toledo

Christliche, arabische und jüdische Kultur haben hier ihre Spuren hinterlassen und daran hat sich im Laufe der Zeit nicht viel geändert. Ein Besuch kommt einer Reise zurück in der Zeit gleich, denn im Altstadtkern von Toledo mussten fast keine Gebäude breiteren Straßen oder moderner Architektur weichen. Historische Kirchen, Stadttore und die Reste der ehemaligen Stadtmauer sind alle noch erhalten. Zusammen mit kleinen Gassen und Geschäften erschaffen sie ein ganz besonderes Feeling. Nicht ohne Grund wurde die gesamte Stadt von der UNESCO zum Weltkulturerbe ernannt. Das alles lässt sich zu Fuß erkunden, jedoch wurde die Stadt auf einem Hügel errichtet und somit geht es oft hoch und runter. Bequeme Schuhe sind also zu empfehlen.

Sightseeing

In Toledo gibt es viel zu entdecken und je nach Interessen, kannst du auch mehr als einen Tag dort verbringen. Wie jede Stadt, hat aber auch Toledo Klassiker, die man bei einem Besuch definitiv sehen sollte.

Der Mirador del Valle ist ein Aussichtspunkt mit Ausblick über die gesamte Stadt. Etwas abseits lohnt sich der Besuch entweder ganz am Anfang, oder am Ende des Trips. Fotos bei Sonnenaufgang, oder Sonnenuntergang sehen immer besonders schön aus (siehe Titelbild).

Eines der wichtigsten Gebäude in Toledo ist die Kathedrale „Catedral Primada. Sie ist die zweitwichtigste gotische Kathedrale in Spanien und nicht nur von außen beeindruckend. Ein Blick ins Innere lohnt sich auf jeden Fall, denn der Anblick des Hauptaltars versetzt einen ins Staunen.

Der Alcázar von Toledo ist eine Festung im obersten Stadtbereich, die mittlerweile geführte Touren im Inneren anbietet. Jeder der sich für Waffen der spanischen Armee und Ritterrüstungen interessiert, ist hier richtig. Ansonsten kann es schnell ermüdend werden, allerdings wird man mit einem schönen Ausblick über Toledo belohnt.

Historische Stadtmauer in Toledo

Historische Stadtmauer in Toledo

Mittags empfiehlt sich ein besuch der belebten „Plaza Zocodover“, der zentrale Platz in Toledo. Viele Restaurants und Bars laden zum gemütlichen Sitzen ein. Genau der richtige Moment um den berühmten „Queso Manchego“ zu probieren. Der berühmte Käse dieser Region ist bei Kennern sehr geschätzt und den solltest du dir definitiv nicht entgehen lassen!

Gestärkt geht es dann weiter zur ehemaligen Moschee „Cristo de la Luz“. Auf jeden Fall ein Besuch wert, da diese fast komplett erhalten ist und als eines der wichtigsten Beispiele der islamischen Kunst in Toledo gilt.

Der letzte Klassiker ist die „Sinagoga del Tránsito“. Die ehemalige Synagoge beherbergt heutzutage das Museum Sefardí und zeigt die Geschichte der Juden in Toledo, bis zu ihrer Vertreibung im Jahr 1492. Der Eintritt kostet lediglich 3 Euro und für Interessierte definitiv empfehlenswert.

Natürlich bietet Toledo noch weitaus mehr an, schließlich ist Tourismus die Haupteinnahmequelle der Stadt. Ob eine Fahrt mit einem Heißluftballon über die Stadt, oder sich auf einzigartige Weise mit der 180m langen Zipline die Stadt anschauen. Alles hängt davon ab, wieviel Zeit und Geld du mitbringst.

Fazit

Toledo ist wirklich eine sehr schöne, wenn auch kleine Stadt. Dennoch bekommst du die volle Ladung Kultur. Ob das jetzt dein Ding ist, oder nicht musst du selber entscheiden. Die meisten Menschen dort sind alle sehr gastfreundlich, obwohl nicht viele Englisch sprechen. Wenn du also mehrere Tage in Madrid bist, solltest du definitiv einen Abstecher nach Toledo machen. In den engen Gassen zu spazieren gibt einem ein Gefühl, dass schwer zu beschreiben ist und jeder für sich selber erleben sollte.

 

Über Nomad Nation

Hier schreiben Jean, Martin und Michele, drei langjährige Freunde und Gleichgesinnte auf der Suche nach einem Schlupfloch in der Matrix.

Unser Ziel ist es, die Arbeit mit unserer Reiselust zu kombinieren, denn aus unserer Sicht bietet die Welt zu viele wunderschöne Orte, Kulturen und Menschen, um an einem Fleck Wurzeln zu schlagen. Während wir versuchen uns diesen Traum zu erfüllen, kannst du uns auf jeder dieser Reisen begleiten!

Ob sachlich, lustig oder einfach nur auf den Punkt gebracht, wir schreiben alle in einem unterschiedlichen Stil und denken, dass für jeden was dabei ist.

Hier geht es zum Blog von den Jungs von Nomad Nation!

Ward ihr schon mal in Toledo in Spanien? Immer her mit den Tipps! Vielleicht interessiert ihr Euch auch für die Lieblingsplätze in Nizza einer Einheimischen?

Dieser Artikel enthält unbezahlte Werbung!

Teilen auf

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.