Europe, Portugal, Travel reports, Travels
Leave a Comment

Experience the Algarve individually in spring

After some initial difficulties we enjoy the sun, the sea, the wind and the varied landscape to the full!

GIn the spring, you can still discover the quiet and wild corners of this rugged and original region in the western Algarve ...

At a glance:

Wann: 22.4.2017 29.04.2017 to

Getting there: with transavia from Munich to Faro and back for about 650 € including luggage for two adults and two toddlers

Getting Around: Car hire booked by AVIS via CHECK24 * for about 120 € for a compact class without deductible

Accommodation: Apartment on site* booked and Airbnb Villa booked in advance

Travel time: We mostly had temperatures around the 20-22 degrees and sun-clouds mix. Without wind and with sun it could be very hot. The wind was mostly there and then quite fresh. On the penultimate day it has rained all day ...

Time shift: -1 hour to German summer time

Good to know: the motorway is chargeable in Portugal. The easiest way is the car hire a so-called "box" to book for about 2 € / day. Otherwise you have to settle the fee at the latest every five days at the post office. The tolls are limited.

Every beginning is difficult

Stones on our way to vacation ...

Stones on our way to vacation ...

I must confess that I did not expect all these crowds. There are no holidays and from the high season we are still far away. Nevertheless, the people on the butler stand by transavia Snake! You can also enjoy my experiences with this low-cost airline here nachlesen. We have to queue for over half an hour and then fortunately be left, as our flight is soon. Blessing in disguise!

In Lighthouse arrived but then expected us the next shock: the line at the AVIS counter goes out to the street. Software problems. Waiting time: almost 1,5 hours!

We are annoyed and our children are totally exhausted. We are angry and still get an upgrade to a station wagon after all. Finally, we are looking forward to our upcoming vacation and our (hopefully) beautiful Airbnb accommodation in the car and set out on the way Light and Shade.

Then the Supergau: our Airbnb host has somehow squandered with our booking and the caretaker on site has no idea that we arrive today! The house is occupied and the steward is not even close enough to make it somehow possible that we can still move in today. I am really disappointed and annoyed. Behind two crying children who just want to sleep and we have no idea where to go. The host in England offers us to pay for two nights at the hotel and we can go to the house on Monday.

Arrival at the beach of Luz

Arrival at the beach of Luz

In shock we go in Light and Shade once in the first cafe on the promenade a bit of food. Many Englishmen here and the food is correspondingly bad and overpriced. But that does not matter.

Strengthened and with calm nerves we walk to the next best accommodation on the beach and finally have luck! It is still an apartment with 2 bedrooms and sea view for us free and we say immediately.

So we sleep 2 nights in the Mayer Apartments* for 65 € per night, which for equipment and location really cheap. Today we only enjoy the beach and the sea on the doorstep and go shopping. It can only get better.

Light and Shade

Luz, Portugal

Luz, Portugal

A nice little tourist village about 10 minutes west of Lagos. There is a nice promenade by the sea with a few restaurants and cafes. The beach is not bad either with fine sand and a small playground.

You can tell, that it is still preseason. There is not much going on, everything will be prepared for the start of the season from May. Many English and Dutch are here in Light and Shade. All in all nothing special, but as a base for excursions in the area for us perfect!

Our terrace with sea view

Our terrace with sea view

After two days we finally get our beautiful Airbnb Apartment-Villa about 5 minutes from the beach. Except for the chaos at the beginning it is a really nice accommodation on two floors with a lot of space. There are three bedrooms, two bathrooms, a guest toilet and a large terrace with sea views! The complex also includes a community pool. We were alone in the whole complex at that time. For about 75 € the night really recommendable.

Der wilde westen

Cabo Sao Vicente Portugal

Cabo Sao Vicente Portugal

A must, of course, is the westernmost point of Europe: Cabo Sao Vicente! We were relatively early and it was still wonderfully quiet and idyllic with great views over the rocky coast and the lighthouse.

From 10 o'clock it is over with the idyll then but suddenly and one tourist bus after the other is carted and opened the market stalls.

Praia do Castelejo, Algarve

Praia do Castelejo, Algarve

The Praia do Castelejo is really wonderful relaxed and not for nothing a surfers hotspot and one of my favorite spots!

There we have too a short hike about 1,5h through green meadows made with flowers and pine forests with hidden ponds.

In the sleepy village Vila do Bispo By chance, on the return trip, we discovered the best restaurant of our whole vacation!

Lagos and surroundings

Nice cafe in Lagos

Nice cafe in Lagos

Lagos surprised, I think, at second glance. At first, it's just a bigger, Portuguese coastal city. But if you get away from the tourist places in the winding streets with many cute restaurants and cafes, this city reveals your charm! It definitely will not get boring and you can shop here without end ...

The Meia PraiaLagos town beach can only be reached on foot, making it very idyllic and miles long. The beach of Dona Ana is probably the most famous in the area. And definitely very spectacular with its quirky rock formations!

Lagoon of Alvor

Lagoon of Alvor

Alvor is my personal highlight in the area! You can take a beautiful walk along the lagoon and along the sea, partly on boardwalks. The view is beautiful everywhere, whether across the Atlantic Ocean with its golden beach or the turquoise blue lagoon. There is also a nice beach restaurant.

We also have a little trip to Barragem da Bravura gemacht, a reservoir in the beautiful hinterland near Oxiadere. In the spring you drive on the way there through beautiful, colorful meadows and a green hilly landscape.

Arrived at the parking lot, there is a small restaurant with snacks and drinks. Behind it begins the short "hike" about 500 meters above steps (or even a paved path possible) to the dam. Not spectacular, but a nice change. If you like, you can walk around the lake from there, but unfortunately we could not do that because the Kraxe had forgotten ...

Salema beach

Salema beach

Last but not least is Salema a little insider tip for me and only 10 minutes from Light and Shade away. A totally tranquil village with a beautifully quiet and gently sloping sandy beach, perfect for swimming! The sea is gorgeous here and you are just feeling away from it all.

The landscape around Salema and a Budens is also wonderfully original and only here I have the feeling to have really arrived in Portugal.

Carvoeiro and surroundings

Bay of Carvoeiro

Bay of Carvoeiro

I was surprised that Carvoeiro is so touristy! There are numerous bars, cafes, shops and restaurants here. When we were there, we were unlucky with the weather and it rained in torrents. The beach bay looked very nice, surrounded by cliffs and houses.

Praia da Marinha Portugal

Praia da Marinha Portugal

On our last day we come back here extra to experience the breathtaking surroundings during a hike in bright sunshine.

We start at the Praia da Marinha and always walk along the coast to the beach of Benagil - simply gorgeous with magnificent views over the sea, the beaches and in rock caves! A wonderful end to our 1 week trip to the Algarve.

All's well that ends well

Hike in the Algarve

Hike in the Algarve

Despite starting difficulties and in between rather mixed weather, We have gained many beautiful impressions of this very varied coastal region. You could definitely spend four weeks here, there are so many places and beaches that we did not see and there is something for everyone!

For example, we did not even see the Eastern Algarve, but the time with two small children was just too short. The people were almost always friendly and fond of children. Incidentally, we had to queue again at AVIS when returning the car. Definitely not recommended!

Although Portugal will not be my favorite country (the spark has not jumped over), the Algarve is definitely worth seeing! Maybe you just need more time to fall in love ...

Have you been to Portugal before? What can you recommend in the Algarve in the spring? Here you will find mine Favorite places in the western Algarve again at a glance!

This article contains unpaid advertising!

* Affiliate link

Split up

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Reiseberichte, Travels
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Die Algarve im Frühling individuell erleben

Praia Dona Ana Portugal

Nach einigen Startschwierigkeiten genießen wir am Ende die Sonne, das Meer, den Wind und die abwechslungsreiche Landschaft in vollen Zügen!

Auf einen Blick:

Wann: 22.4.2017 bis 29.04.2017
Hinkommen: mit transavia von München nach Faro und zurück für ca. 650€ inkl. Gepäck für zwei Erwachsene und zwei Kleinkinder
Rumkommen: Mietwagen von AVIS gebucht via CHECK24 für ca. 120€ für eine Kompaktklasse ohne Selbstbehalt
Unterkunft: Apartment vor Ort gebucht und Airbnb Villa vorab gebucht
Reisezeit: Wir hatten meistens Temperaturen um die 20-22 Grad und Sonne-Wolken-Mix. Ohne Wind und mit Sonne konnte es sehr heiß sein. Der Wind war aber meistens da und dann auch noch recht frisch. Am vorletzten Tag hat es dann auch mal den ganzen Tag geregnet...
Zeitverschiebung: -1 Stunde zur deutschen Sommerzeit
Good to know: die Autobahn ist in Portugal kostenpflichtig. Am einfachsten ist es beim Mietwagen eine sog. "Box" dazuzzbuchen für ca. 2€/Tag. Ansonsten muss man die Gebühr spätestens alle fünf Tage bei der Post begleichen. Die Mautgebühren halten sich in Grenzen.

Aller Anfang ist schwer

Steine auf unserem Weg in den Urlaub...

Steine auf unserem Weg in den Urlaub…

Ich muss gestehen, ich hätte nicht mit diesen ganzen Menschenmassen gerechnet. Es sind keine Ferien und von der Hochsaison sind wir auch noch weit entfernt. Dennoch stehen die Leute am Schlalter von transavia Schlange! Meine Erfahrungen mit dieser Low-Cost-Airline könnt ihr auch gerne hier nachlesen. Wir müssen über eine halbe Stunde anstehen und werden dann zum Glück vorgelassen, da unser Flug bald geht. Glück im Unglück!

In Faro angekommen erwartet uns dann aber gleich der nächste Schock: die Schlange am AVIS-Schalter geht bis auf die Straße hinaus. Software Probleme. Wartezeit: fast 1,5 Stunden!

Wir sind genervt und unsere Kinder total erschöpft. Wir sind sauer und erhalten am Ende immerhin noch ein Upgrade auf einen Kombi. Endlich sitzen wir mit Vorfreude auf unseren bevorstehenden Urlaub und unsere (hoffentlich) schöne Airbnb Unterkunft im Auto und machen uns auf den Weg nach Luz.

Dann der Supergau: unser Host hat sich mit unserer Buchung irgendwie vertan und der Hausverwalter vor Ort hat keinen blassen Schimmer, dass wir heute anreisen! Das Haus ist belegt und der Verwalter nicht mal ansatzweise in der Nähe, um es irgendwie möglich zu machen, dass wir heute doch noch einziehen können. Ich bin echt enttäuscht und genervt. Hinten zwei weinende Kinder, die einfach nur schlafen wollen und wir haben keine Ahnung wohin. Der Host in England bietet uns an, dass er 2 Nächte im Hotel für uns zahlt und wir am Montag in das Haus können.

Ankunft am Strand von Luz

Ankunft am Strand von Luz

Auf den Schock gehen wir in Luz erstmal im erst besten Café an der Promenade etwas Essen. Viele Engländer hier und das Essen ist entsprechend schlecht und überteuert. Aber das ist auch schon egal.

Etwas gestärkt und mit beruhigten Nerven laufen wir zur nächst besten Unterkunft am Strand und haben endlich einmal Glück! Es ist noch genau ein Apartment mit 2 Schlafzimmern und Meerblick für uns frei und wir sagen sofort zu.

Wir schlafen also 2 Nächte in den Mayer Apartments für 65€ pro Nacht, was für Ausstattung und Lage wirklich preiswert erscheint. Heute genießen wir nur noch den Strand und das Meer vor der Haustür und gehen Einkaufen. Es kann nur besser werden.

Luz

Luz, Portugal

Luz, Portugal

Ein nettes, kleines Touristen-Örtchen ca. 10 Minuten westlich von Lagos. Es gibt eine schöne Promenade am Meer mit ein paar Restaurants und Cafés. Der Strand ist auch nicht schlecht mit feinem Sand und einem kleinen Spielplatz.

Man merkt, dass es noch Vorsaison ist. Es ist nicht viel los, alles wird noch hergerichtet für den Saisonstart ab Mai. Viele Engländer und Holländer sind hier in Luz. Alles in Allem nichts Besonderes, aber als Basis für Ausflüge in die Umgebung für uns perfekt!

Unsere Terrasse mit Meerblick

Unsere Terrasse mit Meerblick

Nach zwei Tagen beziehen wir dann auch endlich unsere schöne Airbnb Apartment-Villa ca. 5 Minuten vom Strand. Bis auf das Chaos am Anfang ist es eine wirklich schöne Unterkunft auf zwei Stockwerken mit sehr viel Platz. Es gibt drei Schlafzimmer, zwei Bäder, eine Gästetoilette und eine große Terrasse mit Meerblick! Zur Anlage gehört auch ein Gemeinschaftspool dazu. Wir waren im ganzen Komplex ganz alleine zu dieser Zeit. Für ca. 75€ die Nacht wirklich empfehlenswert.

Der Westen

Cabo Sao Vicente Portugal

Cabo Sao Vicente Portugal

Ein Muss ist natürlich der westlichste Punkt Europas: Cabo Sao Vicente! Wir waren relativ früh dran und es war noch wunderbar ruhig und idyllisch mit tollen Ausblicken über die Felsküste und den Leuchtturm.

Ab 10Uhr ist es mit der Idylle dann aber schlagartig vorbei und ein Touristenbus nach dem Anderen wird angekarrt und die Marktstände eröffnet.

Praia do Castelejo, Algarve

Praia do Castelejo, Algarve

Die Praia do Castelejo ist wirklich traumhaft entspannt und nicht umsonst ein Surfer-Hotspot und einer meiner Lieblingsspots!

Dort haben wir auch eine kleine Wanderung ca. 1,5h durch grüne Wiesen mit Blütenpracht und Pinienwälder mit versteckten Teichen unternommen.

In dem verschlafenen Örtchen Vila do Bispo haben wir dann durch Zufall bei der Rückfahrt das beste Restaurant unseres ganzen Urlaubs entdeckt!

Lagos und Umgebung

Nettes Café in Lagos

Nettes Café in Lagos

Lagos überrascht, finde ich, auf den zweiten Blick. Im ersten Moment ist es einfach nur eine größere, portugiesische Küstenstadt. Kommt man dann aber abseits der Touristenplätze in die verwinkelten Gässchen mit vielen niedlichen Restaurants und Cafés, offenbart diese Stadt Ihren Charme! Langweilig wird es hier definitiv nicht und Shoppen kann man hier auch ohne Ende…

Die Meia Praia, der Stadtstrand von Lagos, ist nur zu Fuß zu erreichen und dadurch sehr idyllisch und kilometerlang. Der Strand von Dona Ana ist wohl der berühmteste in der Gegend. Und definitiv sehr spektakulär mit seinen skurrilen Felsformationen!

Lagune von Alvor

Lagune von Alvor

Alvor ist mein persönliches Highlight in der Umgebung! Man kann einen wunderschönen Spaziergang an der Lagune und am Meer entlang machen, teilweise auf Holzstegen. Der Blick ist überall schön, egal ob über den Atlantik mit seinem goldgelben Strand oder die türkisblaue Lagune. Ein nettes Beach-Restaurant gibt es auch.

Wir haben auch noch einen kleinen Ausflug zum Barragem da Bravura gemacht, einem Stausee im schönen Hinterland bei Oxiadere. Im Frühling fährt man auf dem Weg dorthin durch schöne, bunte Wiesen und eine grüne Hügellandschaft.

Am Parkplatz angekommen, gibt es ein kleines Restaurant mit Snacks und Getränken. Dahinter beginnt die kurze „Wanderung“ ca. 500 Meter über Stufen (oder auch über einen gepflasterten Weg möglich) zum Staudamm. Nicht spektakulär, aber eine nette Abwechslung. Wer mag, kann von dort auch weiter um den See herumlaufen, was wir aber leider nicht machen konnten, da wie die Kraxe vergessen hatten…

Strand von Salema

Strand von Salema

Last but not least ist Salema für mich ein kleiner Geheimtipp und nur 10 Minuten von Luz entfernt. Ein total beschauliches Örtchen mit einem schön ruhig gelegenen und flachabfallendem Sandstrand, perfekt zum Baden! Das Meer ist traumhaft hier und man ist gefühlt einfach weg von Allem.

Die Landschaft um Salema und Budens ist auch herrlich ursprünglich und erst hier habe ich das Gefühl so richtig in Portugal angekommen zu sein.

Carvoeiro und Umgebung

Bucht von Carvoeiro

Bucht von Carvoeiro

Ich war überrascht, dass Carvoeiro so touristisch ist! Hier gibt es zahlreiche Bars, Cafés, Shops und Restaurants. Als wir da waren, hatten wir Pech mit dem Wetter und es hat in Strömen geregnet. Die Strandbucht sah aber ganz nett aus, umgeben von Klippen und Häusern.

Praia da Marinha Portugal

Praia da Marinha Portugal

An unserem letzten Tag kommen wir extra wieder hierher um diesmal bei strahlendem Sonnenschein die atemberaubende Umgebung bei einer Wanderung hautnah zu erleben.

Wir starten an der Praia da Marinha und wandern immer an der Küste entlang bis zum Strand von Benagil – einfach traumhaft mit grandiosen Ausblicken über das Meer, die Strände und in Fels-Höhlen! Ein wunderbarer Abschluss unserer 1-wöchigen Reise an die Algarve.

Ende gut Alles gut

Wanderung an der Algarve

Wanderung an der Algarve

Trotz Startschwierigkeiten und zwischendurch eher durchwachsenem Wetter, haben wir viele schöne Eindrücke dieser doch sehr abwechslungsreichen Küstenregion gewonnen.

Man könnte definitiv auch vier Wochen hier verbringen, es gibt so viele Orte und Strände, die wir nicht gesehen haben und für jeden ist etwas geboten!

Die Ostalgarve haben wir zum Beispiel gar nicht gesehen, dafür war die Zeit mit zwei kleinen Kindern einfach zu knapp. Die Leute waren fast immer freundlich und kinderlieb.

Übrigens mussten wir bei AVIS bei der Mietwagenrückgabe mal wieder Schlange stehen. Definitiv nicht zu empfehlen!

Auch wenn Portugal wohl nicht mein Lieblingsland werden wird (der Funken ist irgendwie nicht übergesprungen), ist die Algarve auf jeden Fall sehr sehenswert! Vielleicht braucht man aber auch einfach mehr Zeit, um sich zu verlieben…

Pin me:

Reisebericht und Travel Guide westliche Algarve in Portugal!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.