guest posts, FAVORITE SPOTS city, New York
Leave a Comment

The New York Marathon: once in a lifetime!

New York Marathon 2018

On the 4. November was again the New York Marathon instead of! For all runners who have already run a marathon, this is the coronation, so to speak. 42,2km goes through the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge and through Manhattan's canyons, fueled by thousands of fans, making this challenging marathon an absolute highlight!

DThe running event always takes place on the first Sunday of November in New York City instead of. To one of the coveted starting numbers for the New York Marathon To get there, you can either participate in a lottery of the organizer, apply for his qualification time there or book through a travel agency, the hotel and participation in the NYC Marathon in the package.

Starting shot NYC Marathon

Starting shot NYC Marathon

The route of the New York Marathon runs through all New York boroughs and is considered very demanding. Starting from Fort Wadsworth on Staten Island the run leads over Brooklyn, Queens and the Bronx to Manhattan.

My husband has already run many marathons in his life: Helsinki, Munich, Berlin and a Rome, to name just a few. His dream, however, was always in New York mitzulaufen. He then met with 2018 with the help of an agency. Here you can find everything about the costs and organization for the New York Marathon and if it really is worth it:

Booking through the agency

Registration via Marathon Travel Service

Registration via Marathon Travel Service

Completely on your own at the NYC marathon I think it is an impossibility to participate. First, you can hardly get to the coveted Sartplätze and Secondly, the city is packed at this time, so that we are glad that everything is so well organized with hotels and buses.

So you can barely get around booking through an agency. The Agency Marathon Travel Service I can recommend in principle. You can contact them by email or phone and you will then receive the appropriate booking documents. Everything is in German. These must then be completed and returned by post. Somewhat old-fashioned the whole thing, so it does not go online with one click, but it still works.

Marathon travel service

Marathon travel service

If you want to have a start number at the New York Marathon, you also have to book the hotel through the agency. We were fourth in the The Lexington Autograph Collection near Central Park* booked, First there was some problem, because we wanted a 4 occupancy (then it will be a bit cheaper), but a few phone calls later that was finally possible.

Cost: Car Number 479 € & Hotel for 4 Nights in 4er Room with 2 Queen Size Beds € 579 €

Arrival on your own

The flights we wanted to book separately, since we are four of different cities and also partly on different days. It was also possible to book flights and transfers via the agency, but I think that's definitely more expensive. You can also read tips and tools for flight booking here.

In the end, the endurance in the flight search was definitely worth it and we got a flight for about 400 € directly with Lufthansa from Munich. When entering the US, of course, the visa (ESTA) is required! Cost about 14 $

Times Square New York

Times Square New York

Arrived on site, we organized our transfer to the hotel by taxi (about 100 $). Of course there are also cheaper alternatives, such as the bus. The check-in at the hotel ran smoothly and we were able to digest our jetlag (about 5-6 hours time difference).

My advice: be sure to arrive a few days before the New York Marathon to acclimatize! Then there is still a bit of time for sightseeing, like the Highline Park or the crazy one Singing Diner in Times Square!

Marathon Fair - near the Highline Park

This fair was almost a must. Here you had to pick up the start number and also the ribbon for the ferry. Nice to have here were the different stands with cool sports clothes. Be it as a reminder of this unique event or as a souvenir for the home.

Plants and chill areas Highline Park

Plants and chill areas Highline Park

My advice: it can here (or even in advance) a photo package for about 60 $ be purchased directly from the operator TCS of the New York Marathon with pictures of you during the NYC marathons! Simply register and order on the official homepage.

The big day

What can I say - the organization of the New York Marathon was really amazing! In principle, the agency also offered a kind of supporting program with other runners, such as a pasta evening before the big day or similar. But we wanted to do that on our own ...

Queue at the ferry

Queue at the ferry

On the 4. November 2018 the alarm then rang at 6 in the morning. Again, the transfer by bus to the launch site is organized via the agency. We really wanted to by ferry Staten Island translate and from there there was an official marathon bus to the starting point at the bridge (Please include waiting times). A security check followed, where the start number was checked and the bags etc. were checked.

Ferry ride to the starting point with police escort

Ferry ride to the starting point with police escort

Both at the start and in the marathon itself, the organization was really incredible! It was started in several color blocks, so that the 60.000 people do not run over each other. We were in the blue block with 10.000 other runners from young to old. Within these color blocks was then again subdivided into other starting blocks.

Waiting for the start

Waiting for the start

So the first top runners started at 9Hour local time and we were allowed to go on at about 10.45Our! Oh what a feeling! Meanwhile, there was a snack bar, drinks and toilets almost every mile.

My advice: be sure to write your first name on your jersey, then you will be cheered by name and it feels (almost) like walking on clouds 🙂

Starting number and name to cheer NYC marathon

Starting number and name to cheer NYC marathon

The New York marathon feeling

At the start, the song "New York, New York" by Frank Sinatra was very meaningful. Somehow very cheesy but also totally suitable! Incidentally, if you want to start with his buddy together, you should specify in advance the same duration, then you automatically get into a "block". If that does not work out, you can have the starting block modified at the marathon fair.

Start New York Marathon

Start New York Marathon

The special thing about the NYC Marathon is simply the unbelievable spectator support along the entire route on 42,2km! Compared to the other marathons I've run, there were really people around the corner cheering for you. From young to old, families with children who have all called my name (see tip for the jersey).

Verrazano-Narrows Bridge New York

Verrazano-Narrows Bridge New York

My personal highlight was in Brooklyn: the viewers totally dropped out here and have held up posters with big cardboard hands a la "Clap here to power up"! The scenery was also unique on the Queensboro Bridge to Manhattan on the First Avenuethrough the street canyons and then the finish line in Central Park.

Finish New York Marathon in Central Park

Finish New York Marathon in Central Park

The whole city was pulsating and feverishly awaiting the event of the year and you could feel it! There was virtually no one in New York, who was not totally thrilled that you go along there. It was addressed in advance and all found the course "amazing" and "great". In this case, the enthusiasm of the Americans was very positive. I also found the various posters on the track funny, such as "You run better than our government" or a Trump doll with "Punch Trump to power up!" ...

Medal New York Marathon 2018

Medal New York Marathon 2018

Once you have reached the finish line (with me after good 4 hours!), You also get a medal. These can be engraved (for a fee). Nice to have! Cool, I also found that every single runner's time was printed in the New York Times the next day - once in a lifetime!

My advice: with the New York Marathon App you can be tracked with the start number and your loved ones at home can follow where they are live!

Itinerary New York Marathon

Itinerary New York Marathon

Are you already there New York Marathon run there? If so, how was it for you? Maybe you also want mine New York Tips do not miss!

PS: at the 14.01.2019 starts the lottery for the New York Marathon 2019!

This article contains unpaid advertising!

*Affiliate Link (with which I earn a bit of money;)

Split up

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Gastbeiträge, LIEBLINGSSPOTs city, New York
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Der New York Marathon: once in a lifetime!

New York Marathon 2018

Am 4. November fand mal wieder der New York Marathon statt! Für alle Läufer, die schon einmal einen Marathon gelaufen sind, ist das sozusagen die Krönung. 42,2km geht es über die Verrazano-Narrows Bridge und durch Manhattans Häuserschluchten, angefeuert von tausenden von Fans, und lassen diesen anspruchsvollen Marathon zum absoluten Highlight werden!

Die Laufveranstaltung findet immer am ersten Sonntag im November in New York City statt. Um an eine der begehrten Startnummern für den New York Marathon zu gelangen, kann man entweder an einem Losverfahren des Veranstalters teilnehmen, sich über seine Qualifikationszeit dort bewerben oder über eine Reise-Agentur das Hotel und die Teilnahme am NYC Marathon im Paket buchen.

Startschuss NYC Marathon

Startschuss NYC Marathon

Die Strecke des New York Marathon verläuft durch alle New Yorker Stadtbezirke und gilt als sehr anspruchsvoll. Ausgehend von Fort Wadsworth auf Staten Island führt der Lauf über Brooklyn, Queens und die Bronx nach Manhattan.

Mein Mann ist ja schon viele Marathons in seinem Leben gelaufen: Helsinki, München, Berlin und Rom, um nur Einige zu nennen. Sein Traum war es jedoch immer einmal in New York mitzulaufen. Diesen hat er sich dann 2018 auch mit Hilfe einer Agentur erfüllt. Hier findest du Alles über die Kosten und Organisation für den New York Marathon und ob es sich wirklich lohnt:

Buchung über die Agentur

Anmeldung über Marathon Reise Service

Anmeldung über Marathon Reise Service

Komplett auf eigene Faust am NYC Marathon teilzunehmen ist, glaube ich, ein Ding der Unmöglichkeit. Erstens kommt man kaum an die begehrten Sartplätze ran und Zweitens ist die Stadt zu dieser Zeit brechend voll, so dass man froh ist, dass Alles mit Hotels und Bussen so gut organisiert wird.

Daher kommt man also kaum drum herum über eine Agentur zu buchen. Die Agentur Marathon Reise Service kann ich grundsätzlich empfehlen. Man kann diese per Email oder telefonsich kontaktieren und man bekommt dann die entsprechenden Buchungunterlagen zugeschickt. Alles ist auf Deutsch. Diese müssen dann ausgefüllt werden und per Post zurückgeschickt werden. Etwas altmodisch das Ganze, es geht also nicht mit einem Klick online, aber es funktioniert trotzdem.

Marathon Reise Service

Marathon Reise Service

Wenn man eine Startnummer beim New York Marathon haben möchte, muss man allerdings auch das Hotel über die Agentur buchen. Wir wurden zu Viert ins The Lexington Autograph Collection in der Nähe des Central Park* eingebucht. Erst gab es etwas Probleme, weil wir eine 4er Belegung wollten (dann wird es auch etwas günstiger), aber ein paar Telefonate später war auch das letztendlich möglich.

Kosten: Startnummer 479€ & Hotel für 4 Nächte im 4er-Zimmer mit 2 Queen-Size Betten € 579€

Anreise auf eigene Faust

Die Flüge wollten wir separat buchen, da wir zu Viert aus verschiedenen Städten angeflogen sind und auch zum Teil an verschiedenen Tagen. Über die Agentur war es zwar auch möglich Flüge und Transfers etc. zu buchen, aber ich denke auf jeden Fall teurer. Tipps&Tools zur Flugbuchung könnt ihr auch hier nachlesen.

Am Ende hat sich die Ausdauer bei der Flugsuche auf jeden Fall gelohnt und wir haben einen Flug für ca. 400€ direkt mit Lufthansa ab München ergattert. Bei der Einreise in die USA ist natürlich das Visum (ESTA) pflicht! Kosten ca. 14$

Times Square New York

Times Square New York

Vor Ort angekommen, haben wir unseren Transfer zum Hotel mit dem Taxi selber organisiert (ca. 100$). Es gibt natürlich auch günstigere Alternativen, wie zum Beispiel den Bus. Der Check-In im Hotel lief problemlos ab und wir konnten erst einmal unseren Jetlag verdauen (ca. 5-6 Stunden Zeitverschiebung).

Mein Tipp: unbedingt ein paar Tage vor dem New York Marathon anreisen, um sich zu akklimatisieren! Dann bleibt auch noch ein bisschen Zeit für Sightseeing, wie der Highline-Park oder das verrückte Singing Diner am Times Square!

Marathon Messe – in der Nähe des Highline Park

Diese Messe war quasi ein Pflichttermin. Hier musste man sich nämlich die Startnummer abholen und auch die Bändchen für die Fähre. Nice to have waren hier die verschiedenen Stände mit coolen Sportklamotten. Sei es als Erinnerung an dieses einmalige Event oder als Souvenir für zu Hause.

Pflanzen und Chill-Areas Highline Park

Pflanzen und Chill-Areas Highline Park

Mein Tipp: es kann hier (oder auch schon vorab) ein Fotopaket für ca. 60$ direkt beim Veranstalter TCS des New York Marathons gekauft werden mit Bildern von dir während des NYC Marathons! Einfach auf der offiziellen Homepage registrieren und bestellen.  

Der große Tag

Was soll ich sagen – die Orga des New York Marathons war wirklich der Wahnsinn! Es wurde von der Agentur grundsätzlich auch eine Art Rahmenprogramm mit anderen Läufern angeboten, wie z.B. Pasta-Abend vor dem großen Tag oder Ähnliches. Wir wollten das aber lieber auf eigene Faust machen…

Schlange stehen bei der Ferry

Schlange stehen bei der Ferry

Am 4. November 2018 klingelte der Wecker dann um 6Uhr morgens. Auch hier ist der Transfer mit dem Bus zum Startplatz über die Agentur organisiert. Wir wollten aber unbedingt mit der Fähre nach Staten Island übersetzen und von dort gab es dann einen offiziellen Marathon-Bus zum Startpunkt an der Brücke (Wartezeiten bitte mit einrechnen). Es folgte ein Security-Check, wo die Startnummer überprüft und die Taschen etc. gecheckt wurden.

Fährfahrt zum Startpunkt mit Polizeibegleitung

Fährfahrt zum Startpunkt mit Polizeibegleitung

Sowohl beim Start als auch beim Marathon selbst war die Organisation wirklich unglaublich! Es wurde in mehreren Farb-Blöcken gestartet, damit die 60.000 Menschen sich nicht über den Haufen rennen. Wir waren im blauen Block mit 10.000 weiteren Läufern von jung bis alt. Innerhalb dieser Farb-Blöcke wurde dann noch einmal in weitere Startblöcke unterteilt.

Warten auf den Start

Warten auf den Start

Die ersten Spitzenläufer starteten also um 9Uhr Ortszeit und wir durften dann um ca. 10.45Uhr los! Oh what a feeling! Währenddessen gab es fast nach jedem Kilometer eine Snack-Bar, Getränke und Toiletten.

Mein Tipp: schreibt unbedingt Euren Vornamen auf Euer Trikot, dann werdet ihr mit Namen angefeuert und es fühlt sich (fast) an, als würde man auf Wolken laufen 🙂

Startnummer und Name zum Anfeuern NYC Marathon

Startnummer und Name zum Anfeuern NYC Marathon

Das New York Marathon-Feeling

Beim Start lief schon total bedeutungsschwanger der Song “New York, New York” von Frank Sinatra. Irgendwie sehr kitschig aber auch total passend! Wenn man übrigens mit seinem Kumpel zusammen starten möchte, sollte man schon im Vorfeld die gleiche Laufzeit angeben, dann kommt man automatisch in einen “Block”. Sollte das nicht klappen, kann man zur Not auch bei der Marathon Messe noch den Startblock ändern lassen.

Start New York Marathon

Start New York Marathon

Das Besondere am NYC Marathon ist einfach der unglaubliche Zuschauer-Support an der kompletten Strecke auf 42,2km! Im Vergleich zu den anderen Marathons, die ich schon gelaufen bin, standen hier wirklich an jeder Ecke Leute, die einen angefeuert haben. Von jung bis alt, Familien mit Kindern, die alle meinen Namen gerufen haben (siehe Tipp zum Trikot).

Verrazano-Narrows Bridge New York

Verrazano-Narrows Bridge New York

Mein persönliches Highlight war in Brooklyn: die Zuschauer sind hier total abgegangen und haben Plakate hochgehalten mit großen Papp-Händen a la “Clap here to power up“! Die Kulisse war auch einmalig über die Queensboro Bridge nach Manhattan auf die First Avenue, durch die Häuserschluchten und dann der Zieleinlauf im Central Park.

Zieleinlauf New York Marathon im Central Park

Zieleinlauf New York Marathon im Central Park

Die ganze Stadt pulsierte und fieberte dem Event des Jahres entgegen und das spürte man auch! Es gab in ganz New York quasi keinen, der nicht total begeistert war, dass man da mitläuft. Man wurde schon im Vorfeld darauf angesprochen und alle fanden das natürlich “amazing” und “great”. In diesem Fall war die Begeisterungsfähigkeit der Amis mal sehr positiv. Witzig fand ich auch die diversen Plakate an der Strecke, wie “You run better than our government” oder eine Trump-Puppe mit “Punch Trump to power up!”…

Medaille New York Marathon 2018

Medaille New York Marathon 2018

Hat man dann den Zieleinlauf geschafft (bei mir nach guten 4 Stunden!), erhält man natürlich auch eine Medaille. Diese kann man (gegen Gebühr) noch gravieren lassen. Nice to have! Cool fand ich auch, dass alle Zeiten jedes einzelnen Läufers am nächsten Tag in der New York Times abgedruckt wurden – once in a lifetime!

Mein Tipp: mit der New York Marathon App kann man mit der Startnummer getrackt werden und deine Liebsten zu Hause können dort sozusagen live mitverfolgen, wo du gerade bist!

Streckenverlauf New York Marathon

Streckenverlauf New York Marathon

Seid ihr schon mal beim New York Marathon mitgelaufen? Wenn ja, wie war es für Euch? Vielleicht möchtet ihr auch meine New York Tipps nicht verpassen!

PS: am 14.01.2019 beginnt das Losverfahren für den New York Marathon 2019!

Dieser Artikel enthält unbezahlte Werbung!

*Affiliate Link (mit dem ich ein bisschen Geld verdiene;)

Teilen auf

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.