Family, Europe, Travel reports, Scotland, Travels
Comments 6

Scotland with children: Tips & Itinerary

We asked ourselves whether Scotland with children really makes sense. A classic summer vacation on the beach is definitely something different. Scotland is pure nature and outdoor fun!

GGive the kids beach, sea and sun and they are happy! That was at least until now always our credo for the summer vacation with kids. This time, however, it was said to hop in puddles, hunting sheep, stones in the hole throw and find rainbows & find. As a half Scottish I wanted to bring my children but at least once my second home a little closer ...

Fort William Scotland

Rainbow over Fort William

Weather & clothes:

Well, with the weather in Scotland is always such a thing and the suitcase-packing for the kids really ungrateful (at least for us mothers). Because in principle, there can be everything from sunshine and 25 degrees to heavy rain and 15 degrees in Scotland. So everything from short pants and T-shirts to muddy pants, hats and rubber boots has to be packed. Since there are enough packing lists floating around in the net, I'll let it outside ...

We were in the middle of August for a week in the Scottish Highlands On the way and for six days only one was really sunny and beautiful! I could have saved myself the shirts and shorts. Or maybe we just had bad luck.

Check in:

EasyJet flies from Munich right after Edinburgh at very reasonable rates. Hand luggage is inclusive, without weight limit and also for every child! Additional luggage must be paid extra and drinks and food in the plane of course, too. Flight time is a good two hours, which is really well done with kids.

It was noticeable that on the flight almost no toddlers were on board. That says that this is not the classic summer destination for Familys ... From Edinburgh you drive to the west coast by car for about 3 hours.

Cost: We booked our flights nine months in advance and got really cheap rates with about 200 € per adult including three pieces of luggage!

Cars:

The usual, suspicious landlords like Europcar and Sixt There are about 500 meters walking outside the terminal. These are a bit more expensive at first glance, but on closer inspection they are the better choice!

We made the big mistake and over from outside the airport AurumCars and get better at Green Motion booked (via CHECK24). The basic price was indeed much cheaper than the competition, but the hidden extra costs locally for it all the higher. Definitely not recommended and total rip-off! We simply brought child seats ourselves to save additional costs.

Cost: We have for a compact class (for two adults and two small children with luggage quite sufficient) for 13 days about 320 € paid including 1988 free kilometers (we did not need more) and no deductible.

Our rental car in Fort William

Our rental car in Fort William

General information about driving in Scotland with children:

Left-hand traffic prevails!

Driver's license: a valid driver's license is sufficient if you come from a European country

Speed ​​limits:

highways:

  • 70 mph (112 km / h) for cars.
  • 60 mph (96 km / h) for cars with caravans or trailers.

Expressways (dual carriageways):

  • 70 mph (112 km / h) for cars
  • 60 mph (96 km / h) for cars with caravans or trailers.

Closed town:

  • 30 mph (48 km / h)
  • Signs with a speed limit of 20 mph (32 km / h) can often be found in residential areas and especially near schools.

Outside built-up areas:

  • 60 mph (96 km / h) for cars
  • 50 mph (80 km / h) for cars with caravans or trailers.

Other useful information: There are no toll roads or bridges in Scotland and children under the age of 12 who are smaller than 135 cm should use a child seat appropriate for their weight.

Single Track Isle of Mull

Single Track Isle of Mull

Accommodation:

A charming way to stay in Scotland is authentic Cottages, These can be over for example cottages.com or holidaycottages.co.uk We had a great big one House in Fort William rented.

Cost: for a week in our beautiful cottage in walking distance to Fort William with lake view and gas fireplace with 5 SZ and 2 baths (and a deer is sometimes rushing by the door) we paid about 1.300 pounds.

Of course, classic B & Bs are also a great option. These are like sand on the sea in all colors, shapes and price ranges! These should be reserved in advance in the high season, at least in the tourist resorts. There are various portals for this, such as booking.com* or bedanadbreakfast.com.

Our cottage in Fort William Scotland

Our cottage in Fort William Scotland

Our itinerary:

I found it more charming to stay in one place and to explore Scotland with children from there with day trips. Definitely less stressful than a road trip with a daily suitcase packing, especially with smaller kids.

Our base was Fort William in the southwestern Highlands at Loch Linnhe located. From there, all sights were very easy to reach. Inverness offers itself as a starting point otherwise still good on or for the Hebriden islands still Oban, Depending on what you would like to see in Scotland with children.

Our travel route in Scotland with children from Fort William:

Tag 1: Stroll through the cute pedestrian street with cafes, pubs and shops in Fort William, After that Neptune's Staircase about 10 minutes north by car. A great lock system to explore for the kids!

Tag 2:

Glencoe with a small hike overlooking the Three sisters.

Tag 3:

Glen Nevis with a short hike to the waterfall about 1,6km.

Tag 4:

Jacobite Steam Train: Steam locomotive or also known as the Hogwarts Express from Harry Potter of Fort William to Mallaig and back again.

Cost about 90 pounds for 2 adults, 1 child and 1 toddler on the lap.

Tag 5:

Day trip to the Isle of Mull with the ferry in Lochaline to Fishnish.

Tag 6:

Eilean Donan Castle and get better at Isle of Skye in about 1,5 hours to reach by car. Plockton - my personal favorite spot in Scotland only about 20 minutes from Eilean Donan Castle away. Sweet hippie fishing village with palm trees!

Tag 7:

Onward journey over Falkirk Wheel & The Kelpies to Edinburgh and on to Northumberland in England.

Summary

A trip through Scotland with children is of course different from a beach holiday in Croatia. It's adventure, it's nature and pure fascination! It is wildly romantic, dramatic and mystically beautiful. We were able to lure the kids especially with outdoor activities, such as the steam train or the ferry ride. But they also liked the small puddle hikes.

On Isle of Mull We were able to observe animals on every street corner, especially sheep and highland cows. The beaches on Calgary Bay and Tobermory were real highlights!

Calgary Bay Isle of Mull

Calgary Bay Isle of Mull

The big travel days were of course not very popular. Therefore, we often made smaller trips to the surrounding area. Only Isle of Mull and Eilean Donan Castle you can Plockton were complete day trips with some whining kids in the back seat.

Maybe you are interested too my tips for Fort William? Or mine personal highlights of a trip to Scotland in the next post? What were your experiences in Scotland with children? At the end or beginning you can of course also make a perfect stop in the beautiful city of Edinburgh. Here I recommend one Hop-on hop-off bus tour* to all sights!

We have our trip in Scotland with one Beach vacation in England Northumberland combined! We were also on the day Edinburgh Festival!

This article contains unpaid advertising!

* Affiliate link

Split up

6 comments

  1. Great article! Now I would like to go to Scotland as well 🙂 Even without children 😉 And you see, it's just a question of organization, then it seems that the kiddies are doing just fine.
    Greetings and see you soon !!
    Kerstin

    • favorite spot sagt

      Dear Kerstin, Thank you for your nice comment! Yes, I think so too Schott And Scotland is always worth a trip, preferably not in the summer, then you probably better weather 😉 Best regards, Tatjana

  2. uwe Bruns sagt

    dear Tatjana
    we also want to go to Scotland in June this year.
    In Edinburgh and Glasgow you have to pay moist. Do you have any idea how it works
    When we are back at the end of June, our detailed report will come
    Greetings from Uwe

    • favorite spot sagt

      Dear Uwe, thank you for your comment and how nice that you are traveling to Scotland! What exactly do you mean by the cost? There are no toll fees. I am looking forward to your travel report! Kind regards, Tatjana

  3. That looks great! We are currently planning a road trip from Edinburgh to London in August. Hope we can fly then ...

    Best regards,
    Jochen

    • favorite spot sagt

      Hello Jochen, thank you for your positive feedback! Your road trip sounds great! I keep my fingers crossed for you… lg, Tatjana

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Reiseberichte, Travels
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Schottland mit Kindern: Tipps & Reiseroute

Schottland mit Kindern

Wir haben uns ja gefragt, ob Schottland mit kleinen Kindern wirklich sinnvoll ist. Ein klassischer Sommerurlaub am Strand ist definitiv etwas Anderes. Schottland ist Natur pur und Outdoor-Spaß!

Gib den Kindern Strand, Meer und Sonne und sie sind glücklich! Das war zumindest bis dato immer unser Credo für den Sommerurlaub mit Kids. Diesmal hieß es aber in Pfützen hüpfen, Schafe jagen, Steine in die Lochs werfen und Regenbogen suchen & finden. Als Halb-Schottin wollte ich meinen Kindern aber auch endlich einmal meine zweite Heimat ein wenig näher bringen…

Fort William Schottland

Regenbogen über Fort William

Wetter & Klamotten:

Tja, das mit dem Wetter in Schottland ist ja immer so eine Sache und das Koffer-Packen für die Kids auch wirklich undankbar (zumindest für uns Mütter). Denn im Prinzip kann es von Sonnenschein und 25 Grad bis hin zu heftigem Regen und 15 Grad Alles in Schottland geben. Also muss von kurzer Hose und T-Shirt bis hin zu Matschhose, Mütze und Gummistiefeln eigentlich Alles eingepackt werden. Da im Netz schon genügend Packlisten herumschwirren, lass ich das jetzt mal Außen vor…

Wir waren ja Mitte August für eine Woche in den Scottish Highlands unterwegs und von sechs Tagen war nur einer wirklich richtig sonnig und schön! Die Shirts und kurzen Hosen hätte ich mir also sparen können. Vielleicht hatten wir aber auch einfach nur Pech.

Anreise:

EasyJet fliegt von München direkt nach Edinburgh zu durchaus günstigen Tarifen. Handgepäck ist inklusive, ohne Gewichtsbegrenzung und auch für jedes Kind! Zusätzliches Gepäck muss extra bezahlt werden und Getränke und Essen im Flieger natürlich auch. Flugzeit sind gute zwei Stunden, was mit Kids wirklich gut machbar ist.

Auffällig war, dass auf dem Flug fast keine Kleinkinder an Bord waren. Das sagt schon aus, dass es nicht das klassische Sommer-Reiseziel für Familys ist… Von Edinburgh fährt man an die Westküste mit dem Auto dann noch ca. 3 Stunden.

Kosten: wir haben unsere Flüge neun Monate im Voraus gebucht und noch wirklich günstige Tarife mit ca. 200€ pro Erwachsenen erhalten inklusive drei Gepäckstücke!

Mietwagen:

Die üblichen, verdächtigen Vermieter wie Europcar und Sixt befinden sich ca. 500 Meter zu Fuß außerhalb des Terminals. Diese sind zwar auf den ersten Blick etwas teurer, bei genauerem Hinsehen allerdings die bessere Wahl!

Wir haben den großen Fehler gemacht und außerhalb des Flughafens über AurumCars bei GreenMotion gebucht (via CHECK24). Der Grundpreis war zwar deutlich günstiger als bei der Konkurrenz, aber die versteckten Zusatzkosten vor Ort dafür umso höher. Definitiv nicht empfehlenswert und totale Abzocke!

Kosten: Wir haben für eine Kompaktklasse (für zwei Erwachsene und zwei Kleinkinder mit Gepäck völlig ausreichend) für 13 Tage ca. 320€ bezahlt inklusive 1988 Freikilometer (mehr haben wir auch nicht gebraucht) und ohne Selbstbeteiligung.

Unser Mietwagen in Fort William

Unser Mietwagen in Fort William

Unterkunft:

Eine charmante Art in Schottland zu übernachten sind stilechte Cottages. Diese kann man zum Beispiel über cottages.com oder auch holidaycottages.co.uk buchen. Wir hatten ein tolles, großes Haus in Fort William gemietet.

Kosten: für eine Woche in unserem hübschen Häuschen in Laufdistanz nach Fort William mit Seeblick und Gas-Kamin mit 5 SZ und 2 Bädern (und ein Reh ist auch mal vor der Tür vorbeigehuscht) haben wir ca. 1.300 Pfund bezahlt.

Natürlich sind auch klassische B&Bs eine tolle Möglichkeit. Diese gibt es wie Sand am Meer in allen Farben, Formen und Preisklassen! Diese sollte man in der Hochsaison allerdings vorab reservieren, zumindest in den Touristenorten. Hierfür gibt es verschiedene Portale, wie booking.com* oder auch bedanadbreakfast.com.

Unser Cottage in Fort William Schottland

Unser Cottage in Fort William Schottland

Unsere Reiseroute:

Ich fand es ja charmanter an einem Ort zu bleiben und Schottland mit Kindern von dort aus mit Tagesausflügen zu erkunden. Definitiv stressfreier als ein Roadtrip mit täglichem Kofferpacken, gerade mit kleineren Kids. 

Unsere Basis war Fort William in den südwestlichen Highlands am Loch Linnhe gelegen. Von dort waren alle Sights sehr gut zu erreichen. Inverness bietet sich als Ausgangspunkt sonst auch noch gut an oder für die Hebriden-Inseln noch Oban. Je nach dem natürlich, was man in Schottland mit Kindern Alles sehen möchte.

Unsere Reiseroute in Schottland mit Kindern von Fort William aus:

Tag 1: Schlendern durch die süße Fußgängerzone mit Cafés, Pubs und Shops in Fort William. Danach Neptune’s Staircase ca. 10 Minuten nördlich mit dem Auto. Eine tolle Schleusenanlage zum Erkunden für die Kids!

 

Tag 2: Glencoe mit kleiner Wanderung mit Blick auf die Three Sisters.

 

Tag 3: Glen Nevis mit kleiner Wanderung zum Wasserfall ca. 1,6km.

 

Tag 4: Jacobite Steam Train: Fahrt mit der Dampflok oder auch bekannt als der Hogwarts Express aus Harry Potter von Fort William nach Mallaig und wieder zurück.

Kosten ca. 90 Pfund für 2 Erwachsene, 1 Kind und 1 Kleinkind auf dem Schoß.

 

Tag 5: Tagesausflug auf die Isle of Mull mit der Fähre in Lochaline nach Fishnish.

 

Tag 6: Eilean Donan Castle bei Isle of Skye in ca. 1,5 Stunden mit dem Auto zu erreichen. Plockton – mein persönlicher Lieblingsspot in Schottland nur ca. 20 Minuten von Eilean Donan Castle entfernt. Süßer Hippie-Fischerort mit Palmen!

 

Tag 7: Weiterreise über Falkirk Wheel & The Kelpies nach Edinburgh und weiter nach Northumberland in England.

Fazit

Eine Reise durch Schottland mit Kindern ist natürlich anders als ein Strandurlaub in Kroatien. Es ist Abenteuer, es ist Natur und Faszination pur! Es ist wildromantsich, dramatisch und mystisch schön. Die Kinder konnten wir vorallem mit Outdoor-Aktionen, wie dem Steam-Train oder der Fährfahrt locken. Aber auch die kleinen Pfützen-Wanderungen haben ihnen gut gefallen.

Auf der Isle of Mull konnten wir an jeder Straßenecke Tiere, vorallem Schafe und Highland-Cows beobachten. Auch die Strände an der Calgary-Bay und in Tobermory waren echte Highlights!

Calgary Bay Isle of Mull

Calgary Bay Isle of Mull

Die großen Reisetage waren natürlich nicht sehr beliebt. Daher haben wir oft eher kleinere Ausflüge in die nähere Umgebung gemacht. Lediglich Isle of Mull und Eilean Donan Castle mit Plockton waren komplette Tagesausflüge mit teilweise quengeligen Kids auf der Rückbank.

Vielleicht interessieren Euch auch meine Tipps für Fort William? Oder meine persönlichen Highlights einer Schottland Reise im nächsten Beitrag? Was habt ihr für Erfahrungen in Schottland mit Kindern gemacht?

Wir haben unsere Reise in Schottland mit einem Strandurlaub in England Northumberland kombiniert!

Dieser Artikel enthält unbezahlte Werbung!

*Affiliate Link

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.