Scotland, Europe
Comments 2

Fort William Scotland: 5 Things You Can Experience Here

Fort William Scotland

I've heard and read a lot about this town on Loch Linnhe in the Scottish Highlands. But then I was very pleasantly surprised. My 5 highlights in Fort William Scotland!

DHowever, the weather in Fort William did not (unfortunately) surprise me. It was mild in August, but rather gloomy, which I expected in the rainiest city in the UK ... Nevertheless, you can really experience a lot here without driving far and especially with kids it was the perfect spot for us:

1. Glen coe

The historic massacre of the MacDonald clan took place in the 1690 years in this mystical valley. The most famous scenery here are probably the so-called Three sisters. If you hide the traffic on the A82 and the tourist hordes, the landscape is really dramatic! Several films have been shot here already ...

As all parking around the Three Sisters we were completely overrun a bit off on the other side of the valley Kinlochleven a little bit wandering around, On the way there we stopped at the southern tip of Loch Linnhe with a breathtaking panorama! Again, the Visitor Center in Glencoe is not worth mentioning.

Really worth seeing and only about 30 minutes drive from Fort Willliam away!

2. Glen Nevis

The Valley Nevis in the shadow of the highest mountain in Britain, the Ben Nevis, is a lot more romantic for me than the big sister Glen coe. Not so overcrowded and without through traffic you still experience the real, the wild Scotland! On the roadside you can find highland cows and sheep. At the end of the street of Glen Nevis we are about 1,6 km through the green valleys along the river and back again.

Who likes can be on the other side of the Ben Nevis in the Nevis Range Mountain Experience Take the gondola for about 19 pounds up the mountain and make small hikes with about 30-60 minutes. Unfortunately the weather was so modest that it was not worth it. Next time!

Both attractions can be reached by car from Fort William in about 20 minutes.

3. Neptune's Staircase

Eleven locks (according to our son;) pave the way from here Loch Linnhe to Caledonian Canal Direction Loch Ness. Really very idyllic at the foot of the Ben Nevis Located here, you can hike up and down the locks and cross over again and again. The railway line to Mallaig is located directly opposite and with a little luck can also the Steam train beobabchtchtet! For kids there is a small playground at the parking lot.

A really nice occupation only about 10 minutes north of Fort William.

4. Boat trip over Loch Linnhe

Directly in Fort William at the eponymous fish restaurant on the waterfront Crannog Tours an 1,5 hour drive over Loch Linnhe. Highlights are the Seerobben and if you are lucky also dolphins! A relaxed ride overlooking the Ben Nevis (if not exactly the fog is hanging low like ours) and Fort William. The captain makes his funny comments and who gets cold can try a hot toddy. An adult ticket costs about 15 pounds.

There is also a ferry right next to it, which translates into 20 minutes and is much cheaper. On the other hand, small hikes can be undertaken.

5. Eat & Drink

Café Wildcat

A super sweet vegan cafe in the middle of the small pedestrian street in Highstreet Fort William, And although the cappuccino is made with Oat Milk, it was the best we had ever tasted. There are also delicious and especially healthy snacks (which I do not find so easy in Scotland).

Seafood restaurant Crannog

Alone the location is uniquely beautiful, right on the water overlooking the Loch Linnhe, And the food keeps what it promises! It may not be cheap, but the fish fillets and steaks are really tasty! Main courses cost around 15 pounds. The atmosphere is really cozy and appealing, the staff extremely friendly. Best in town!

Pub Grog & Gruel

Quaint pub and typically Scottish! Also in the pedestrian zone in Fort Willliam If you are looking for a place to eat, you can not only drink ale or lager, but you can also go to the upper floor for delicious meals. We were lucky and played a Scottish, little band on Thursday night! As a half-Scot I love the accent and it was played backpipe and old folk songs ...

Have you ever been to Fort William Scotland? What were your experiences, especially with the weather? My Highlights in the Scottish Highlands with and without children you might also be interested!

Split up

2 comments

  1. In June I was the 2. Time in Fort William. Glencoe is an absolute must and high in Glen Nevis to the Steall Falls, the walk is also entertaining and beautiful.
    We were at Crofters for Easy Drink and Eat regularly. We also liked the Ben Nevis restaurant. Otherwise you can of course make some day trips from there, such as Glenfinnan Viaduct and on to the Ardnamurchan peninsula. Here you can buy Ellen in Salen bread to German recipe or a piece further in the Ardshealach Smokehouse very delicious smoked things buy (salmon, duck, chicken, beef, cheese, etc.). Ellen (Salen House b & b) and Christoph (Ardshealach) are Germans who have emigrated and gained a foothold in the West. In Salen there is a hotel with a very good restaurant. Less than an hour from Fort William.

    So, in just 2 weeks, it goes to the island of Arran. I have not been there yet and I am looking forward to a week of golf and nature.

    Nice to read your blog. Keep it up

    • favorite spot sagt

      Hi Jens,

      Thanks for your comment and your great tips! We went with the Jacobite Steam Train from Fort William to Mallaig, was a great experience! More about that in my next post. I will try your recommendations next time! I wish you a lot of fun in Scotland and hopefully good weather;) Best regards, Tatjana

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

LIEBLINGSSPOTs welt, Schottland
Kommentare 2

Fort William Schottland: 5 Dinge, die Du hier erleben kannst

Fort William Schottland

Ich habe ja viel Schlechtes über diese Stadt am Loch Linnhe in den Scottish Highlands gehört und gelesen. Ich war dann aber sehr positiv überrascht. Meine 5 Highlights in Fort William Schottland!

Das Wetter in Fort William hat mich allerdings (leider) nicht überrascht. Es war im August zwar mild, aber eher düster, was ich bei der regenreichsten Stadt Großbritanniens auch so erwartet hatte… Nichtsdestotrotz kann man hier wirklich viel erleben ohne weit zu fahren und gerade mit Kids war es das perfekte Fleckchen Erde für uns:

1. Glen Coe

Das historische Massaker des MacDonald Clans fand in den 1690er Jahren in diesem mystischen Tal statt. Die berühmteste Kulisse sind hier wohl die sogenannten Three Sisters. Blendet man den Verkehr auf der A82 und die Touristenhorden aus, ist die Landschaft wirklich dramatisch schön! Mehrere Filme wurden hier schon abgedreht…

Da alle Parkplätze rund um die Three Sisters restlos überlaufen waren, sind wir etwas abseits auf der anderen Seite des Tales bei Kinlochleven ein bisschen umhergewandert. Auf dem Weg dorthin haben wir noch einen Stopp an der Südspitze des Loch Linnhe eingelegt mit atemberaubendem Panorama! Das Visitor Center in Glencoe ist wiederum nicht der Rede wert.

Wirklich sehenswert und nur ca. 30 Minuten Fahrt von Fort Willliam entfernt!

2. Glen Nevis

Das Tal Nevis im Schatten des höchsten Berges Großbritanniens, des Ben Nevis, ist für mich viel wildromantischer als die große Schwester Glen Coe. Nicht so überlaufen und ohne Durchgangsverkehr erlebt man hier noch das echte, das wilde Schottland! Am Straßenrand findet man Highland-Cows und Schafe. Am Ende der Straße des Glen Nevis sind wir ca 1,6 km durch die grünen Täler am Fluss entlang spaziert und wieder zurück.

Wer mag kann auf der anderen Seite des Ben Nevis in der Nevis Range Mountain Experience mit der Gondel für ca. 19 Pfund auf den Berg hoch fahren und dort kleine Wanderungen mit ca. 30-60 Minuten unternehmen. Bei uns war leider das Wetter so bescheiden, dass es sich nicht gelohnt hat. Next time!

Beide Attraktionen sind mit dem Auto von Fort William aus in ca. 20 Minuten zu erreichen.

3. Neptune’s Staircase

Elf Schleusen (laut unserem Sohn;) ebnen hier den Weg vom Loch Linnhe zum Caledonian Canal Richtung Loch Ness. Wirklich sehr idyllisch am Fuße des Ben Nevis gelegen, kann man hier die Schleusen auf und ab wandern und auch immer wieder überqueren.  Die Bahnstrecke nach Mallaig befindet sich direkt gegenüber und mit etwas Glück kann auch der Steam Train beobabchtet werden! Für Kids gibt es am Parkplatz noch einen kleinen Spielplatz.

Eine wirklich nette Beschäftigung nur ca. 10 Minuten nördlich von Fort William.

4. Schifffahrt über den Loch Linnhe

Direkt in Fort William beim gleichnamigen Fischrestaurant direkt am Wasser bietet Crannog Tours eine 1,5 stündige Fahrt über den Loch Linnhe an. Highlights sind die Seerobben und wenn man Glück hat auch Delphine! Eine entspannte Fahrt mit Blick auf den Ben Nevis (wenn nicht gerade der Nebel tief hängt wie bei uns) und Fort William. Der Kapitän gibt seine lustigen Kommentare ab und wem kalt wird, kann einen Hot Toddy probieren. Ein Erwachsenen-Ticket kostet ca. 15 Pfund.

Es gibt auch eine Fähre gleich daneben, die in 20 Minuten übersetzt und deutlich günstiger ist. Auf der anderen Seite können kleine Wanderungen unternommen werden.

5. Eat & Drink

Café Wildcat

Ein super süßes veganes Café mitten in der kleinen Fußgängerzone in der Highstreet von Fort William. Und obwohl der Cappuccino mit Oat Milk gemacht wird, war es der Beste, den wir bis dato getrunken hatten. Es gibt dazu noch leckere und vorallem gesunde Snacks (was ich ja in Schottland gar nicht so einfach finde).

Fischrestaurant Crannog

Allein die Lage ist schon einzigartig schön, direkt am Wasser mit Blick auf den Loch Linnhe. Und das Essen hält, was es verspricht! Es ist zwar nicht unbedingt preiswert, aber die Fisch-Filets und Steaks sind wirklich lecker! Hauptgerichte kosten um die 15 Pfund. Die Atmosphäre ist wirklich gemütlich und ansprechend, das Personal überaus freundlich. Best in town!

Pub Grog & Gruel

Uriger Pub und typisch schottisch! Auch in der Fußgängerzone in Fort Willliam gelegen, kann man hier nicht nur gut ein Ale oder Lager trinken, sondern im oberen Stockwerk auch lecker Essen gehen. Wir hatten Glück und es spielte am Donnerstag Abend eine schottische, kleine Band! Als Halb-Schottin liebe ich ja den Akzent und es wurde Backpipe und alte Folk-Songs gespielt…

Ward ihr schon einmal in Fort William Schottland? Was waren Eure Erfahrungen, vorallem mit dem Wetter? Meine Highlights in den Scottish Highlands mit und ohne Kinder könnten Euch auch noch interessieren!

Teilen auf

2 Kommentare

  1. Im Juni war ich das 2. Mal in Fort William. Glencoe ist ein absolutes Muss und im Glen Nevis zu den Steall Falls hoch, die Wanderung ist auch kurzweilig und schön.
    Wir waren regelmäßig im Crofters für Easy Drink und Eat. Im Ben Nevis Restaurant hat es uns auch gut geschmeckt. Ansonsten kann man natürlich von dort aus einige Tagesausflüge machen, wie z.B. Glenfinnan Viaduct und weiter zur Ardnamurchan Halbinsel. Hier kann man bei Ellen in Salen Brot nach deutschem Rezept kaufen oder ein Stück weiter im Ardshealach Smokehouse sehr leckere geräucherte Sachen kaufen (Lachs, Ente, Huhn, Rind, Käse etc.). Ellen (Salen House b&b) und Christoph (Ardshealach) sind Deutsche, die ausgewandert sind und im Westen Fuß gefasst haben. In Salen gibt es dann ein Hotel mit einem sehr guten Restaurant. Knapp eine Stunde von Fort William entfernt.

    So, in knapp 2 Wochen geht es zur Insel Arran. Da war ich noch nicht und ich freue mich auf eine Woche Golfen und Natur.

    Schön deinen Blog zu lesen. Weiter so 🙂

    • Lieblingsspot sagt

      Hallo Jens,

      Lieben Dank für deinen Kommentar und deine tollen Tipps! Wir sind mit dem Jacobite Steam Train von Fort William nach Mallaig gefahren, war eine super Erfahrung! Dazu mehr in meinem nächsten Beitrag. Deine Empfehlungen werde ich das nächste Mal ausprobieren! Ich wünsche Dir schon mal viel Spaß in Schottland und hoffentlich gutes Wetter;) Liebe Grüße, Tatjana

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.