Family, FAVORITE SPOTS city, Munich, Travels
Leave a Comment

Insider tip Munich - green Obermenzing with my 5 favorite places!

Insider tip Munich

Anyone who has ever been to Munich knows the classic highlights, such as Marienplatz, the English Garden or the Olympic Tower. My insider tip in Munich: the Obermenzing district in the north-west of the city is off the beaten track. Here I will show you my five favorite places in my new home!

If you take the S-Bahn (Obermenzing stop with the S2), bike or car When you come to Obermenzing from downtown Munich, you think you have landed in another world. This insider tip in Munich is more of a village and sometimes has very traditional sights. But above all, Obermenzing is a very green, quiet and family-friendly district away from the hustle and bustle the city and my new home for over seven years now.

Green Obermenzing

It is particularly lovable in the largely still well-preserved village center with the St. Georg Church, opposite the "Old Landlord" that has existed since at least 1417 one of the most beautiful maypoles in Upper Bavaria, with the “Weichandhof” restaurant (an ancient former farm with the mill mentioned as early as 1397) and opposite to the over 300 year old, now externally and internally developed Zehentstadel and not far away is Blutenburg Castle.

Obermenzing is first mentioned in a document in 1315. However, with the name “Duo Mentzing” - two Menzing, there is also the Untermenzing district. Here are my five favorite places for you in Obermenzing:

1. Insider tip Munich: Blutenburg Castle

When I didn't live in Obermenzing, I knew the beautiful Blutenburg only as a location for the annual wine festivalwhich, by the way, is also very worth seeing. The old castle is much more than that. It contains an international youth library, a nice castle tavern right on the small lake and of course serves as a wedding location and event location. Here also takes place every year of Blutenburg Christmas market instead of. Now I live only five minutes away by bike. Lucky me.

Blutenburg Obermenzing

The history: First mentioned in a document Blutenburg Castle in 1432. Until about 1430 the Blutenburg consisted of the so-called manor house and was of four towers and a moat surround.

Source: Click here to go to the Blutenburg Castle website with its events and even more information!

2. Insider tip Munich: Inselmühle beer garden

My absolute Favorite beer garden in Munich! The name suggests a bit that this one a small island of calm in the middle of the city is. Surrounded by lots of green and the worm it is just idyllic and, above all, not overcrowded. There are a small playground and of course hearty food. You can find more information here!

Inselmühle Obermenzing

3. Insider tip Munich: The Würm

The Würm is Obermenzing's green lifeline. It leads like a canal system through the north of Munich and is a total of 39,5 kilometers long. That little stream rises at the northeast end of Lake Starnberg, which was also called Würmsee until 1962, and flows into the Amper near Dachau. Parts of the Würmwasser also find their way into the Isar and Moosach. For us Obermenzinger, the banks of the Würm are simply the most beautiful local recreation area for young and old.

The worm

In summer you can play in the meadow or splash around in the river and in winter fed the ducks and threw stones. With a bit of luck you can spot beavers here too. Especially the worm arm on that Mergenthalerstrasse in Obermenzing is a popular meeting place and when it's hot, the kids even hang out here with theirs Bodyboards down the flow float!

Surfing on the Würm

It's a nice idea that there is there are also QR codes at various stations on the Würm, which provide further information when scanning! You can find more information about it here.

4. Insider tip Munich: Kapuzinerhölzl

If you want to forest bathing in the middle of Munich, you can do it wonderfully here in Kapuzinerholzl do. This small forest connects Obermenzing with the district of Nymphenburg and Moosach and leads, among other things, almost to the Nymphenburg Palace! Directly from the residential area in Obermenzing the path "In the oak tree" the countryside.

A brook flows, the birds chirp and cyclists or Families with kids enjoy the idyll. If you go east by bike, you get to nets Economy “The pheasantry" with a nice beer garden. If you head south again, you pass a small cross-road stretch and land at the end at the Botanical Garden of the Nymphenburg Palace Park.

5. Taverns, shops & country idyll

Traditional inns

Anyone Bavarian Traditional home cooking and rustic tavern lounges in Munich, you will definitely find it here in Obermenzing:

To the old landlord: Munich veteran and the oldest inn in what is now Munich's urban area with rustic lounges inside and a beautiful beer garden outside.

To the Altes Wirt Obermenzing

Weichandhof: The landlords Peter Kinner and Michael F. Schottenhamel spoil you here at the highest level, with a small beer garden.

Weichandhof Obermenzing

To the green tree: Traditional and international cuisine. Meeting point for the people of Obermenzinger in the beautiful beer garden, also with live music.

Karwinskihöfe

A little bit Aunt Emma in Obermenzing. Three turquoise-colored houses in the middle of the residential area offer everything from fruit and vegetables or children's equipment to a decoration shop, shoe shop and hairdresser!

Shopping in Obermenzing

This way to the small charging center in Obermenzing

Country idyll in Obermenzing with farms & Co

Here in Obermenzing there is still real farmers. This can be seen in the Chickens in the fieldwhere fresh eggs are laid or the farm shops on Pippinger Straße with potatoes & Co. In spring it is Strawberry field on Weinschenkstrasse a real highlight and recently there is Alpacas on Carl-Hanser-Straße with a small farm shop. A desert in the middle of the city and a real insider tip Munich!

Country idyll Obermenzing

Even more country idyll offer the old houses around the Würm and above all that St. George Church right on the brook. This is an originally Romanesque sacral building whose beginnings go back to the 9th century. Perfect Postcard motif and always a reasonthat I have come to appreciate Obermenzing as a new home.

Home love or what is home actually?

What is home for you? For me, home is a place where I can feel completely at ease with my family, I feel welcome, have a secure network and love people around me. All of this connects me, at least for the moment, with Obermenzing. There is certainly always a special phase of life for every placethat one associates with love of home.

Homeland love

Gerade with small children is the green Obermenzing, as a real insider tip Munich, not only for life, but also as a break from the city optimal. Coupled with a bit of country idyll, good restaurants and small events, this is the perfect place to discover Munich from another side.

Do you have an insider tip Munich? What is love of home for you? Write me a comment!

This article contains unpaid advertising!

This is followed by an affiliate link (with which I earn a bit of money;)

 

Split up

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Family, LIEBLINGSSPOTs city, München, Travels
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Geheimtipp München – grünes Obermenzing mit meinen 5 Lieblingsorten!

Geheimtipp München

Jeder, der einmal in München war, kennt bestimmt die klassischen Highlights, wie den Marienplatz, den Englischen Garten oder den Olympiaturm. Mein Geheimtipp München: abseits der Touristenpfade liegt das Viertel Obermenzing im Nordwesten der Stadt. Hier zeige ich Dir meine fünf Lieblingsorte in meiner neuen Heimat!

Wenn man mit der S-Bahn (Haltestelle Obermenzing mit der S2), dem Fahrrad oder mit dem Auto von der Münchener City nach Obermenzing kommt, denkt man, man ist in einer anderen Welt gelandet. Dieser Geheimtipp in München ist eher ein Dorf und hat teilweise auch sehr traditionelle Sights. Vor allem aber ist Obermenzing ein sehr grünes, ruhiges und familienfreundliches Viertel abseits der Hektik der Stadt und nun schon seit über sieben Jahren meine neue Heimat.

Grünes Obermenzing

Besonders liebenswert ist es im größtenteils noch gut erhaltenen Dorfkern mit der St. Georg-Kirche, dem mindestens schon seit 1417 bestehenden „Alten Wirt“ mit gegenüber einer der schönsten Maibäume Oberbayerns, mit dem Restaurant „Weichandhof“ (einem uralten ehemaligen Bauernhof mit der schon 1397 genannten Mühle) und gegenüber mit dem über 300 Jahre alten, jetzt äußerlich und innen ausgebauten Zehentstadel und nicht weit entfernt das Schloss Blutenburg.

Obermenzing wird erstmals urkundlich im Jahre 1315 erwähnt. Allerdings mit der Bezeichnung „Duo Mentzing“ – also zwei Menzing, es gibt nämlich auch noch den Stadtteil Untermenzing. Hier meine fünf Lieblingsplätze für Euch in Obermenzing:

1. Geheimtipp München: Schloss Blutenburg

Als ich noch nicht in Obermenzing gewohnt habe, kannte ich die wunderschöne Blutenburg nur als Location für das alljährliche Weinfest, welches, by the way, auch sehr sehenswert ist. Dabei ist das alte Schloss viel mehr als das. Es beinhaltet eine internationale Jugendbibliothek, eine nette Schlossschänke direkt am kleinen See und dient natürlich als Hochzeitslocation und Veranstaltungsort. Hier findet auch jedes Jahr der Blutenburger Weihnachtsmarkt statt. Jetzt wohne ich nur fünf Minuten mit dem Fahrrad davon entfernt. Lucky me.

Blutenburg Obermenzing

Zur Geschichte: Erstmals urkundlich erwähnt ist Schloss Blutenburg im Jahre 1432.  Bis etwa 1430 bestand die Blutenburg aus dem sogenannten Herrenhaus und war von vier Türmen und einem Wassergraben umgeben.

Quelle: Hier geht es zur Internetseite Schloss Blutenburg mit seinen Veranstaltungen und noch mehr Infos!

2. Geheimtipp München: Biergarten Inselmühle

Mein absoluter Lieblings-Biergarten in München! Der Name verrät schon ein bisschen, dass dieser eine kleine Insel der Ruhe inmitten der Stadt ist. Umgeben von viel Grün und der Würm ist dieser einfach nur idyllisch und vor allem auch nicht überlaufen. Es gibt einen kleinen Spielplatz und natürlich zünftiges Essen. Mehr Infos findet ihr hier!

Inselmühle Obermenzing

3. Geheimtipp München: Die Würm

Die Würm ist die grüne Lebensader von Obermenzing. Sie führt wie ein Kanalsystem durch den Münchner Norden und ist insgesamt 39,5 Kilometer lang. Dieser kleine Bach entspringt am Nordostende des Starnberger Sees, der bis 1962 auch Würmsee hieß, und mündet bei Dachau in die Amper. Teile des Würmwassers gelangen aber auch in die Isar und die Moosach. Für uns Obermenzinger ist das Ufer der Würm aber einfach nur das Schönste Naherholungsgebiet für Jung und Alt.

Die Würm

Im Sommer wird auf der Wiese gespielt oder im Fluss geplanscht und im Winter die Enten gefüttert und Steine geworfen. Mit ein bisschen Glück kann man hier auch Biber entdecken. Gerade der Würmarm an der Mergenthalerstraße in Obermenzing ist ein beliebter Treffpunkt und wenn es heiß ist, lassen sich die Kids hier sogar mit ihren Bodyboards die Strömung hinunter treiben!

Surfen auf der Würm

Eine schöne Idee ist es, dass es an verschiedenen Stationen an der Würm auch QR-Codes gibt, die beim Scannen weitere Informationen liefern! Hier gibt es weitere Informationen darüber.

4. Geheimtipp München: Kapuzinerhölzl

Wer mitten in München Waldbaden möchte, kann das wunderbar hier im Kapuzinerhölzl tun. Dieser kleine Wald verbindet Obermenzing mit dem Stadtteil Nymphenburg und Moosach und führt unter anderem fast bis zum Nymphenburger Schloss! Direkt vom Wohngebiet in Obermenzing führt der Weg „Im Eichgehölz“ ins Grüne.

Ein Bächlein fließt, die Vögel zwitschern und Fahrradfahrer oder Familien mit Kids genießen die Idylle. Fährt man mit dem Bike Richtung Osten, gelangt man zur netten Wirtschaft „Die Fasanerie mit schönem Biergarten. Hält man sich wiederum Richtung Süden, passiert man eine kleine Cross-Road Strecke und landet am Ende beim Botanischen Garten des Nymphenburger Schlossparks.

5. Wirtshäuser, Shops & Landidylle

Traditionelle Wirtshäuser

Wer bayerische Hausmannskost mit Tradition und urige Wirtshaus-Stuben in München sucht, wird hier in Obermenzing auf jeden Fall fündig:

Zum Alten Wirt: Münchener Urgestein und das älteste Gasthaus auf heutigem Münchener Stadtgebiet mit urigen Stuben Drinnen und schönem Biergarten Draußen.

Zum Alten Wirt Obermenzing

Weichandhof: Die Wirte Peter Kinner und Michael F. Schottenhamel verwöhnen hier auf höchstem Niveau, mit kleinem Biergarten.

Weichandhof Obermenzing

Zum Grünen Baum: Traditionelle und internationale Küche. Treffpunkt der Obermenzinger im schönen Biergarten, auch mit Live-Musik.

Karwinskihöfe

Ein bisschen Tante Emma in Obermenzing. Drei türkisfarbene Häuser mitten im Wohngebiet bieten alles von Obst & Gemüse oder Kinderausstattung bis hin zum Deko-Geschäft, Schuhladen und Frisör!

Shoppen in Obermenzing

Hier geht es zum kleinen Ladezentrum in Obermenzing

Landidylle in Obermenzing mit Bauernhöfen & Co

Hier in Obermenzing gibt es noch echte Bauern. Dies zeigt sich an den Hühnern auf dem Feld, wo frische Eier gelegt werden oder den Hofläden an der Pippinger Straße mit Kartoffeln & Co. Im Frühjahr ist das Erdbeerfeld an der Weinschenkstraße ein echtes Highlight und neuerdings gibt es Alpakas bei der Carl-Hanser-Straße mit kleinem Hofladen. Ein Einöd inmitten der City und ein echter Geheimtipp München!

Landidylle Obermenzing

Noch mehr Landidylle bieten die alten Häuser rund um die Würm und vor allem auch die St. Georg Kirche direkt am Bach. Diese ist ein ursprünglich romanisches Sakralgebäude, dessen Anfänge auf das 9. Jahrhundert zurückgehen. Perfektes Postkartenmotiv und immer wieder ein Grund, dass ich Obermenzing als neue Heimat schätzen gelernt habe.

Heimatliebe oder was ist Heimat eigentlich?

Was ist für Euch Heimat? Für mich ist Heimat ein Ort, an dem ich mich mit meiner Familie rundum wohlfühlen kann, ich mich willkommen fühle, ein sicheres Netzwerk habe und liebe Menschen um mich herum sind. Das alles verbindet mich, zumindest momentan, mit Obermenzing. Bestimmt gibt es auch immer eine besondere Lebensphase für jeden Ort, den man mit Heimatliebe verbindet.

Heimatliebe

Gerade mit kleinen Kindern ist das grüne Obermenzing, als echter Geheimtipp München, nicht nur zum Leben, sondern auch als Auszeit von der City optimal. Gepaart mit ein bisschen Landidylle, guten Restaurants und kleinen Veranstaltungen ist dies der perfekte Ort, um München mal von einer anderen Seite zu entdecken.

Habt ihr einen Geheimtipp München? Was ist für Euch Heimatliebe? Schreibt mir gerne einen Kommentar!

Dieser Artikel enthält unbezahlte Werbung!

Es folgt ein Affiliate-Link (mit dem ich ein bisschen Geld verdiene;)

 

Teilen auf

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.