Portugal, Europe, spring
Leave a Comment

Algarve highlights - my 8 FAVORITE SPOTS in the Western Algarve

algarve_highlights

Do you fancy sun, wind and waves, beach and sea and delicious food? Then the West Algarve in Portugal is the right place for you! Here you can find my Algarve highlights:

WWe spent a week in April on this beautiful coastal region and had windy and varied weather, but beautiful landscapes! Here are my highlights for the Algarve west of Faro:

Praia do Castelejo

Praia do Castelejo

The most chilled beach on the west coast! Who wants to watch cool surfers surfing or wants to do a surf course himself, is exactly right here. The scenery is wild and original, the beach is beautiful! There are two parking spaces and a simple restaurant. If you want you can make a nice hike through the hinterland through green hills and fragrant pine forests, The trail starts right at the intersection before turning off to Praia do Castelejo.

Restaurant Ribeira do Poco in Vila do Bispo

Ribeira do Poco

Totally inconspicuous on the main street of the small village Vila do Bispo is this nice little restaurant. We discovered it by chance only by accident, as it was mega-full. A good mix of locals and tourists. A lucky hit, so to speak! There are cozy tables both indoors and out and the service is really good! Not to mention the food. We had avocado vinagrette, lasagna and tuna - a dream! It has not been expensive, we have paid with drinks for the 50 €.

Click here for the website of Ribeira do Poco

The streets of Lagos

Lagos

Lagos is in the western Algarve the city par excellence! At first glance, especially on the main road, I find Lagos rather ugly and the larger tourist marketplaces with souvenir shops and carousels are also rather daunting. But if one then strolls further and further into the alley labyrinth, the city reveals its charm with its many sweet shops, restaurants and cafes! Here you meet locals and tourists alike! The long city beach Meia Praia is only accessible on foot and therefore not so crowded. Also many, more beautiful beaches, like the Praia Dona Ana are not far ...

The lagoon of Alvor

Lagoon of Alvor

No insider tip but not less beautiful. Everyone comes here, whether by bike, jogging or as a family outing! No wonder, you can swim in the shallow lagoon, throw yourself into the waves of the Atlantic Ocean, lie on the beach or just take a nice walk on the beautifully landscaped boardwalks overlooking the wonderful landscape! And if you need a little break at the end, you can "Restinga“Take a break.

Cabo Sao Vicente

Cabo Sao Vicente

The westernmost point of Europe! Alone for that reason a must. The landscape with its steep cliffs is beautiful! If you are early, you are almost alone here. After 10 a.m. it gets rather uncomfortable and several tourist buses arrive. Only then will the small market stalls and stalls open in front of the lighthouse. And of course "the last bratwurst before America" ​​...

The beach of Salema

Salema beach

Here I just like the mood extremely well, everything is small and contemplative. The village Salema looks very sleepy and the sea at this bay is turquoise blue and surprisingly quiet, perfect for swimming with children!

Hike at Carvoeiro

Praia da Marinha

The hike starts at the parking lot above the bay of Praia da Marinha and get better at Carvoeiro. From there, following the signs, you walk up and down the rocky landscape with spectacular views of the open sea and rock caves! It takes about 1 hour until after Benagilif you go completely comfortable. Also possible with children! In the destination there are a few restaurants and a nice beach with thunderous surf! Back then it goes back the same way ...

Restaurant Endless Summer in Luz

Endless Summer in Luz

Here you can enjoy a cocktail with a sea view or one of the delicious fruit smoothies! There is also delicious food, from salad to pizza and burgers almost everything is there. The prices are very humane and in a tourist destination like Light and Shade It is by far the nicest restaurant with a relaxed atmosphere. The staff was always very friendly and fond of children !!

Click here for the Facebook page of Endless Summmer

Have you ever been to the western Algarve? What are your highlights here - only here with it! Maybe you are also interested in mine Travel report with kids in the Algarve!

This is followed by an affiliate link (with which I earn a bit of money;)

This article contains unpaid advertising!

Split up

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

LIEBLINGSSPOTs welt, Portugal
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Meine 8 LIEBLINGSSPOTS an der westlichen Algarve 

Portugal Urlaub meine Lieblingsorte an der westlichen Algarve

Lust auf Sonne, Wind, Wellen, Strand, Meer, Felsen und leckeres Essen? Dann seid ihr an der West-Algarve in Portugal genau richtig! Hier findet ihr meine Highlights in der Region:

1. Praia do Castelejo

Praia do Castelejo

Der gechillteste Strand an der Westküste! Wer coolen Surferboys beim Wellenreiten zusehen möchte oder selber einen Surfkurs machen will, ist hier genau richtig. Die Landschaft ist wild und ursprünglich, der Strand wunderschön! Es gibt zwei Parkplätze und ein einfaches Restaurant. Wer will kann in der Nähe eine schöne Wanderung durch das Hinterland machen durch grüne Hügel und duftende Pinienwälder. Der Weg beginnt gleich an der Kreuzung bevor es zur Praia do Castelejo abzweigt.

2. Restaurant Ribeira do Poco in Vila do Bispo

Ribeira do Poco

Total unscheinbar an der Hauptstraße des kleinen Örtchens Vila do Bispo liegt dieses nette, kleine Restaurant. Wir haben es bei der Durchfahrt nur durch Zufall entdeckt, da es mega-voll war. Eine gute Mischung aus Einheimischen und Touristen. Sozusagen ein Glückstreffer! Es gibt sowohl drinnen als auch draußen gemütliche Tische und der Service ist wirklich gut! Vom Essen ganz zu schweigen. Wir hatten Avocado Vinagrette, Lasagne und Thunfisch – ein Traum! Teuer ist es auch nicht gewesen, wir haben mit Getränken um die 50€ gezahlt.

Hier geht’s zur Internetseite des Ribeira do Poco

3. Die Gassen von Lagos

Lagos

Lagos ist ja an der westlichen Algarve DIE Stadt schlechthin! Auf den ersten Blick, vorallem an der Hauptverkehrsstraße, finde ich Lagos eher häßlich und die größeren Touristen-Marktplätze mit Souvenirshops und Karussell sind auch eher abschreckend. Schlendert man dann aber immer weiter in das Gassenlabyrinth hinein, offenbart die Stadt mit vielen süßen Läden, Restaurants und Cafés ihren Charme! Hier trifft man Einheimische und Touristen gleichermaßen! Der lange Stadtstrand Meia Praia ist nur zu Fuß erreichbar und daher nicht so überfüllt. Auch viele, weitere schöne Strände, wie die Praia Dona Ana sind nicht weit…

4. Die Lagune von Alvor

Lagune von Alvor

Kein Geheimtipp aber deswegen nicht weniger schön. Hier kommt jeder her, ob mit dem Fahrrad, zum Joggen oder als Familienausflug! Kein Wunder, man kann in der flachen Lagune Baden, sich in die Wellen des Atlantiks werfen, am Strand liegen oder einfach nur auf den toll angelegten Holzstegen einen schönen Spaziergang machen mit Blick über die wundervolle Landschaft! Und wer am Ende eine kleine Pause braucht, kann im netten Strandrestaurant „Restinga“ eine Pause einlegen.

5. Cabo Sao Vicente

Cabo Sao Vicente

Der westlichste Punkt Europas! Allein deswegen schon ein Muss. Die Landschaft mit seinen steilen Felsklippen ist wunderschön! Wenn man früh dran ist, ist man auch fast alleine hier. Nach 10uhr wird es eher ungemütlich und mehrere Touristenbusse kommen angekarrt. Auch dann erst eröffnen die kleinen Marktstände und Buden vor dem Leuchtturm.

6. Der Strand von Salema

Strand von Salema

Hier gefällt mir einfach die Stimmung extrem gut, alles ist klein und beschaulich. Das Örtchen Salema wirkt ganz verschlafen und das Meer an dieser Bucht ist türkisblau und überraschend ruhig, perfekt zum Baden mit Kindern!

7. Wanderung bei Carvoeiro

Praia da Marinha

Die Wanderung startet am Parkplatz oberhalb der Bucht von Praia da Marinha bei Carvoeiro. Von dort wandert man immer der Kennzeichnung folgend die Felslandschaft auf und ab mit spaktakulären Ausblicken auf das offene Meer und in Felshöhlen! Man braucht ca. 1 Stunde bis nach Benagil, wenn man ganz gemütlich geht. Auch mit Kindern machbar! Im Zielort gibt es ein paar Restaurants und einen netten Strand mit tosender Brandung! Zurück geht es dann wieder den gleichen Weg…

8. Restaurant Endless Summer in Luz

Endless Summer in Luz

Hier lässt es sich entspannt mit Meerblick einen Cocktail genießen oder einen der leckeren Fruit-Smoothies! Lecker Essen gibt es auch, von Salat bis Pizza und Burger ist fast alles dabei. Die Preise sind sehr human und in einem Touriort wie Luz ist es das mit Abstand netteste Restaurant mit relaxter Atmosphäre. Das Personal war immer ausgesprochen freundlich und kinderlieb!!

Hier geht’s zur Facebook-Seite des Endless Summmer

Dieser Artikel enthält unbezahlte Werbung!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.