Travel reports, Africa, Autumn, Morocco, Marrakech
Comments 2

Morocco travel report - souks, surf & soul!

The exciting markets in Marrakech from 1001 nights, the flowing surf at the artist city Essaouira and last but not least just let your mind wander - you can find all of this in my Morocco travel report in autumn:

This article has been updated for you, the original article was created in October 2017

My Morocco travel report at a glance:

Travel time: 01.10.2017 to 07.10.2017

Air conditioning: in Marrakech it had over 30 degrees during the day, at night around the 20. In Essaouira it was about 20-25 degrees during the day, a bit cool with 15-18 degrees in the evening.

Getting there: Flight with Royal Air Maroc directly from Munich to Marrakech including luggage for 150 € per person

Getting Around: you can Supratours from Marrakech in about 3 hours to Essaouira for about 10 € per person. Back then by taxi for about 50 €

Get Away: Flight with Transavia only with hand luggage from Marrakech directly to Munich for about 100 € per person

Accommodation: Marrakech in the Riad Signature *, Essaouira im Riad Benatar *

Currency: Moroccan dirham

Exchange rate: 10 DH ~ 0,90 €

1. Morocco travel report: SOUKS in Marrakech

MIt's a bit late and we land at about 20 local time in Marrakech at night. The flight was unusually luxurious compared to all the cheap airlines with drinks and good food for free! At the airport we are picked up by the hotel for a fee of 20 €After all, it's a holiday after all.

Courtyard at Riad Signature

Courtyard at Riad Signature

Our riad is located in a narrow alley in the medina of Marrakech, from the outside completely unimpressive. But behind the beautiful wooden door hides a small oasis of peace and exoticism. The Riad Signature is definitely my FAVORITE SPOT in Marrakech!

François, the very friendly owner of the riad, shows us the room and tells us exactly how to get to the place Djemaa El Fna, Marrakech's most famous juggler's square. We feel very well received and safe with his explanations, he even accompanies us into the medina.

Morocco travelogue: Place Djamee El Fna at night

The Place Djamee El Fna at night

Despite a late hour, we plunge directly into the fray. Here it is loud and hot and bustling and at first we are a bit overwhelmed. We finally sit down at a small food stall with soup for 3 DH and sweets and arrive so slowly in this beautiful, strange world ...

The next morning we dive into the wonderful world of souks

In the souks of Marrakech

In the souks of Marrakech

We have no goal and just let us drive. At the beginning a bit uncertain, but after a while you feel really comfortable here. We act, we haggle, we look, we marvel! From bags, jewelry, clothes to fruits, meat and animals, there's nothing here that does not exist. It's really like in another world.

The landmark Koutoubia

The landmark Koutoubia

After more than an hour in the lane Labarynth we come back (mind you without even looking at the map) only after feeling back on Djemaa El Fna Of course we want to see the landmark of the city, the Koutoubia, also from closer look and walk to the main street, which is a kind of border between Old and New Town. In front of that, pretty carriages romp about with their horses.

Snake charmer on Place Djemaa El Fna

Snake charmer on Place Djemaa El Fna

On the way back, I would like to see a snake charmer and we are already in the tourist trap. As soon as you are aware of it, you have a snake around your neck and of course take very excited photos. Only then does it become clear that this costs a lot of "baksheesh". No matter, once in a lifetime!

We leave this exciting day with a fresh mint tea on the terrace of the Café Kasbah Reminisce. On the way back to the riad there are snacks from the stand to the hand for about 20 DH. After a bit of relaxation on the roof terrace of our riad in the afternoon, we go back to the souks in the evening and then to dinner near the riad for a total of about 150 DH. Wow, what a city!

2. Morocco travel report: SURF in Essaouira

Essaouira

View from the harbor on Essaouira

The next morning the taxi takes us from the riad to the bus station for about 30 DH Supratours, Fortunately, we have already been able to reserve the tickets for each 80 DH through the hotel. Everything works like clockwork and we start punctually at 10.45 with the air-conditioned bus to Essaouira.

Approximately 3 hours later (with break), we arrive at the gates of the medina Essouiras. At first we are a bit skeptical: there are low clouds hanging over the cityIt is at least 10 degrees cooler than in Marrakech and the buildings all exude a somewhat morbid charm ...

Rooftop terrace in Riad Benatar

Rooftop terrace in Riad Benatar

Somehow we find ours on demand Riad Benatar. Nice, but not as detailed as the Riad Signature in Marrakech. Nevertheless, with a beautiful roof terrace, friendly service and a very central location!

Once we drink a mint tea on the terrace overlooking the sea and acclimatize us so slowly. Essaouira is different - European, more relaxed with humid sea air and friendly people - an incomparable mix!

We venture into a new adventure

First to the harbor past sweet, small fish restaurants and then further along the wall with numerous art dealers.

Beautiful shops at the harbor

Beautiful shops at the harbor

It is fun to stroll through the small streets and At the end we land again in the Souks with all sorts of gimmicks. We eat something and slowly go back to our riad.

After a short break, we go in the recommended Restaurant Scirocco Evening food - my FAVORITE SPOT in Essaouira! The ambience is discreetly African in a beautiful vault. A wonderful end to this eventful day.

Surf course in Essaouira

Surf course in Essaouira

And then we would be finally on the subject of SURF: after breakfast we will be from Zac picked up our surf instructor at the hotel. He is Moroccan from Essaouira and really nice! With two other German surfing students we drive to the city beach of Essaouira, perfect for surfing.

A dream comes true for me!

After a short briefing from Zac, I "ride" my first wave and have discovered my new passion!

I never thought that it would be so easy anyway ... However, after about 2 hours, I realize how incredibly exhausting surfing and fighting the waves is and I need a break. Everything hurts, I'm all ready and despite wetsuit completely frozen through.

Surfing in Essaouira

Surfing in Essaouira

After a short lunch break, I try my luck again and catch the odd wave, but I just realize that I lack the strength. Tomorrow is also a day! With aching limbs it goes back to the riadwhere I take a quick shower and then totally knocked to bed.

In the evening we stroll through the beautiful streets again and do some bargains before we go to the harbor in one of the fish restaurants. There are delicious sea bream with side dishes for slack 180 DH for both of us!

Art in Essaouira

Art in Essaouira

After that we want the city-known Taros Try out with its winding rooftop terrace and live music. Unfortunately, as always since we are here, it is foggy, so we hardly see anything. But on the last evening the weather is perfect and we enjoy the atmosphere and the cool live band with a few “Casablanca” beers!

3. Morocco travel report: SOUL without kids

Delicious Moroccan tagine

Delicious Moroccan tagine

On the last two days the weather is fantastic and we stroll along the beach or sit on our roof terrace and do nothing at all, pure luxury!

In the evening we go shopping for souvenirs at home and just enjoy the togetherness without kids. We stroll, go eat delicious, typical Moroccan with couscous and tajine for about 150 DH. Let us drift. On the last day we treat ourselves to a partner massage in traditional Hammam Azure.

Riding on the beach of Essaouira

Riding on the beach of Essaouira

During the day I book a horse ride Equivasion on the beach of Essaouira and gallop along the beach and feel infinitely free, Balm for the soul and for the otherwise stressed mom.

One last great evening of food with fresh fish at the harbor and slowly we are heading home back to our children ... On the day of departure our taxi picks us up at noon and drives us back to Marrakech in about 3 hours directly to the airport for about 50 €.

Fresh fish at the harbor

Fresh fish at the harbor

Despite the beauty, the diversity and the incredibly friendly people here, one must not forget that Morocco is a poor country. Especially in the streets of Marrakech and Essaouira there are many beggars, sometimes childrenwhich always tears my heart.

We were only in the tourist resorts, the "real" life so we have not experienced. For me, Morocco lies between the past and the modern and is incredibly fascinating ...

Have you ever been to Morocco and wrote a Morocco travelogue?

This article contains unpaid advertising!

* Affiliate link (with which I earn a bit of money;)

Morocco

With this Morocco travel report I am happy to take part in the blog parade by wandernd.de on the topic of "The most beautiful trips without children"!

Thank you, dear Ilona, ​​for being here 🙂

Split up

2 comments

  1. Nice post. If you want to take part in my blog parade, you are welcome to do so. Then please read the info again with me and link the blog parade. Thank you

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Reiseberichte, Travels
Kommentare 2

Souks, Surf & Soul in Marokko

Die aufregenden Märkte in Marrakech aus 1001 Nacht, die wallende Brandung an der Künstlerstadt Essaouira und nicht zuletzt einfach mal die Seele baumeln lassen!Auf einen Blick:

Reisezeit: 01.10.2017 bis 07.10.2017
Klima: in Marrakech hatte es untertags über 30 Grad, nachts um die 20. In Essaouira war es tagsüber ca. 20-25 Grad, abends etwas kühl mit 15-18 Grad.
Hinkommen: Flug mit Royal Air Maroc direkt von München nach Marrakech inkl. Gepäckstück für 150€ pro Person
Rumkommen: mit Supratours von Marrakech in ca. 3 Stunden nach Essaouira für ca. 10€ pro Person. Zurück dann mit dem Taxi für ca. 50€
Wegkommen: Flug mit Transavia nur mit Handgepäck von Marrakech direkt nach München für ca. 100€ pro Person
Unterkunft: Marrakech im Riad Signature, Essaouira im Riad Benatar
Währung: Marokkanischer Dirham
Wechselkurs: 10 DH ~ 0,90€

SOUKS in Marrakech

Mit ein bisschen Verspätung landen wir abends um ca. 20 Uhr Ortszeit in Marrakech. Der Flug war ungewohnt luxuriös im Vergleich zu den ganzen Billigairlines mit Getränken und gutem Essen for free!

Innenhof im Riad Signature

Innenhof im Riad Signature

Am Airport werden wir vom Hotel gegen eine Gebühr von 20€ abgeholt, es ist ja schließlich Urlaub.
Unser Riad befindet sich in einer schmalen Gasse in der Medina von Marrakech, von außen völlig unscheinbar. Doch hinter der schönen Holztür verbirgt sich eine kleine Oase der Ruhe und Exotik. Das Riad Signature ist definitiv mein LIEBLINGSSPOT in Marrakech!

François, der sehr freundliche Besitzer des Riads, zeigt und das Zimmer und erklärt uns genau den Weg zum Place Djemaa El Fna, Marrakech’s bekanntestem Gauklerplatz. Wir fühlen uns total gut aufgenommen und sicher mit seinen Erklärungen, er begleitet uns sogar in die Medina.

Der Place Djamee El Fna bei Nacht

Der Place Djamee El Fna bei Nacht

Wir stürzen uns trotz schon später Stunde direkt ins Getümmel. Hier ist es laut und heiß und wuselig und im ersten Moment sind wir etwas überfordert. Wir setzen und letztendlich an eine kleine Garküche mit Suppe für 3 DH und Süßkram und kommen so langsam an in dieser schönen, fremden Welt…

Am nächsten morgen, nach einem ausgiebigen Frühstück im Riad, tauchen wir ein in die wunderbare Welt der Souks.

In den Souks von Marrakech

In den Souks von Marrakech

Wir haben kein Ziel und lassen uns einfach nur Treiben. Am Anfang erst noch ein bisschen unsicher, aber nach einer Weile fühlt man sich hier richtig wohl. Wir handeln, wir feilschen, wir gucken, wir staunen! Von Taschen, Schmuck, Kleidern bis hin zu Früchten, Fleisch und Tieren gibt es hier nichts, was es nicht gibt. Es ist wirklich wie in einer anderen Welt.

Das Wahrzeichen Koutoubia

Das Wahrzeichen Koutoubia

Nach über einer Stunde im Gassen-Labarynth kommen wir wieder (wohlgemerkt ohne einmal auf die Karte geschaut zu haben) nur nach Gefühl wieder am Djemaa El Fna an. Natürlich wollen wir uns das Wahrzeichen der Stadt, die Koutoubia, auch mal von näher ansehen und laufen bis zur Hauptstraße, die eine Art Grenze zwischen Alt- und Neustadt darstellt. Davor tummeln sich ettliche Kutschen mit ihren Pferden.

Schlangenbeschwörer am Place Djemaa El Fna

Schlangenbeschwörer am Place Djemaa El Fna

Auf dem Weg zurück, möchte ich unbedingt mal einen Schlangenbeschwörer sehen und schon sind wir in die Touristenfalle getappt. Kaum, dass man sich versieht, hat man eine Schlange um den Hals und macht natürlich ganz aufgeregt Fotos. Danach erst wird einem klar, dass das viel „Bakschisch“ kostet. Egal, once in a lifetime!

Diesen aufregenden Tag lassen wir bei einem frischen Minztee auf der Terrasse des Café Kasbah Revue passieren. Auf dem Weg zurück zum Riad gibt es Snacks vom Stand auf die Hand für ca. 20 DH. Nach ein bisschen Entspannung auf der Dachterrasse unseres Riads am Nachmittag, geht es abends noch einmal kurz durch die Souks und anschließend zum Abendessen in der Nähe des Riads für insgesamt ca. 150 DH.

Wow, was für eine Stadt!

SURF in Essaouira

Essaouira

Blick vom Hafen auf Essaouira

Am nächsten morgen bringt uns das Taxi für ca. 30 DH vom Riad zum Busbahnhof von Supratours. Die Tickets für je 80 DH haben wir zum Glück vorher schon über das Hotel reservieren können. Alles klappt wie am Schnürchen und wir starten pünktlich um 10.45Uhr mit dem klimatisierten Bus nach Essaouira.

Ca. 3 Stunden später (mit Pause), kommen wir vor den Toren der Medina Essouiras an. Im ersten Moment sind wir etwas skeptisch: es hängen tiefe Wolken über der Stadt, es ist mindestens 10 Grad kühler als in Marrakech und die Gebäude strahlen alle einen etwas morbiden Charme aus…

Dachterrasse im Riad Benatar

Dachterrasse im Riad Benatar

Irgendwie finden wir dann auf Nachfrage unser Riad Benatar. Nett, aber nicht so detailverliebt wie das Riad Signature in Marrakech. Dennoch mit schöner Dachterrasse, freundlichem Service und sehr zentraler Lage!

Wir trinken erst einmal einen Minztee auf der Terrasse mit Blick auf das Meer und akklimatisieren uns so langsam. Essaouira ist anders – europäischer, entspannter mit feuchter Meerluft und freundlichen Menschen – ein unvergleichlicher Mix!

Wir wagen uns ins neue Abenteuer, erst zum Hafen vorbei an süßen, kleinen Fischrestaurants und dann weiter an der Mauer entlang mit zahlreichen Kunsthändlern.

Wunderschöne Läden am Hafen

Wunderschöne Läden am Hafen

Es macht Spaß hier durch die kleinen Gassen zu schlendern und am Ende landen wir wieder in den Souks mit allerlei dargebotenem Krimskrams. Wir essen etwas auf die Hand und gehen langsam wieder zurück zu unserem Riad.

Nach einer kurzen Verschnaufpause gehen wir im uns empfohlenen Restaurant Scirocco Abend Essen – mein LIEBLINGSSPOT in Essaouira! Das Ambiente ist dezent afrikanisch in einem schönen Gewölbe. Ein wunderbarer Abschluss dieses ereignisreichen Tages.

Surfkurs in Essaouira

Surfkurs in Essaouira

Und dann wären wir auch endlich beim Thema SURF: nach dem Frühstück werden wir von Zac unserem Surflehrer in Hotel abgeholt. Er ist Marokkaner aus Essaouira und wirklich nett! Mit zwei anderen deutschen Surfschülern fahren wir mit dem Auto zum Stadtstrand von Essaouira, perfekt zum Surfen lernen.

Und was soll ich sagen! Ein Traum geht für mich in Erfüllung als ich nach einer kurzen Einweisung von Zac meine erste Welle „reite“!

Ich hätte nie gedacht, dass das doch irgendwie so einfach ist… Allerdings merke ich dann nach ca. 2 Stunden, wie wahnsinnig anstrengend das Surfen und gegen die Wellen ankämpfen ist und ich eine Pause brauche. Mir tut alles weh, ich bin fix und fertig und trotz Wetsuit komplett durchgefroren.

Wellenreiten in Essaouira

Wellenreiten in Essaouira

Nach einem kurzen Lunch-Break versuche ich noch einmal mein Glück und erwische auch die ein oder andere Welle, aber ich merke einfach, dass mir die Kraft fehlt. Morgen ist auch noch ein Tag!
Mit schmerzenden Gliedern geht es zurück zum Riad, wo ich kurz dusche und dann erstmal total k.o. ins Bett falle.

Am Abend schlendern wir wieder durch die schönen Gassen und machen das eine oder andere Schnäppchen bevor wir am Hafen in einem der Fischrestaurants essen gehen. Es gibt lecker Seebrasse mit Beilagen für schlappe 180 DH für uns beide!

Kunst in Essaouira

Kunst in Essaouira

Danach wollen wir mal das stadtbekannte Taros ausprobieren mit seiner verwinkelten Dachterrasse und Live-Musik. Leider ist es, wie immer seit wir hier sind, nebelig, so dass wir kaum etwas sehen. Aber am letzen Abend ist das Wetter dann perfekt und wir genießen bei ein paar „Casablanca“-Bieren die Atmosphäre und die coole live Band!

SOUL in Marokko

Leckere marokkanische Tajine

Leckere marokkanische Tajine

An den letzen beiden Tagen ist das Wetter traumhaft und wir schlendern am Strand entlang oder sitzen auf unserer Dachterrasse und tuen einfach gar nichts, Luxus pur!

Abends gehen wir Souvenirs für zu Hause shoppen und genießen einfach die Zweisamkeit ohne Kids. Wir schlendern, gehen lecker essen, typisch marokkanisch mit Couscous und Tajine für ca. 150 DH. Lassen uns treiben. Am letzten Tag gönnen wir uns eine Partnermassage im traditionellen Hammam Azur.

Reiten am Strand von Essaouira

Reiten am Strand von Essaouira

Untertags buche ich einen Pferdeausritt mit Equivasion am Strand von Essaouira und galoppiere am Beach entlang und fühle mich unendlich frei. Balsam für die Seele und für die sonst gestresste Mama.

Ein letztes großartiges Abend Essen mit frischem Fisch am Hafen und so langsam zieht es uns Richtung Heimat zurück zu unseren Kindern… Am Abreisetag holt uns gegen Mittag unser Taxi ab und fährt uns in ca. 3 Stunden zurück nach Marrakech direkt zum Airport für ca. 50€.

Frischer Fisch am Hafen

Frischer Fisch am Hafen

Trotz der Schönheit, der Vielfältigkeit und der unglaublich freundlichen Menschen hier, darf man nicht vergessen, dass Marokko ein armes Land ist. Gerade in den Gassen von Marrakech und Essaouira gibt es viele Bettler, mitunter auch Kinder, was mir immer das Herz zerreißt.

Wir waren lediglich in den Touristenorten unterwegs, das „echte“ Leben haben wir also gar nicht miterlebt. Marokko liegt für mich zwischen Vergangenheit und Moderne und ist unfassbar faszinierend…

Pin me:

Travel Guide Marrakech und Essaouira. Souks, Surfen und Soul in Marokko

Gerne nehme ich mit diesem Artikel an der Blogparade von wandernd.de zum Thema „Die schönsten Reisen ohne Kinder“ teil!

Danke, liebe Ilona, dass ich dabei sein darf 🙂

2 Kommentare

  1. Schöner Beitrag. Wenn du damit an meiner Blogparade teilnehmen möchtest, kannst du das gerne tun. Lies dann bitte noch mal die Infos bei mir durch und verlinke die Blogparade. Danke

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.