Austria, Europe, Family, spring, Travels
Leave a Comment

Austria with children: 3 cool altivities in Imst!

Austria with children

Whether adventurous gorge hike, exciting Jägersteig or a fast descent on the longest Alpine toboggan run in the world! Imst near Innsbruck has a lot to offer for big and small kids. So a holiday in Austria with children definitely fun:

1. Hike through the Rosengarten Gorge:

Duration: approx. 1-1,5h (1,5 km) one-way
Difficulty: medium, sure-footedness required
Starting point: Jonakparkplatz in Imst

Rose garden gorge Imst with children

Whe knows and loves the Partnach-Klamm in Garmisch, will not be disappointed here either. The best parking is on the visitor parking "Jonakparkplatz" in Imst and follow the signs to "Rosengartenschlucht". It's just a bit through the city until you then after about 10 minutes the Schinderbach river, so cross the gorge and the show starts!

Rosengarten Gorge in Imst in Austria with children

Of course you are not alone here, but it is actually distributed quite well. It goes steadily uphill always terrific crossings and views over the rushing brook! Half way it goes steeply uphill via steps a bit away from the river and partly through rocky outcrops. Very exciting for the kids! That was not a problem for our 5 year-old. We had our 2-year-old daughter in Kraxe.

Rocky ledges in the Rosengartenschlucht in Imst with childrenShortly before the end, it goes into the gorge again, through caves and over the riverbefore going up the last stretch through the forest Hoch-Imst walk. There is then also the valley station of the Imster mountain railwaywith restaurants and various attractions for kids including trampoline, quad bike, electric trial and playground. Back to the car park we take two stops by bus: The timetable can be found here.

Further information about the Rosengarten Gorge in Imst

2. Hike to the Latschenhütte on 1.600m:

Duration: about 1h back and forth
Difficulty level: easy
Starting point: Untermarkter Alm
Cost of Imster lifts: eg 13,90 per adult mountain + valley

Hike to the Latschenhütte in Imst with children

DThis really easy hike starts in our case with the lift ride from Hoch-Imst to the middle station Untermarkter Alm. Alone the gondola ride is a real experience: The open two-seater sneaks comfortably for about 15 minutes through the breathtaking mountains. Once there then starts the Alpine Coaster, But more on that later.

Jägersteig in Imst with children

We ignore the playground and the bouncy castle and start on the wide forest road. After about 10 minutes comes a small fork - and what can I say: all roads lead to the Latschenhütte!

Through rocks in Imst with children

We decide to make a small round trip and start on the left side of the river with the so-called Jägersteig, This narrow path leads steadily uphill, but not steep through a green forest with rocks and stairs, The goats on the wayside point out this special section especially for families!

Hike to the LatschenhütteAs soon as you are out of the grove, you just have to cross the river for a short while and you can already see the quaint one a few hundred meters further on Latschenhütte with a view over the mountains. Over there Austrian home cooking at humane prices.

Latschenhütte with children in ImstBuy Way back we walk back on the other side of the river, again on a wide forest road and alpine meadows with great Panoramic view over the Alps! After about 20 minutes you reach the fork again from the beginning and this time crosses the bridge and runs back to the middle station.

Tip: If this hike is too short, you can alternatively hike from the valley station up to the middle station or, at the end, walk down to the very bottom. Duration then, however, about 1h longer each way.

Further information about the Latschenhütte in Imst

3. Alpine Coaster - the longest Alpine roller coaster in the world

Length: about 3,5 km
Costs: eg 1 ride with lift 12,80 per adult
Starting point: middle station of the Imster cable cars

Alpine Coaster in Imst with children

AThe middle station is the notorious Alpine Coaster aka the longest summer toboggan run in the world! Exactly 3.535 meters long, this really unique Rollercoaster meanders through the Alps, sometimes curvy, sometimes through forest and meadow, always with a view! Even our 5-year-old son wanted to run faster and faster and drive again. Unfortunately, I did not ride with my 2-year-old daughter because the departure is only allowed with 3 years.Alpine Coaster Start in Imst in Austria with children

Alone because of this Alpine Coaster I would come again to Hoch-Imst. Really fun for the whole family! Once at the bottom, there are various fun activities for the kids and restaurants waiting for the guests and everyone is happy!

Tip: The toboggan run can even be ridden in winter or in the rain!

Further information on the Alpine Coaster in Imst

Have you ever been in Austria with children? What are your tips?

This article about my stay at the Wellness-Chalet in Austria might be of interest to you!

This article contains unpaid advertising!

This is followed by an affiliate link (with which I earn a bit of money;)

Split up

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

LIEBLINGSSPOTs welt, Österreich
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Österreich mit Kindern: 3 coole Altivitäten in Imst

3 coole Aktivitäten mit Kindern in Imst

Egal ob abenteuerliche Klammwanderung, spannender Jägersteig oder eine rasante Abfahrt auf der längsten Alpen-Rodelbahn der Welt! Imst bei Innsbruck hat so Einiges für große und kleine Kinder zu bieten.

1. Wanderung durch die Rosengartenschlucht:

Dauer: ca. 1-1,5h (1,5 km) one-way
Schwierigkeitsgrad: mittel, Trittsicherheit erforderlich
Ausgangspunkt: Jonakparkplatz in Imst

Rosengartenschlucht Imst mit Kindern

Wer die Partnach-Klamm in Garmisch kennt und liebt, wird auch hier nicht enttäuscht werden. Am besten parkt man auf dem Besucherparkpkatz „Jonakparkplatz“ in Imst und folgt von dort der Beschilderung zur „Rosengartenschlucht“. Es geht erst kurz ein bisschen durch die Stadt bis man dann nach ca. 10 Minuten den Schinderbach, also die Klamm überquert und schon geht das Spektakel los!

Rosengartenschlucht in Imst in Österreich mit Kindern

Natürlich ist man hier nicht alleine unterwegs, aber es verteilt sich eigentlich ganz gut. Es geht stetig bergauf mit immer wieder grandiosen Überquerungen und Ausblicken über den rauschenden Bach! Auf halbem Weg geht es dann über Treppenstufen steil bergauf etwas weg vom Fluss und teilweise auch unter Felsvorsprüngen hindurchdurch. Sehr spannend für die Kinder! Für unseren 5jährigen war das überhaupt kein Problem. Unsere 2jährige Tochter hatten wir in der Kraxe.

Felsvorsprünge in der Rosengartenschlucht in Imst mit KindernKurz vor Ende geht es noch einmal in die Schlucht hinein, durch Höhlen und über den Fluss, bevor man dann weit oben das letzte Stück durch den Wald nach Hoch-Imst spaziert. Dort befindet sich dann auch die Talstation der Imster Bergbahnmit Restaurants und diversen Attraktionen für Kids u.a. Trampolin, Quad-Bahn, Elektro-Trial und Spielplatz. Zurück zum Parkplatz fahren wir mit dem Bus zwei Stationen: Den Fahrplan findest du hier.

Weitere Informationen zur Rosengartenschlucht in Imst

2. Wanderung zur Latschenhütte auf 1.600m:

Dauer: ca. 1h hin- und zurück
Schwierigkeitsgrad: leicht
Ausgangspunkt: Untermarkter Alm
Kosten Imster-Bergbahnen: z.B. 13,90 pro Erwachsener Berg+Tal

Wanderung zur Latschenhütte in Imst mit Kindern

Diese wirklich einfache Wanderung startet in unserem Fall mit der Liftfahrt von Hoch-Imst zur Mittelstation Untermarkter Alm. Schon allein die Gondelfahrt ist ein echtes Erlebnis: der offene Zweisitzer schleicht ca. 15 Minuten gemütlich durch die atemberaubende Bergwelt. Dort angekommen startet dann auch der Alpine Coaster. Aber dazu später mehr.

Jägersteig in Imst mit Kindern

Wir ignorieren erst einmal den Spielplatz und die Hüpfburg und machen uns auf dem breiten Forstweg auf. Nach ca. 10 Minuten kommt eine kleine Gabelung – und was soll ich sagen: alle Wege führen zur Latschenhütte!

Durch Felsen in Imst mit Kindern

Wir beschließen eine kleine Rundtour zu machen und starten auf der linken Seite des Flusses mit dem sogenannten Jägersteig. Dieser schmale Weg führt stetig bergauf, aber nicht steil durch einen grünen Wald mit Felsen und Treppen. Die Ziegenböcke am Wegesrand weisen auf diesen besonderen Abschnitt extra für Familien darauf hin! Kaum ist man dann aus dem Wäldchen draußen, muss man nur noch kurz den Fluss überqueren und sieht auch schon ein paar hundert Meter weiter die urige Latschenhütte mit Blick über die Bergwelt. Dort gibt es Österreichische Hausmannskost zu humanen Preisen.

Latschenhütte mit Kindern in Imst

Den Rückweg laufen wir auf der anderen Seite des Flusses zurück, wieder auf einem breiten Forstweg und Almwiesen mit tollem Panoramablick über die Alpen! Nach ca. 20 Minuten erreicht man die Weggabelung vom Anfang erneut und überquert diesmal die Brücke und läuft zurück zur Mittelstation.

Tipp: Wem diese Wanderung zu kurz ist, der kann alternativ auch von der Talstation nach oben zur Mittelstation wandern oder umgekehrt am Ende ganz nach unten spazieren. Dauer dann allerdings ca. 1h länger pro Weg.

Weitere Informationen zur Latschenhütte in Imst

3. Alpine Coaster – die längste Alpen-Achterbahn der Welt

Länge: ca. 3,5 km
Kosten: z.B. 1 Fahrt mit Lift 12,80 pro Erwachsener
Ausgangspunkt: Mittelstation der Imster-Bergbahnen

Alpine Coaster in Imst mit Kindern

An der Mittelstation ist dann also der berühmt-berüchtigte Alpine Coaster alias die längste Sommer-Rodelbahn der Welt! Genau 3.535 Meter lang schlängelt sich dieser wirklich einzigartige Rollercoaster durch die Alpen, mal kurvig, mal durch Wald und Wiese, immer mit Aussicht! Selbst unser 5jähriger Sohn wollte immer schneller runtersausen und gleich nochmal fahren. Ich bin mit meiner 2jährigen Tochter leider nicht mitgefahren, da die Abfahrt erst mit 3 Jahren erlaubt ist.Alpine Coaster Start in Imst in Österreich mit Kindern

Allein wegen diesem Alpine Coaster würde ich nochmal nach Hoch-Imst kommen. Wirklich ein Spaß für die ganze Familie! Unten angekommen warten wieder diverse Vergnügungen für die Kids und Restaurants auf die Gäste und alle sind happy!

Tipp: Die Rodelbahn kann sogar im Winter oder bei Regen gefahren werden!

Weitere Informationen zum Alpine Coaster in Imst

Dieser Artikel über meinen Aufenthalt im Wellness-Chalet in Österreich könnte Euch auch noch interessieren!

Dieser Artikel enthält unbezahlte Werbung!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.