New Zealand, distance travel, guest posts, Oceania
Leave a Comment

New Zealand highlights: 10 favorite places of the outdoor nomads!

Gertrude Saddle New Zealand highlights

Anyone who knows me knows that New Zealand is my absolute longing country. I was there for several months in 2006/2007 with a Travel and Work Visa and fell in love with the country and its people and have not forgotten until today. I am therefore all the more pleased that dear Miri from outdoor nomads has given me her 10 New Zealand highlights for you in this guest post:

Ggigantic mountain panoramas, beautiful stretches of beach, crystal clear lakes, huge waterfalls and so much more. New Zealand offers a huge selection of fascinating places and great activities. We were in the great country for a total of 14 months, have covered 24000 kilometers by car and 1500 kilometers on foot. We got to know many beautiful areas of the multifaceted country and want to show you our 10 most beautiful New Zealand highlights.

Our New Zealand highlights on the North Island

1. Mount Maunganui

When we think of this place, we get homesick. Yes you read correctly, this place is our second home. We lived and experienced six intensive months here. This makes Mount Maunganui one of the top 10 of our New Zealand highlights.

Beach Mount Maunganui

Beach Mount Maunganui

The small town on the North Island offers a really fantastic "vibe". Street food, relaxed surfers and miles of stretch of beach. If you are already in the surfing place, then you should definitely take a surf course and dive into the waves.

Mount Maunganui

Mount Maunganui

If we can give you a real recommendation, it's you necessarily at sunrise on the Mount Maunganui should hike. The way is a bit exhausting, but it only takes 45 minutes and is really easy to do with a flashlight. You will be rewarded with a truly unique look. We didn't do it just once and were almost always alone on Mount Maunganui and were able to enjoy the sunrise in peace.

2. The Te Urewera National Park

Wild horses, admirable waterfalls and great little campsites. The Te Urewera National Park is one of the most beautiful New Zealand highlights on the North Island for us. The lake in the heart of the national park in particular offers a great backdrop. Because the road through the park is not paved, the area is not as touristy and therefore appears the national park is still very original.

Lake Waikaremoana at Te Urewera

Lake Waikaremoana at Te Urewera

In addition to the originality of the park has really blown away the diversity of species. We were speechless when we came across a herd of wild horses on our tour of the national park. The so-called Kaimanawa have grazed peacefully in a meadow. Being so close to wild horses was a real goose bump moment.

Wild horses in Te Urewera

Wild horses in Te Urewera

In the national park, it's always a matter of keeping your eyes open so that you don't miss the details. Just on the east bank of the Lake Waikaremoana there are numerous hidden waterfalls and great hiking opportunities.

3. The Bay of Islands

Subtropical warmth uninhabited islands and great stretches of beach. Welcome to the Bay of Islands! This area is not only one of the most popular holiday regions in New Zealand, but also attracts international tourists every year. Leech whether sailing, diving, swimming with dolphins or just relax on the beach, there are numerous ways to enjoy life.

Bay of Islands New Zealand highlights

Bay of Islands New Zealand highlights

We ourselves have a great one Sailing trip made through the Bay of Islands. We explored an uninhabited island and had a great local lunch on a sailing yacht. We saw dolphins during our tour and just had fun. If you Bay of Islands want to discover it differently, then we can really recommend a sailing tour.

4. Taupo

Hot springs, crystal clear river sections and a beautiful lake front. The lively town of Taupo is one of our absolute New Zealand highlights on the North Island. There are a variety of different activities here. Therefore we would like to introduce two exciting activities to you.

Lake Taupo New Zealand

Lake Taupo New Zealand

Relax in the hot springs of Taupo

Yes you heard right. There are hot springs and the great thing is that they are are completely natural and are free of charge. Since the hot water flows into a nearby river, you can choose which temperature is comfortable for you. We can recommend you to bathe in the hot springs on a rainy day because then it’s usually not that crowded.

Plunge into the deep

The next activity releases a little more adrenaline. There is a possibility in Taupo Bungy to jump or swing through a canyon. We chose the swing ourselves because we just couldn't get over a bungee jump. By combining a great backdrop and the adrenaline-packed activity, the swing was an unforgettable experience. Give it a try! Are you looking for other great spots in Taupo? look here here!

Our New Zealand highlights on the South Island

5. Marlborough Sounds

Lonely bays, beautiful beaches, a species-rich underwater world and varied hiking trails. You will find this heavenly backdrop in the Marlborough Sounds. If you want to get a really deep impression of the area, you should is Queen Charlotte Track hike or ride it on a mountain bike.

Marlborough Sounds

Marlborough Sounds

The trail takes 3 to 5 days and takes you through the Marlborough Sounds. The path is not really demanding, but sometimes it is also strenuous due to climbs. You will be rewarded with indescribable views and great bays every day. We are the one Queen Charlotte Track also hiked and were easy fascinated by the landscape and the entire area.

Queen Charlotte Track

Queen Charlotte Track

For detailed information on the Queen Charlotte Track as well as others great hikes in New Zealand!

6. Catlins Coast

Along the Catlins Coast in the deep south of New Zealand you can find some of our absolute favorite spots. One of them is Nugget Point. It is not quite as touristy here and the scenery is unique. But not only the landscape is beautiful and special, but also the wildlife. Along the Catlins Coast you have the chance to see penguins, swim with dolphins and marvel at gigantic sea lions. Sounds fantastic, doesn't it?

Catlins Coast Sea Lion Lady

Catlins Coast Sea Lion Lady

Thereby the Catlins Coast is a bit off the main tourist trail, the entire stretch of coast is very quiet and untouristic. This calm is reinforced by the very poor cell phone network. So you can marvel at nature and at the same time enjoy a few days without internet and cell phone reception.

7. Arrowtown

This small place is very reminiscent of the old gold digging times of New Zealand. Two years after the first settlers settled in New Zealand, became the first gold near Arrowtown found. The result was an uncanny upswing and really "golden" times. You can also try your own luck and try washing yourself in gold. Some claim that nuggets are still regularly found today.

Arrowtown

Arrowtown

Some historical shops, restaurants and miners' houses have been extensively restored in recent years. So you feel like you are back in the old gold mining days. It is precisely this backdrop that makes the special atmosphere of Arrowtown File We recommend you at least one night in Arrowtown to stay. Because after all the "tour buses" are gone, the charm of the small town spreads only really.

8. The Gertrude Saddle

This mountain saddle is one of the absolute New Zealand highlights on the South Island. In the heart of the Fiordland National Park lies the Gertrude Saddle. A strenuous but worthwhile hiking trail leads you to our favorite view. From here you have a unique view of the Milford Sound. Since the hike is still unknown, you can almost do one undisturbed day in the middle of a fascinating national park enjoy.

Gertrude Saddle

Gertrude Saddle

If you might not feel like taking this hike, there are plenty of great alternatives. The Fiordland National Park is one of the most beautiful in the world and offers a lot of possibilities. There is a large network of hiking trails with cool highlights. You can Marvel at waterfalls, canoe tours or simply a boat tour from durch Milford Sound . make

By the way: the Gertrude Saddle is also one of the best photo locations in New Zealand. You can find more great photo spots here!

9. Nelson Lakes National Park

The Nelson Lakes National Park is one of the most beautiful national parks in New Zealand in our opinion. Cool suspension bridges, unique river courses and a great mountain backdrop always give goosebumps moments. Because many highlights are not immediately accessible, is the Nelson Lakes National Park not so crowded either. The fascination of the South Island can be enjoyed even more intensely. Especially as an outdoor enthusiast you will be the one Nelson Lakes Park just think it's gigantic.

Blue Lake at Nelson Lakes NP

Blue Lake at Nelson Lakes NP

Should you fancy one If you have a multi-day hike, we can take the tour to Blue Lake recommend. It is one of the clearest lakes in the world. We were allowed to look at it ourselves and what should we say? We were really amazed at the water color and how the lake was crystal clear in reality.

Nelson Lakes National Park New Zealand

Nelson Lakes National Park New Zealand

10. Arthur's Pass

If you fancy a great mountain landscape, we can do it for you Arthur's Pass really recommend. Varied hiking trails, crazy mountain parrots and raging rivers have lured us into the great area three times so far.

The Arthur's Pass is the highest pass in the southern Alps of New Zealand and is due to its Mountain landscape and gorges extremely interesting. If you want to discover the area around the pass, we can do it for you recommend the following day hike.

The Bealey Spur Track

The easy hiking trail initially leads you through a beautiful section of forest. The route is moderately uphill throughout the tour. After the forest section it continues on Tussock grass. From the section you will always be rewarded with unique views. You have an insane view of that Waimakariri valley. The way there ends at the historical one Bealey track Hut. From here it goes back towards the parking lot.

Your own favorite spot as a New Zealand highlight

Finally, we would like to encourage you to find your own favorite spot in New Zealand. The country offers a surprise and around every corner Speechlessness is simply part of a trip to New Zealand. Every mountain, every forest and every path lures with new experiences and therefore you can discover new things at any time. Now we wish you a lot of fun our favorite country on the other side of the world to explore.

New Zealand Love

New Zealand Love

About the outdoor nomads

Hey, Miri and Micha are writing here. Outdoor people and photographers. On our blog Outdoornomaden.de we report on the small and large adventures of travel and digital nomadism. We are happy to have turned our biggest hobby into a profession some time ago, and since then to be able to photograph moments of the heart all over the world. You can find our photo works on Miri & Micha.

Outdoor nomads in New Zealand

Outdoor nomads in New Zealand

Have you ever been to New Zealand? What are your absolute New Zealand highlights? I remember fondly the Silent Bay and Rotorua in the north and Hokitika, Milford Sound and Abel Tasman NP on the South Island! Maybe you are also interested in mine Favorite place in Panama?

This article contains unpaid advertising!

This is followed by an affiliate link (with which I earn a bit of money;)



Booking.com

Split up

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Neuseeland, Fernreise, Gastbeiträge, Ozeanien
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Neuseeland Highlights: 10 Lieblingsplätze der Outdoornomaden!

Gertrude Saddle Neuseeland Highlights

Wer mich kennt, weiß, dass Neuseeland mein absolutes Sehnsuchtsland ist. Ich war dort mehrere Monate 2006/2007 mit einem Travel and Work Visum unterwegs und habe mich in Land und Leute verliebt und bis heute nicht vergessen. Umso mehr freue ich mich daher, dass die liebe Miri von Outdoornomaden mir ihre 10 Neuseeland Highlights in diesem Gastbeitrag für Euch mitgeteilt hat:

Gigantische Bergpanoramen, wunderschöne Strandabschnitte, glasklare Seen, riesige Wasserfälle und noch so vieles mehr. Neuseeland bietet eine riesige Auswahl an faszinierenden Orten und tollen Aktivitäten. Wir waren insgesamt 14 Monate lang in dem tollen Land, haben 24000 Kilometer mit dem Auto und 1500 Kilometer zu Fuß zurückgelegt. Dabei haben wir viele wunderschöne Gegenden des facettenreichen Landes kennengelernt und wollen dir einmal unsere 10 schönsten Neuseeland Highlights zeigen.

Unsere Neuseeland Highlights auf der Nordinsel

1. Mount Maunganui

Wenn wir an diesem Ort denken, dann bekommen wir Heimweh. Ja du liest richtig, dieser Ort ist unsere zweite Heimat. Hier haben wir sechs intensive Monate gelebt und erlebt. Dadurch gehört Mount Maunganui zurecht zu den Top 10 unserer Neuseeland Highlights.

Beach Mount Maunganui

Beach Mount Maunganui

Die kleine Stadt auf der Nordinsel, bietet einen wirklich fantastischen „Vibe“. Streetfood, entspannte Surfer und kilometerlange Strandabschnitte. Wenn du schon einmal in dem Surferort bist, dann solltest du unbedingt einen Surfkurs machen und dich in die Wellen stürzen.

Mount Maunganui

Mount Maunganui

Wenn wir dir eine echte Empfehlung geben können, dann das du unbedingt zum Sonnenaufgang auf den Mount Maunganui wandern solltest. Der Weg ist zwar etwas anstrengend, dauert aber lediglich 45 Minuten und ist auch mit Taschenlampe wirklich einfach zu bewältigen. Belohnt wirst du mit einem wirklich einmaligen Blick. Wir haben das nicht nur einmal gemacht und waren fast immer allein auf dem Mount Maunganui und konnten den Sonnenaufgang ganz in Ruhe genießen.

2. Der Te Urewera Nationalpark

Wildpferde, bewundernswerte Wasserfälle und tolle kleine Campingplätze. Der Te Urewera Nationalpark zählt für uns zu den schönsten Neuseeland Highlights auf der Nordinsel. Insbesondere der See im Herzen des Nationalparks bietet eine tolle Kulisse. Dadurch die Straße durch den Park nicht asphaltiert ist, ist die Gegend nicht so touristisch und dadurch wirkt der Nationalpark noch sehr ursprünglich.

Lake Waikaremoana beim Te Urewera

Lake Waikaremoana beim Te Urewera

Neben der Ursprünglichkeit des Parks hat uns die Artenvielfalt echt umgehauen. Wir waren sprachlos, als wir auf unserer Tour durch den Nationalpark auf eine Herde Wildpferde gestoßen sind. Die sogenannten Kaimanawa haben friedlich auf einer Wiese gegrast. So nah an wilden Pferden zu sein, war ein absoluter Gänsehautmoment.

Wildpferde im Te Urewera

Wildpferde im Te Urewera

Im Nationalpark heißt es also immer die Augen offen zu halten, damit einem die Details nicht entgehen. Gerade am Ostufer des Lake Waikaremoana befinden sich zahlreiche versteckte Wasserfälle und tolle Wandermöglichkeiten.

3. Die Bay of Islands

Subtropische Wärme, unbewohnte Inseln und tolle Strandabschnitte. Herzlich Willkommen in der Bay of Islands! Diese Gegend ist nicht nur eine der beliebtesten Urlaubsregionen der Neuseeländern, sondern lockt auch jährliche internationale Touristen an. Egel ob Segeln, Tauchen, mit Delfinen schwimmen oder einfach am Strand entspannen, hier gibt es zahlreiche Möglichkeiten das Leben zu genießen.

Bay of Islands Neuseeland Highlights

Bay of Islands Neuseeland Highlights

Wir selbst haben einen tollen Segeltrip durch die Bay of Islands gemacht. Dabei haben wir eine unbewohnte Insel erkundet und hatten ein tolles lokales Lunch auf einer Segelyacht. Während unserer Tour haben wir Delfine gesehen und hatten einfach Spaß. Wenn du die Bay of Islands einmal anders entdecken möchtest, dann können wir dir eine Segeltour wirklich empfehlen.

4. Taupo

Heiße Quellen, glasklare Flussabschnitte und eine wunderschöne Lakefront. Der lebhafte Ort Taupo gehört zu unseren absoluten Neuseeland Highlights auf der Nordinsel. Hier gibt es eine Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen Aktivitäten. Daher wollen wir dir gleich einmal zwei spannende Unternehmungen vorstellen.

Lake Taupo Neuseeland

Lake Taupo Neuseeland

Entspanne in den heißen Quellen von Taupo

Ja du hast richtig gehört. Es gibt heiße Quellen und das tolle daran ist, dass sie komplett natürlich entstanden sind und noch dazu kostenlos sind. Da das heiße Wasser in einen nahegelegenen Fluss fließt, kannst du frei wählen, welche Temperatur angenehm für dich ist. Wir können dir empfehlen an einem regnerischen Tag in den heißen Quellen zu baden, denn dann ist es meistens nicht so voll.

Stürz dich in die Tiefe

Die nächste Aktivität setzt etwas mehr Adrenalin frei. In Taupo gibt es nämlich die Möglichkeit Bungy zu springen oder dich durch eine Schlucht zu schwingen. Wir selbst haben uns für den Swing entschieden, da wir uns zu einem Bungysprung einfach nicht überwinden konnten. Durch die Kombination aus einer tollen Kulisse und der adrenalinreichen Aktivität, war der Swing ein unvergessliches Erlebnis. Probier es unbedingt einmal aus! Suchst du noch weitere tolle Spots in Taupo? Schau mal hier!

Unsere Neuseeland Highlights auf der Südinsel

5. Marlborough Sounds

Einsame Buchten, wunderschöne Strände, eine artenreiche Unterwasserwelt und abwechslungsreiche Wanderwege. Dieses paradiesische Kulisse findest du in den Marlborough Sounds. Wenn du einen wirklich tiefgründigen Eindruck von der Gegend bekommen möchtest, dann solltest du den Queen Charlotte Track wandern oder ihn mit dem Mountain Bike fahren.

Marlborough Sounds

Marlborough Sounds

Der Wanderweg dauert 3 bis 5 Tage und führt dich einmal durch die Marlborough Sounds hindurch. Der Weg ist nicht wirklich anspruchsvoll, streckenweise aber durch Anstiege durchaus auch mal anstrengend. Dafür wirst du täglich mit unbeschreiblichen Aussichten und tollen Buchten belohnt. Wir sind den Queen Charlotte Track ebenfalls gewandert und waren einfach fasziniert von der Landschaft und der gesamten Gegend.

Queen Charlotte Track

Queen Charlotte Track

Zu ausführlichen Informationen zum Queen Charlotte Track sowie weiteren tollen Wanderungen in Neuseeland!

6. Catlins Coast

Entlang der Catlins Coast im tiefen Süden Neuseelands finden sich einige unserer absoluten Lieblingsspots. Einer davon ist der Nugget Point. Hier ist es nicht ganz so touristisch und die Kulisse ist einmalig. Doch nicht nur die Landschaft ist wunderschön und besonders, sondern auch die Tierwelt. Entlang der Catlins Coast hast du die Chance Pinguine zu sehen, mit Delfinen zu schwimmen und gigantische Seelöwen zu bestaunen. Klingt fantastisch, oder?

Catlins Coast Seelöwen-Dame

Catlins Coast Seelöwen-Dame

Dadurch die Catlins Coast etwas abseits der Haupttouristenpfade liegt, ist der gesamte Küstenabschnitt sehr ruhig und untouristisch. Diese Ruhe wird durch das sehr schlechte Handynetz noch verstärkt. Somit kannst du die Natur bestaunen und gleichzeitig ein paar Tage ohne Internet und Handyempfang genießen.

7. Arrowtown

Dieser kleine Ort erinnert noch sehr stark an die alten Goldgräberzeiten Neuseelands. Zwei Jahre nachdem sich die ersten Siedler in Neuseeland niederließen, wurde das erste Gold in der Nähe von Arrowtown gefunden. Daraus resultierte ein unheimlicher Aufschwung und wirklich „goldene“ Zeiten. Du kannst auch dein eigenes Glück versuchen und dich im Gold waschen versuchen. Einige behaupten, dass auch heute noch regelmäßig Nuggets gefunden werden.

Arrowtown

Arrowtown

Einige historische Geschäfte, Restaurants und Bergmannshäuser sind in den letzten Jahren aufwändig restauriert wurden. Somit fühlt man sich in die alten Goldräberzeiten zurückversetzt. Genau diese Kulisse macht für uns die besondere Atmosphäre von Arrowtown aus. Wir empfehlen dir mindestens eine Nacht in Arrowtown zu bleiben. Denn nachdem sämtliche „Touribusse“ weg sind, breitet sich der Charme des kleinen Ortes erst so richtig aus.

8. Der Gertrude Saddle

Dieser Bergsattel ist einer der absoluten Neuseeland Highlights auf der Südinsel. Im Herzen des Fjordland Nationalparks liegt der Gertrude Saddle. Ein anstrengender, aber lohnenswerter Wanderweg führt dich zu unserer Lieblingsaussicht. Von hier aus hast du einen einmaligen Blick in den Milford Sound. Da die Wanderung noch unbekannt ist, kannst du einen nahezu ungestörten Tag inmitten eines faszinierenden Nationalparks genießen.

Gertrude Saddle

Gertrude Saddle

Solltest du vielleicht keine Lust auf diese Wanderung haben, dann gibt es genügend tolle Alternativen. Der Fjordland Nationalpark gehört zu einem der schönsten weltweit und bietet unheimlich viele Möglichkeiten. Es gibt ein großes Netzwerk an Wanderwegen mit coolen Highlights. Du kannst Wasserfälle bestaunen, Kanutouren oder einfach eine Bootstour durch den Milford Sound machen.

Übrigens: Der Gertrude Saddle gehört auch zu den tollsten Fotolocations in Neuseeland. Weitere tolle Fotospots findest du hier!

9. Nelson Lakes Nationalpark

Der Nelson Lakes Nationalpark gehört unserer Meinung nach zu den schönsten Nationalparks in Neuseeland. Coole Hängebrücken, einzigartige Flussverläufe und eine tolle Bergkulisse sorgen immer wieder für Gänsehautmomente. Dadurch dass viele Highlights nicht unmittelbar erreichbar sind, ist der Nelson Lakes Nationalpark auch nicht so überlaufen. Die Faszination der Südinsel lässt sich dadurch noch intensiver genießen. Gerade als outdoorbegeisterte Person wirst du den Nelson Lakes Park einfach gigantisch finden.

Blue Lake im Nelson Lakes NP

Blue Lake im Nelson Lakes NP

Solltest du Lust auf eine Mehrtageswanderung haben, dann können wir dir die Tour zum Blue Lake empfehlen. Er zählt zu einem der klarsten Seen der Welt. Wir durften ihn selbst betrachten und was sollen wir sagen? Wir waren wirklich erstaunt über die Wasserfarbe und darüber wie glasklar der See in Realität war.

Nelson Lakes National Park Neuseeland

Nelson Lakes National Park Neuseeland

10. Arthurs Pass

Wenn du Lust auf eine tolle Berglandschaft hast, dann können wir dir den Arthurs Pass wirklich empfehlen. Abwechslungsreiche Wanderwege, verrückte Bergpapageien und reißende Flüsse haben uns bisher schon dreimal in die tolle Gegend gelockt.

Der Arthurs Pass ist der höchste Pass in den südlichen Alpen Neuseelands und ist aufgrund seiner Berglandschaft und Schluchten äußerst interessant. Wenn du die Gegend rund um den  Pass entdecken möchtest, dann können wir dir die folgende Tageswanderung empfehlen.

Der Bealey Spur Track

Der einfache Wanderweg führt dich anfangs durch einen wunderschönen Waldabschnitt. Während der gesamten Tour geht es moderat bergauf. Nach dem Waldabschnitt geht es auf Tussock Gras weiter. Ab dem Abschnitt wirst du immer wieder mit einzigartigen Aussichten belohnt. Dabei hast du einen wahnsinnigen Blick über das Waimakariri Tal. Der Hinweg endet schließlich an der historischen Bealey Spur Hütte. Von hier aus geht es dann wieder zurück in Richtung Parkplatz.

Dein eigener Lieblingsspot als Neuseeland Highlight

Abschließend möchten wir dich dich ermutigen deinen eigenen Lieblingsspot in Neuseeland zu finden. Das Land bietet hinter jeder Ecke eine Überraschung und Sprachlosigkeit gehört während einer Neuseelandreise einfach dazu. Jeder Berg, jeder Wald und jeder Weg lockt mit neuen Erlebnissen und daher kannst du jederzeit Neues entdecken. Jetzt wünschen wir dir viel Spaß dabei unser Lieblingsland am anderen Ende der Welt zu erkunden.

New Zealand Love

New Zealand Love

Über die Outdoornomaden

Hey, hier schreiben Miri und Micha. Outdoormenschen und Fotografen. Auf unserem Blog Outdoornomaden.de berichten wir über die kleinen und großen Abenteuer des Reisens und des digitalen Nomadentums. Glücklich sind wir, vor einiger Zeit unser größtes Hobby zum Beruf gemacht zu haben, und seitdem überall auf der Welt Herzensmomente fotografisch festhalten zu dürfen. Unsere Fotoarbeiten findest Du auf Miri & Micha.

Outdoornomaden in Neuseeland

Outdoornomaden in Neuseeland

Ward ihr schon mal in Neuseeland? Was sind Eure absoluten Neuseeland Highlights? Ich erinnere mich noch gerne an die Silent Bay und Rotorua im Norden und Hokitika, Milford Sound und Abel Tasman NP auf der Südinsel! Vielleicht interessiert ihr Euch auch für meinen Lieblingsplatz in Panama?

Dieser Artikel enthält unbezahlte Werbung!

Es folgt ein Affiliate-Link (mit dem ich ein bisschen Geld verdiene;)



Booking.com

Teilen auf

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.