FAVORITE SPOTS city, Vienna, Winter
Leave a Comment

Vienna in winter - City trip in the name of Elvis!

Vienna in winter

What to do in 24 hours in Vienna in winter: an Elvis concert, a few Veltliner champagne at the stylish hotel bar, a bit of sightseeing and finally a Viennese coffee house.

Please do not get me wrong - I'm not an Elvis fan or something.

AAbout my girlfriend absolutely wanted to join this concert Dennis Jale and the original TCB band from Elvis in Vienna. So why not? Vienna in January, let's see.

So on Saturday morning we leave Munich at 8 by car. And no sooner are we on the highway, we come already in the ski traffic jam. Rookie mistakes. Anyway, then we have just an hour longer for ratcheting.

InterContinental Vienna InterContinental Vienna

Six hours later we check in huge InterContinental Hotel* directly at the city park. From the outside really ugly, it exudes a wonderful, nostalgic charm from the inside. I really like it and for 120 € per night including breakfast it really is not expensive. (Small supplement: that was probably a special price for the Elvis package.)

Metropolitan Vienna Metropolitan Vienna

We rest for a while, before we take the first tasty Veltliner sparkling wine at the hotel bar. That's the way it has to be. In the evening, a shuttle from the hotel to the Dennis Jale concert takes us back to history Vienna Metropolitan. A really iconic theater hall. Of course, it's teeming with Elvis fans and matching souvenirs. We know each other in the scene.

Dennis Jale and the Original TCB Band Dennis Jale and the Original TCB Band

Then it starts! I like Elvis and his music. And the concert is really great with crazy great musicians and brilliant gospel singers. After three hours I have no voice and the concert is over. Great show!

American Bar in the InterContinental American Bar in the InterContinental

Back at the hotel, we sit back at the stylish American Bar. Madness, what's going on here. Of course, there is again delicious, Austrian sparkling wine and we look at the hustle and bustle around us. Here and there you meet the "stars" of the show again and sometime after 2 we fall happily into our cuddly bed ...

The next day is the contrast to Elvis

St. Stephen's Cathedral in Vienna St. Stephen's Cathedral in Vienna

Sleep well, have breakfast and then walk to the city center "Steffl". A must-see, both outside and inside. Luckily our hotel is so central that you can walk everything.

We continue to stroll through the pedestrian zone, pass the famous art museum Albertina. We meander through the small streets, there are magnificent buildings almost everywhere. Let us just drift. Again and again a "Fiaker" (horse-drawn carriage) drives past us, how romantic!

Viennese Melange in Demel Viennese Melange in Demel

Yes, it's cold here in January. The east wind whistles. Finally we come to Michaelerplatz with three Viennese institutions right around the corner: Café Central, Griensteidl and the Confectionery Demel. Here we treat ourselves to a Viennese melange (small espresso with milk and milk foam). Of course, there is something sweet about that. The coffee card is really very amusing in Vienna.

Coffee card in the demel Coffee card in the demel

This ends our little, crazy trip to Vienna, unfortunately, and we drive back to Munich. Maybe we'll stay a bit longer next time.

Have you ever been to Vienna in winter? Was you so cold? Maybe you are also interested in mine City trip to Barcelona?

This article contains unpaid advertising!

* Affiliate link (with which I earn a bit of money;)

Split up

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Reiseberichte, Travels
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Wiener Melange im Namen von Elvis

Wien

24 Stunden in Wien: ein Elvis Konzert, ein paar Veltliner Sekt und zum Abschluss Wiener Kaffee.

Versteht mich bitte nicht falsch – ich bin kein Elvis-Fan oder so

Aber meine Freundin wollte unbedingt zu diesem Konzert mit Dennis Jale und der Original TCB Band von Elvis in Wien. So why not?

Also fahren wir am Samstag früh um 8Uhr mit dem Auto aus München los. Und kaum sind wir auf der Autobahn, kommen wir in den Ski-Stau. Anfängerfehler. Egal, dann haben wir eben eine Stunde länger Zeit zu ratschen.

InterContinental Wien InterContinental Wien

Sechs Stunden später checken wir im riesigen InterContinental Hotel direkt am Stadtpark ein. Von Außen wirklich hässlich, von Innen versprüht es einen wunderbaren nostalgischen Charme. Mir gefällt es total und für 120€ pro Nacht inklusive Frühstück ist es wirklich nicht teuer. (Kleiner Nachtrag: das war wohl ein Special-Preis für das Elvis-Package…)

Metropol Wien Metropol Wien

Wir ruhen uns erstmal ein bisschen aus, bevor wir dann an der Hotelbar den ersten leckeren Veltliner Sekt zu uns nehmen. So muss es sein. Abends bringt uns dann ein Shuttle vom Hotel zum Konzert ins geschichtsträchtige Wiener Metropol. Ein wirklich kultiger Theatersaal. Hier wimmelt es natürlich von Elvis-Fans und passenden Souvenirs. Man kennt sich in der Szene.

Dennis Jale and the Original TCB Band Dennis Jale and the Original TCB Band

Dann geht es endlich los! Ich mag Elvis und seine Musik. Und das Konzert ist wirklich super mit wahnsinnig tollen Musikern und genialen Gospel-Sängern. Nach drei Stunden habe ich keine Stimme mehr und das Konzert ist vorbei. Tolle Show!

American Bar im InterContinental American Bar im InterContinental

Zurück im Hotel setzen wir uns wieder an die stylische American Bar. Wahnsinn, was hier los ist. Natürlich gibt es wieder leckeren, österreichischen Sekt und wir gucken uns das bunte Treiben um uns herum an. Hier und da trifft man die „Stars“ der Show wieder und irgendwann nach 2Uhr fallen wir dann glücklich in unser kuscheliges Bett…

Der nächste Tag ist dann das Kontrastprogramm zu Elvis

Stephansdom in Wien Stephansdom in Wien

Ausschlafen, schön frühstücken und dann zu Fuß in die Innenstadt zum „Steffl“. Ein Must-See, sowohl Außen als auch Innen.

Wir flanieren weiter durch die Fußgängerzone, passieren das bekannte Kunstmuseum Albertina. Wir schlängeln uns durch die kleinen Gassen, fast überall gibt es prächtige Bauten. Lassen uns einfach treiben. Immer wieder fährt ein „Fiaker“ (Pferdekutsche) an uns vorbei, wie romantisch!

Wiener Melange im Demel Wiener Melange im Demel

Ja, im Januar ist es durchaus kalt hier. Der Ostwind pfeift. Endlich kommen wir zum Michaelerplatz mit drei Wiener Institutionen direkt um die Ecke: Café Central, Griensteidl und die Konditorei Demel. Hier gönnen wir uns eine Wiener Melange (kleiner Espresso mit Milch und Milchschaum). Dazu gibt es natürlich etwas Süßes. Die Kaffee-Karte ist in Wien wirklich sehr amüsant.

Kaffee-Karte im Demel Kaffee-Karte im Demel

Damit endet unser kleiner, verrückter Ausflug nach Wien leider schon und wir fahren mit dem Auto zurück nach München. Nächstes mal bleiben wir vielleicht doch ein bisschen länger.

Dieser Artikel enthält unbezahlte Werbung!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.