FAVORITE SPOTS city, Rome
Comments 2

City break Rome: my insider tips for brilliant vantage points & restaurants!

City break Rome

Before 20 years, I was in Rome for the first time and five times since. Therefore, you are looking in vain for travel tips and sightseeing highlights, but finds insider tips for dining out and the best views for your city trip to Rome:

WSo you are in the first time Rome I can not really help you with my tips. But if you feel like Rome away from the tourist attractions to exploreTo go and eat delicious food and a different view of Rome, then you should read on.

As my husband once in half a year Rome has lived and speaks fluent italian is Rome always a bit like coming home for us. Sightseeing is not on the program, just enjoy, feast and drift. This time without kids. We live with friends in Lucio Sestio in the southeast of the city and cruising through the area by scooter.

City trip Rome #1 View over Rome on the Gianicolo - the classic

The view over Rome from the hill "Janiculum" behind the St. Peter's Basilica is in every travel guide, but rightly so beautiful. Due to the fact that the journey can only be reached with a mobile pedestal or a little awkward by bus, there is hardly anything going on there even in August. Maybe it's just too hot for most people.

Great view Gianicolo Rome

Therefore one has the view over the Pantheon, that Castel Sant'Angelo and in the East also about the "typewriter"Almost alone. Unfortunately, you can not see the St. Peter's Basilica from here, because this is almost exactly behind one. The only downside.

Up on the mountain there are a few stalls selling cold drinks and snacks and several terraces around it Garibaldi monument around with a magnificent 180Grad view. From here it is by scooter or on foot but not far in the really picturesque neighborhood Trasteverewhich means "over the Tiber".

Getting there: It is on foot from Trastevere from about 20 minutes with beautiful views every now and then. Otherwise one comes also with the bus line 115 of Trastevere out directly in about 10 drive.

My advice:

The best way to get somewhere before in the old town in the various bars so-called "Pizza al Taglio", so Pizza to take away, then to nibble it up in the shade with a view over Rome. These snacks are available here in Rome in all colors and shapes and are nowhere as delicious as here! You must also necessarily the typical Roman "Suppli al telefono"Try a kind of breaded rice ball with cheese and tomato filling, Funny enough, that roughly means that the pulled out mozzarella in the Suppli how a telephone cable looks like (= useless knowledge;)

Rome City Trip #2 Romantic food in Trastevere at La Taverna de 'Mercanti

Not far from Janiculum away, is probably the most beautiful and famous district of Rome: Trastevere, Here Rome is like a picture book. Narrow streets, romantic restaurants and cafes with flair. And the river Tiber is not far. If you like it especially cheesy and infinitely romantic, you should definitely in the Taverna de 'Mercanti go.

La Taverna de Mercanti from the outside

Even from the outside it looks very picturesque with the old walls, the old wood and the flowers and torches everywhere. There are a few tables outside, but inside it is dim, with old barrels and candlelight.

The icing on the cake are the red checked tablecloths and the menu that reads like a treasure map. Okay, it's also a bit touristic and not necessarily super cheap, but beautiful!

Piazza de Mercanti 3 / a
Rome, 00153, Italy
TEL: + 39 06-58 81 693
Hours: 19: 00 - 23: 00

My advice:

Before dinner in said Taverna, You should definitely have an aperitif in one of the many sweet restaurants right on the Tiber close to Ponte Sisto to take. It is also worthwhile just to walk up and down, to browse in the shops and the view of the Tiber to enjoy with sunset. Alternatively, of course, also suitable as a nightcap.

View over the Tiber in Trastevere

City break Rome #3 Sunset in Frascati

Frascati is almost a suburb in the southeast of Rome and a well-known wine region. We roll in the evening to watch the sunset. When we arrive after about 30 minutes, Saturday night is the hell going on. All Rome is here to cool off. It's like a little one Rome here with sweet places and alleys. And the view is really unique.

One notices Rome Although only as an outline, but the sun is red-orange and the view far! There are several panoramic terraces right at the entrance to the station and the Via Regina Margherita with numerous restaurants, where you have a wonderful view!

My advice:

Who does not have a mobile pedestal, can be great too Rome Termini to go by train. This stops right in the center of Frascati, Then you can drink a glass of wine more! Timetable from Rome can be found here.

Getting there: The train departs from Roma Termini to Frascati about every half hour and takes about 30 minutes. Cost about 2,10 per person one way. Here it goes to Timetable and online booking!

City break Rome #4 Typical Roman cuisine in Frascati in Zarazà

By chance we discover the Roman restaurant zaraza an der Via Regina Margherita a bit hidden on a small terrace. Only the top two tables have a spectacular view, but even so, this little courtyard is insanely cute and romantic.

Sunset in the Zarazà

Everyone is incredibly friendly, there are delicious, in-house wine Frascati and down to earth cuisine. At the end you have the choice of five different types of tiramisu, the tastiest thing I've ever eaten (except from my mum). My absolute insider tip for a city trip to Rome!

Via Regina Margherita 45, 00044 Frascati (Rm)
email: info@trattoriazaraza.it, Telefono: 06 942 2053
Monday: closed, Tuesday through Sunday: 12.30-14.30 & 19.30-22.30

My advice:

Those who are hungry after that can go to the square Vicolo Bambocci or Try the typical Roman Porquetta ham at the many, small stalls on the hand, A kind of bacon from the pig. But it's not for everyone ...

City break Rome #5 View over Rome on the terrace of the Campidoglio - my insider tip

Of course, I got this insider tip from my husband. Pretty hidden behind the Capitol in the Capitoline Museums, One has one of the best, free views over the rooftops of Rome!

View from the Terrazza Cafferelli

On the associated Terrace of the Cafarelli you can let your eyes wander on the wall among other things also about the St. Peter's Basilica, Then an espresso at the bar and the city trip is perfect!

My personal insider tip

Piazzale Caffarelli, 4 - 00186 Roma
eventi@terrazzacaffarelli.it
Opening hours: 9.30 - 19.00
Tel. +39 06 69190564

My advice:

From here you can also explore on foot the other sights of Rome. Past the typewriter, one arrives after about 15 minutes walk to Trevi Fountain and after another 10 minutes to the famous stairs Spanish Steps, So you can combine that with classic sightseeing!

Who else has more insider tips for a city trip to Rome? Do you know my insider tips already? Maybe you also feel like one City trip to Barcelona! Even more inspiration for the topic "Rome from above" can be found at the dear Ria from the blog riaontour.de!

This article contains unpaid advertising!

This is followed by an affiliate link (with which I earn a bit of money;)


Booking.com

Split up

2 comments

  1. Wow, what beautiful photos! We are also planning our first trip to Rome, because your contribution is just right and makes you really feel like going on vacation!

    • favorite spot sagt

      Dear Isabelle, I am very happy! Then I wish you a lot of fun 🤩 I'm curious how you like it :) LG, Tatjana

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

LIEBLINGSSPOTs city, Rom
Kommentare 2

Städtetrip Rom: meine Insidertipps für geniale Aussichtspunkte & Restaurants!

Städtetrip Rom

Vor 20 Jahren war ich das erste Mal in Rom und seit dem insgesamt fünfmal. Daher sucht ihr hier vergeblich nach Reisetipps und Sightseeing-Highlights, findet aber Geheimtipps zum Essen gehen und die schönsten Ausblicke für Euren Städtetrip nach Rom:

Wenn ihr also das erste Mal in Rom seid, kann ich Euch mit meinen Tipps nicht wirklich weiterhelfen. Wenn ihr aber Lust habt, Rom abseits der Touristen-Attraktionen zu erkunden, lecker Essen zu gehen und eine andere Sicht auf Rom zu genießen, dann solltet ihr unbedingt weiterlesen.

Da mein Mann mal ein halbes Jahr in Rom gelebt hat und fließend italienisch spricht, ist Rom für uns immer auch ein bisschen wie nach Hause kommen. Sightseeing steht nicht auf dem Programm, sondern nur genießen, schlemmen und treiben lassen. Diesmal ohne Kids. Wir wohnen bei Freunden in Lucio Sestio im Südosten der Stadt und cruisen mit dem Roller durch die Gegend.

Städtetrip Rom #1 Ausblick über Rom auf dem Gianicolo – der Klassiker

Der Ausblick über Rom von dem Hügel „Gianicolo“ hinter dem Petersdom steht zwar in jedem Reiseführer, aber zu Recht, da wirklich wunderschön. Dadurch, dass die Anreise nur mit fahrbarem Untersatz oder etwas umständlich mit dem Bus zu erreichen ist, ist hier sogar im August kaum etwas los. Vielleicht ist es den meisten aber auch einfach zu heiß.

Toller Blick Gianicolo Rom

Daher hat man den Ausblick über das Pantheon, die Engelsburg und im Osten auch über die „Schreibmaschine“ fast für sich alleine. Nur leider sieht man den Petersdom von hier aus nicht, da dieser quasi genau hinter einem liegt. Der einzige Wermutstropfen.

Oben am Berg gibt es ein paar Buden mit kalten Getränken und Snacks und mehrere Terrassen um das Garibaldi Denkmal herum mit grandiosem 180Grad-Ausblick. Von hier ist es mit dem Roller oder zu Fuß aber nicht weit in das wirklich pittoreske Viertel Trastevere, was so viel heißt wie „über dem Tiber“.

Hinkommen: Zu Fuß sind es von Trastevere aus ungefähr 20 Minuten mit schönen Ausblicken immer mal wieder. Ansonsten kommt man auch mit dem Bus Linie 115 von Trastevere aus direkt hin in ca. 10 Fahrminuten.

Mein Tipp:

Am besten holt man sich vorher irgendwo in der Altstadt in den diversen Bars sogenannte „Pizza al Taglio“, also Pizza zum Mitnehmen, um diese dann oben im Schatten mit Blick über Rom zu naschen. Diese Snacks gibt es hier in Rom in allen Farben und Formen und sind nirgends so lecker wie hier! Ihr müsst auch unbedingt die typisch römischen Suppli al telefono” probieren, eine Art paniertes Reisbällchen mit Käse-Tomaten-Füllung. Witzigerweise heißt das in etwa, dass das auseinandergezogene Mozzarella im Suppli wie ein  Telefonkabel aussieht (=unnützes Wissen;)

Städtetrip Rom #2 Romantisch Essen in Trastevere in der La Taverna de’ Mercanti

Nicht weit vom Gianicolo entfernt, liegt das wohl schönste und bekannteste Viertel Roms: Trastevere. Hier ist Rom wie im Bilderbuch. Enge Gässchen, romantische Restaurants und Cafés mit Flair. Und der Fluss Tiber ist auch nicht weit. Wer es besonders kitschig und unendlich romantisch mag, sollte unbedingt in die Taverna de’ Mercanti gehen.

La Taverna de Mercanti von Außen

Schon von Außen sieht es mit dem alten Gemäuer, dem Altholz und den Blumen und Fackeln überall sehr pittoresk aus. Es gibt ein paar Tische Draußen, aber Drinnen ist es schummrig, mit alten Fässern und Kerzenschein.

Das i-Tüpfelchen sind die rot-karierten Tischdecken und das Menü, dass sich wie eine Schatzkarte liest. Okay, es ist auch ein bisschen tourimäßig und nicht unbedingt super günstig, aber wunderschön!

Piazza de Mercanti 3/a
Rome, 00153, Italy
TEL: +39 06-58 81 693
Öffnungszeiten: 19:00 – 23:00

Mein Tipp:

Vor dem Abendessen in besagter Taverna, solltet ihr unbedingt einen Aperitif in einem der vielen, süßen Lokale direkt am Tiber nahe der Ponte Sisto nehmen. Es lohnt sich auch einfach nur auf- und ab zu spazieren, in den Läden zu stöbern und den Blick auf den Tiber mit Sonnenuntergang zu genießen. Alternativ natürlich auch als Absacker geeignet.

Blick über den Tiber in Trastevere

Städtetrip Rom #3 Sonnenuntergang in Frascati

Frascati ist quasi ein Vorort im Südosten von Rom und eine bekannte Weinregion. Wir Rollern abends hierher, um den Sonnenuntergang zu beobachten. Als wir nach ca. 30 Minuten ankommen, ist Samstag-Abend die Hölle los. Ganz Rom ist hier, um sich abzukühlen. Es ist wie ein kleines Rom hier mit süßen Plätzen und Gassen. Und der Blick ist wirklich einmalig.

Man erkennt Rom zwar nur als Umriss, aber die Sonne ist rot-orange und der Blick weit! Es gibt mehrere Aussichts-Terrassen gleich am Ortseingang beim Bahnhof und die Via Regina Margherita mit zahlreichen Restaurants, wo man einen wunderbaren Blick hat!

Mein Tipp:

Wer keinen fahrbaren Untersatz hat, kann auch super von Rom Termini mit dem Zug fahren. Dieser hält direkt im Zentrum von Frascati. Dann kann man auch ein Glas Wein mehr trinken! Fahrplan ab Rom findet ihr hier.

Hinkommen: Der Zug fährt ab Roma Termini bis nach Frascati ca. alle halbe Stunde und braucht ungefähr 30 Minuten. Kosten ca. 2,10 pro Person one-way. Hier geht es zum Fahrplan und Online-Buchung!

Städtetrip Rom #4 Typisch Römische Küche in Frascati im Zarazà

Durch Zufall entdecken wir das römische Lokal Zarazá an der Via Regina Margherita etwas versteckt auf einer kleinen Terrasse. Nur die obersten beiden Tische haben einen spektakulären Ausblick, aber auch so ist dieser kleine Innenhof wahnsinnig süß und romantisch.

Sonnenuntergang im Zarazà

Alle sind unheimlich freundlich, es gibt leckeren, hauseigenen Wein aus Frascati und bodenständige Küche. Zum Abschluss hat man die Auswahl über fünf verschiedene Arten von Tiramisu, das leckerste was ich je gegessen habe (außer das von meiner Mum). Mein absoluter Insidertipp für einen Städtetrip nach Rom!

Via Regina Margherita 45, 00044 Frascati (Rm)
email: info@trattoriazaraza.it, Telefono: 06 942 2053
Montag: geschlossen, Dienstag bis Sonntag: 12.30-14.30 & 19.30-22.30

Mein Tipp:

Wer danach noch Hunger hat, kann auf dem Platz Vicolo Bambocci noch den typisch römischen Porquetta Schinken an den vielen, kleinen Ständen auf die Hand probieren. Eine Art Speck vom Schwein. Ist aber nicht jedermanns Sache…

Städtetrip Rom #5 Ausblick über Rom auf der Terrasse des Campidoglio – mein Geheimtipp

Diesen Geheimtipp habe ich natürlich von meinem Mann bekommen. Ziemlich versteckt hinter dem Capitol im Musei Capitolini, hat man einen der besten, kostenlosen Ausblicke über die Dächer Roms!

Ausblick von der Terrazza Cafferelli

Auf der zugehörigen Terrasse des Cafarellis kann man auf der Mauer den Blick schweifen lassen unter anderem auch über den Petersdom. Danach noch einen Espresso an der Bar und der Städtetrip ist perfekt!

Mein persönlicher Geheimtipp

Piazzale Caffarelli, 4 – 00186 Roma
eventi@terrazzacaffarelli.it
Opening hours: 9.30 – 19.00
Tel. +39 06 69190564

Mein Tipp:

Von hier kann man auch zu Fuß die weiteren Sights Roms erkunden. Vorbei an der Schreibmaschine, gelangt man nach ca. 15 Minuten Fußmarsch zum Fontana di Trevi und nach weiteren 10 Minuten zur bekannten Treppe Piazza di Spagna. Man kann das also wunderbar mit klassischem Sightseeing verbinden!

Wer hat noch weitere Geheimtipps für einen Städtetrip nach Rom? Kennt ihr meine Insidertipps denn schon? Vielleicht habt ihr auch Lust auf einen Citytrip nach Barcelona! Noch mehr Inspiration zum Thema “Rom von oben” findet ihr bei der lieben Ria vom Blog riaontour.de!

Dieser Artikel enthält unbezahlte Werbung!

Es folgt ein Affiliate-Link (mit dem ich ein bisschen Geld verdiene;)


Booking.com

Teilen auf

2 Kommentare

  1. Wow, was für wunderschöne Fotos! Wir planen auch gerade unsere erste Rom-Reise, da kommt dein Beitrag gerade recht und macht richtig Lust auf Urlaub!

    • Lieblingsspot sagt

      Liebe Isabelle, das freut mich sehr! Dann wünsche ich Euch schon mal ganz viel Spaß 🤩 ich bin gespannt, wie es Euch gefällt:) LG, Tatjana

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.