Germany, Europe, Sustainability
Comments 2

Heimatliebe something different - the musical Ludwig² in feet!

Ludwigs Festspielhaus in Füssen

(Press Trip) Füssen = Neuschwanstein Castle! But how about a different perspective on Füssen in the Allgäu with a musical in the Bavarian past? And also in a cool location with mountain views and lake love:

Whe knows me a little better, knows that several hearts beat in my chest. My father is from the Allgäumy mother is Scottish with Ukrainian roots and I was born in the west of Munich, Therefore, I now feel a great desire to embark on a search for clues in the Allgäu ... And I love musicals! The last one was "The Lion King" in Hamburg. This time it goes together with my mother in the musical Ludwig² im Ludwigs Festspielhaus in Füssen.

The Festspielhaus

Arriving by train

We drive from comfortable Munich-Pasing off by train and only need to get in once Buchloe change. The first train is overcrowded and we have to be in part in the corridor. Ab Buchloe It will be more like a panorama trip with a view of the imposing Allgäu mountains and idyllic lakes, Shortly before the end one then sees on the left side in far distance, trapped in the rocks, the notorious infamous Neuschwanstein Castle!

After a good two hours drive we come in Fussen an, From the station either a bus to Festspielhaus (unfortunately only very sporadically in the countryside) or you treat yourself for about 10 € just a taxi.

Breathtaking panorama

Finally we are at the Festspielhaus and walk around the musical building. As we look around the corner, my breath starts to falter I am once again overwhelmed by the beauty of my homeland. The mountains stand out majestically, and between them, as in a fairy tale, this appears Neuschwanstein Castle and the forggensee radiates with the sun to the bet. I've already flashed, even though the musical has not started yet!

The location - box seat in the lake

The Ludwigs Festspielhaus has a long and varied history. Ludwig II designed sketches for a modern festival house with master builder Gottfried Semper as early as the year 1864. With the start of construction 1998 his vision finally became reality. The Festspielhaus has already filed for bankruptcy three times and for a good three years now, the new staging will be Ludwig² listed and is so far a complete success. I'm very excited!

The musical

Not least because of the fantastic location of Ludwigs Festspielhaus am Forggenseeufer - with a direct view Neuschwanstein Castle and Hohenschwangau Castle - the new production by director Benjamin Sahler is definitely more than just a musical visit for the musical visitors. Really breathtaking!

Panorama Festspielhaus

Open Air Stage & Events

When we arrive, we immediately see that the open-air stage is being set up for the next show act. The scenery is really unique! Stars like the Kelly Family, Mark Forster, Rae Garvey and Toto will be performing this summer.

There is also a lot going on at the restaurant. In addition to excursion guests and musical visitors who eat a snack in this breathtaking location, Today there is also a yoga event of the extra class. There are various yoga sessions on the roof terrace of the Festspielhaus and SUP yoga is offered on the lake. The next time I'm definitely at the start!

The restaurant

Tavern in the lake (yes, it really means that!), lives up to its name. I can not get enough of the incredible scenery. The menu in the beer garden is manageable, there are typical, Bavarian specialties but also fresh salads. We order a Sunday roast and the fitness salad with fruit. I'm blown away when the food comes: the meat is juicy and tender and the salad fruity-fresh! Here it definitely pays to make a stop outside of a musical visit.

Eating tavern in the lake

The musical

After the meal we are happy and satisfied and the excitement increases with regard to the upcoming show! For the fourth year, the musical Ludwig² will be performed on stage by Ludwigs Festspielhaus in the Allgäu resort Fussen. The season premiere started on 16. May 2019 and until the end of the season on the 5. January 2020 are planning more 76 performances.

With music titles such as "Cold Stars" and "Born in Palaces" Ludwig² is one of the most beautiful and moving works of the genre with music by Konstantin Wecker, Christopher Franke and Nic Raine. All this and more I experience in advance and the anticipation increases! Shortly before we go to the musical building of the Ludwigs Festspielhaus. Even from inside you have, thanks to the panoramic windows, everywhere a view of the mountains. We are sitting in the 2. Row in the middle and have an excellent view of the upcoming spectacle.

first act

The first part deals at the beginning with the young Ludwig and the rather difficult family constellation. Ludwig is appointed king early on but quickly realizes that he can not be the king he would really like to be. Namely without war, but with art & music for all. The actors are all ingenious and the minimalist stage design supports this dramatic yet true story. I get a real goose bump feeling in a duet with Sisi.

Ludwig and Sisi in duet

Ludwig and Sisi in duet Source: Festspielhaus

Second act

Now it gets really rousing. Ludwig must realize that Sisi does not love him, but can only offer him friendship. Soon after, war will break out and the little brother at the front will have to go to the sanatorium. Only now Ludwig can finally fulfill his dream and builds his fairy tale castle Neuschwanstein. He is interested in further inventions and is ahead of his time, but is only mildly ridiculed. In the end, King Ludwig II is overthrown by an intrigue. The rest is history and I almost feel tears as his sweethearts Sybille, Sisi and Count Dürckheim so compassionately mourn for him.

Final Scene Source: Festspielhaus

Final Scene Source: Festspielhaus

The musical lasts almost three hours with break, but is captivating and very entertaining. More information about the musical Ludwig² can be found here, Tickets cost from about 39,90 Euro.

Other musicals that run here in the Festspielhaus are The popes in November and in the fall a very modern interpretation of the Nibelungen, The schedule and other events in the You find Ludwigs Festspielhaus here.

Other highlights

In addition to the Neuschwanstein Castle, the sweet old town of Fussen and pure nature on forggensee and other lakes in the area, The trip is also worthwhile for families with children.

Excursion ship Forggensee

For example, there is one 3D Cinema Event "Ludwig's Visions"which brings the planned objects of Ludwig to life and introduces the visitors from the perspective of the king into his visionary ideas. Since the film lasts only 45 minutes, it is also well suited for kids. Then you can then with the excursion boat on the forggensee enjoy the panorama or walk around the lake.

Have you ever been to the musical Ludwig² in Füssen? Then go there! Otherwise, I can you the musical "King of the Lions" in Hamburg just to heart!

Transparency: I was invited to the musical by the Festspielhaus and the restaurant "Wirtshaus im See" invited us to dinner, My opinion was not influenced by this.

Split up

2 comments

  1. Hello dear Tatyana,
    the report about LUDWIG2 is great !!! Thank you very much - we are always very happy about people who appreciate our house and our musical and thus a mega-dedicated commitment. Above all, I am pleased for our employees about it.

    Sincerely greet and always come back to us in the Festspielhaus
    Birgit Karle
    Manager

    • favorite spot sagt

      Dear Birgit, thank you! I'll definitely be back! The mix of this fantastic location and the great musicals is really unique :) Greetings, Tatjana

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Deutschland, Europa
Kommentare 2

Heimatliebe mal anders – das Musical Ludwig² in Füssen!

Ludwigs Festspielhaus in Füssen

(Pressereise) Füssen = Schloss Neuschwanstein! Aber wie wäre es mal mit einem anderen Blickwinkel auf Füssen im Allgäu mit einem Musical in die bayerische Vergangenheit? Und das auch noch in einer coolen Location mit Bergblick und Seenliebe:

Wer mich etwas besser kennt, weiß, dass mehrere Herzen in meiner Brust schlagen. Mein Vater kommt aus dem Allgäu, meine Mutter ist Schottin mit ukrainischen Wurzeln und geboren wurde ich im Westen von München. Daher verspüre ich nun eine große Lust mich auf Spurensuche ins Allgäu zu begeben… Und ich liebe ja Musicals! Das letzte war „Der König der Löwen“ in Hamburg. Diesmal geht es zusammen mit meiner Mutter in das Musical Ludwig² im Ludwigs Festspielhaus in Füssen.

Das Festspielhaus

Anreise mit dem Zug

Wir fahren ganz gemütlich von München-Pasing aus mit dem Zug und müssen nur einmal in Buchloe umsteigen. Der erste Zug ist ziemlich überfüllt und wir müssen zum Teil im Gang stehen. Ab Buchloe wird es dann schon eher eine Panoramafahrt mit Blick auf die imposanten Allgäuer Berge und idyllischen Seen. Kurz vor dem Ende erblickt man dann auf der linken Seite in weiter Ferne, eingeklemmt in die Felsen, das berühmt berüchtigte Schloss Neuschwanstein!

Nach gut zwei Stunden Fahrt kommen wir in Füssen an. Vom Bahnhof fährt entweder ein Bus zum Festspielhaus (leider nur sehr sporadisch so auf dem Land) oder man gönnt sich für ca. 10€ einfach ein Taxi.

Atemberaubendes Panorama

Endlich sind wir am Festspielhaus und laufen erst einmal um das Musical-Gebäude herum. Als wir um die Ecke blicken, stockt mir erst einmal der Atem und ich bin mal wieder überwältigt von der Schönheit meiner Heimat. Die Berge ragen majestätisch hervor, dazwischen erscheint wie im Märchen das Schloss Neuschwanstein und der Forggensee strahlt mit der Sonne um die Wette. Ich bin jetzt schon geflashed, obwohl das Musical noch gar nicht angefangen hat!

Die Location – Logenplatz im See

Das Ludwigs Festspielhaus hat eine lange und wechselhafte Geschichte. Ludwig II. entwarf mit Baumeister Gottfried Semper schon im Jahr 1864 Skizzen für ein modernes Festspielhaus. Mit dem Baubeginn 1998 wurde seine Vision dann endlich Wirklichkeit. Schon dreimal hat das Festspielhaus Insolvenz angemeldet und seit nunmehr gut drei Jahren wird die neue Inszenierung Ludwig² aufgeführt und ist bis jetzt ein voller Erfolg. Ich bin schon sehr gespannt!

Das Musical

Nicht zuletzt wegen der traumhaften Lage von Ludwigs Festspielhaus am Forggenseeufer – mit direktem Blick auf Schloss Neuschwanstein und Schloss Hohenschwangau – ist die neue Produktion von Regisseur Benjamin Sahler für die Musicalbesucher definitiv mehr als „einfach nur ein Musicalbesuch“. Wirklich atemberaubend!

Panorama Festspielhaus

Open Air Bühne & Events

Als wir ankommen, sehen wir gleich, dass die Open-Air-Bühne gerade für den nächsten Show-Act aufgebaut wird. Die Kulisse ist wirklich einmalig! Hier treten den Sommer über dann Stars wie die Kelly Family, Mark Forster, Rae Garvey oder Toto auf.

Am Restaurant ist auch einiges los. Neben Ausflugsgästen und Musicalbesuchern, die in dieser atemberaubenden Location eine Kleinigkeit essen, findet heute auch noch ein Yoga Event der Extraklasse statt. Auf der Dachterrasse des Festspielhaus‘ gibt es verschiedene Yoga-Sessions und auf dem See wird SUP-Yoga angeboten. Das nächste Mal bin ich definitiv am Start!

Das Restaurant

Das Wirtshaus im See (ja, es heißt wirklich so!), macht seinem Namen alle Ehre. Ich kann mich gar nicht satt sehen an der unglaublichen Kulisse. Die Speisekarte im Biergarten ist überschaubar, es gibt typisch, bayerische Spezialitäten aber auch frische Salate. Wir bestellen einen Sonntagsbraten und den Fitness-Salat mit Obst. Ich bin hin und weg, als das Essen kommt: das Fleisch ist saftig und zart und der Salat fruchtig-frisch! Hier lohnt es sich definitiv auch außerhalb eines Musicalbesuchs einen Stopp einzulegen.

Essen Wirtshaus im See

Das Musical

Nach dem Essen sind wir glücklich und zufrieden und die Spannung steigt bezüglich der bevorstehende Show! Das Musical Ludwig² läuft heuer im vierten Jahr auf der Bühne von Ludwigs Festspielhaus im Allgäuer Urlaubsort Füssen. Die Saisonpremiere startete am 16. Mai 2019 und bis zum Saisonende am 5. Januar 2020 sind weitere 76 Vorstellungen geplant.

Mit Musiktiteln wie „Kalte Sterne“ und „In Palästen geboren“ zählt Ludwig² zu den schönsten und ergreifendsten Werken des Genres mit Musik von Konstantin Wecker, Christopher Franke und Nic Raine. Das alles und mehr erfahre ich vorab und die Vorfreude steigt! Kurz vor knapp begeben wir uns also in das Musical-Gebäude des Ludwigs Festspielhaus. Selbst von Drinnen hat man, Dank der Panoramafenster, überall einen Blick auf die Berge. Wir sitzen in der 2. Reihe in der Mitte und haben eine hervorragende Sicht auf das kommende Spektakel.

Erster Akt

Der erste Teil handelt zu Beginn über den jungen Ludwig und die eher schwierige Familienkonstellation. Ludwig wird früh zum König ernannt und merkt aber schnell, dass er nicht der König sein kann, der er eigentlich gerne wäre. Nämlich ohne Krieg, dafür aber mit Kunst & Musik für alle. Die Darsteller sind allesamt genial und das minimalistische Bühnenbild unterstützt diese dramatische und doch so wahre Geschichte. Echtes Gänsehaut-Feeling bekomme ich beim Duett mit Sisi.

Ludwig und Sisi im Duett

Ludwig und Sisi im Duett Quelle: Festspielhaus

Zweiter Akt

Jetzt wird es richtig mitreißend. Ludwig muss erkennen, dass Sisi ihn nicht liebt, sondern ihm nur die Freundschaft bieten kann. Bald darauf kommt es zum Krieg und der kleine Bruder an der Front muss danach in die Heilanstalt. Erst jetzt kann Ludwig endlich seinen Traum erfüllen und baut sein Märchenschloss Neuschwanstein. Er interessiert sich für weitere Erfindungen und ist seiner Zeit voraus, wird dafür aber nur milde belächelt. Am Ende wird König Ludwig der Zweite durch eine Intrige gestürzt. Der Rest ist Geschichte und mir kommen fast die Tränen als seine Liebsten Sybille, Sisi und Graf Dürckheim so mitfühlend um ihn trauern.

Schlussszene Quelle: Festspielhaus

Schlussszene Quelle: Festspielhaus

Das Musical dauert mit Pause fast drei Stunden, ist aber fesselnd und sehr kurzweilig. Weitere Informationen zum Musical Ludwig² findet ihr hier. Tickets kosten ab ca. 39,90 Euro.

Weitere Musicals, die hier im Festspielhaus laufen, sind Die Päpstin im November und im Herbst noch eine sehr moderne Interpretation von den Nibelungen. Den Spielplan und weitere Events im Ludwigs Festspielhaus findet ihr hier.

Weitere Highlights

Neben dem Schloss Neuschwanstein, der süßen Altstadt von Füssen und Natur pur am Forggensee und weiterer Seen in der Umgebung, lohnt sich der Ausflug auch für Familien mit Kindern.

Ausflugsschiff Forggensee

Es gibt zum Beispiel ein 3D-Kino Event „Ludwigs Visionen“, welches die geplanten Objekte Ludwigs lebendig werden lässt und die Besucher aus der Sicht des Königs in seine visionären Ideen einführt. Da der Film nur 45 Minuten dauert, ist er auch für Kids gut geeignet. Danach kann man dann mit dem Ausflugsschiff auf dem Forggensee das Panorama genießen oder um den See spazieren.

Ward ihr schon mal im Musical Ludwig² in Füssen? Dann nichts wie hin! Ansonsten kann ich Euch das Musical „König der Löwen“ in Hamburg nur ans Herz legen!

Transparenz: Ich wurde vom Festspielhaus ins Musical eingeladen und das Restaurant „Wirtshaus im See“ hat uns zum Essen eingeladen. Meine Meinung wurde dadurch nicht beeinflusst.

Teilen auf

2 Kommentare

  1. Hallo liebe Tatjana,
    der Bericht über LUDWIG2 ist super!!! Vielen Dank dafür – wir freuen uns immer sehr über Menschen, die unser Haus und unser Musical und damit einen mega-engagierten Einsatz würdigen. Vor allem freue ich mich für unsere Mitarbeiter darüber.

    Sei herzlichst gegrüßt und komme immer gerne wieder zu uns ins Festspielhaus
    Birgit Karle
    Geschäftsführerin

    • Lieblingsspot sagt

      Liebe Birgit, vielen Dank! Ich komme definitiv wieder! Die Mischung aus dieser fantastischen Location und den tollen Musicals ist wirklich einmalig:) liebe Grüße, Tatjana

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.