Germany, Europe, Family, Travels, Winter
Leave a Comment

Family vacation in the Bavarian Forest - winter fun for young and old!

Bavarian-Wald_Foto_Kevin_Lorenz

Ad l The Bavarian Forest region in the northeast of Bavaria is often not immediately associated with a family winter vacation. But the Bavarian Forest actually has everything to offer from snowshoeing, cross-country skiing and skiing to tobogganing and winter wellness with and without kids! Here are my highlights for a family vacation in the Bavarian Forest in winter:

Von Munich you can take a good two hours by train or car to the Bavarian Forest region around Passau. Not only the first and oldest national park in Germany is waiting for you in the largest forest landscape in Central Europe, but also an infinite number of nature adventures and pure winter enjoyment. What you can best experience in winter on a family vacation in the Bavarian Forest:

Skiing with children in the Bavarian Forest

The two most popular family-friendly ski areas in the Bavarian Forest are the Ggreat arber and Mitterndorf, which certainly offer the perfect conditions for young and old, especially for beginners.

The Family ski area Arber has the ArBär Kinderland & Zwergenland especially for children with five conveyor belts, five ski schools and a flat practice meadow. For the adults, three chair lifts and over ten different runs are available in the ski area at an altitude of up to 1.400 meters, as well as a family cross-park. Tobogganing fun and floodlit skiing is also possible!

Learn to ski in the Bavarian Forest

Learn to ski in the Bavarian Forest

Mitterndorf offers three magic carpets, a ski carousel and ski schools in the Junior Ski Circus with ski rental. There are six lifts for the big ones and a baby lift for the smaller ones. All slopes are covered with snow and it goes up to 1.100 vertical meters. Floodlit skiing and sledding can of course also be done here.

In addition, there are other ski areas for a family vacation in the Bavarian Forest, among others Sankt Englmar, Waldmünchen and Goat head. All information about the family ski areas in the Bavarian Forest and more can be found here.

Tobogganing with children in the Bavarian Forest

We are real toboggan fans! We almost prefer to do that than skiing. Our little one was already on the sled when she couldn't even walk. We prefer to combine the whole thing with a short winter hiketo whiz down on a natural toboggan run.

Tobogganing with children Bavarian Forest

Tobogganing with children Bavarian Forest

There are countless possibilities for this in the Bavarian Forest! For this adventure there is the one Hochzell toboggan run on. This toboggan experience for the whole family in the resort Bodenmais in the ArberLand Bavarian Forest can be reached as follows:

Routes & information Hochzell toboggan run

  • steep route (approx. 2,9 km): footpath from Arberhochstraße to the departure approx. 30 minutes, average. Slope: 11,5%, web width: approx. 3 m
  • Family route (approx. 3,1 km): footpath from Arberhochstraße to the departure approx. 8 minutes, average. Slope: 9,0%, web width: approx. 3 m
  • Toboggan rental: travel agency Wenzl, Bahnhofstr. 75, 94249 Bodenmais-Zentrum, Tel. +49 (0) 9924/7015 and at all ski schools in town.
  • Parking: Attention! No parking and turning possibilities in the target area Rißlochweg.
  • Please park in town and get on at the travel agency Wenzl.
  • Operation: if there is sufficient snow, daily from 14:00 p.m. to 17:00 p.m. (every 15-30 minutes).

Or even that Natural toboggan run Brennes-Mooshütte, The toboggan run is operated by Franz Herrnberger from the Arber ski school and Volker Kirchberger from the Mooshütte mountain inn. The start of the sledge fun at Brennes is at the Arber ski school.

Distance information Natural toboggan run Brennes-Mooshütte

  • Length: 800 m / difference in altitude: 120 m / altitude: 1.050 m (guaranteed snow)
  • Care: daily
  • Sledge rental: at the Arber ski school
  • Ascent support: no
  • Parking: yes
  • Distance from Lohberg: 8 km
  • Opening times: The Berggasthof Mooshütte is open throughout the winter season

A special tip for families with small children

Family toboggan run on the Großer Arber

This toboggan run exists the possibility of a lift ride with the 6-person Sonnenhang chairlift. At 1200 meters in length, an exceptionally long and beautiful descent awaits you. A free toboggan bus will bring you back to the Sonnenhang chairlift and you can take off again!

This toboggan run is special very popular with children and young families as it has a flat and simple coursethat excludes almost every risk of injury.

Tobogganing Bavarian Forest

Tobogganing Bavarian Forest

Sledding on the popular toboggan slope in the St. Englmar spa park

In the spa park St. Englmar an approx. 150 m long sledge lift was installed and is now the longest toboggan lift in all of Eastern Bavaria. This makes sledding much easier for the children and of course for us parents too. The sledge run is therefore always in good condition, because a snowmaking system ensures an optimal snow surface.

Nothing stands in the way of tobogganing fun for young and old in the evening, because a floodlight system at the toboggan lift creates the best visibility. Of course there is also a sledge rental right on the toboggan slope. And if you need a refreshment, there is a kiosk right on the slope.

In principle, there is also an option for tobogganing in every ski area.

Winter enjoyment in the Bavarian Forest National Park

The Bavarian Forest National Park celebrates its 2020th anniversary in 50! If that's not a reason to visit this one time. There are free tours and offers for families. The detailed program and all details can be found here. Pre-registration by phone is necessary! Weatherproof clothing and sturdy shoes are of course a requirement for all children's events.

For all children's events, a registration with the guide service is required on Tel. 0800 0776650!

Among other things Guided tours on the topic of "forest sniffing noses", "tracker in the winter forest" and "winter adventure in the forest play area for children from 5-10 years“And much more offered. There is also a nature workshop with exciting and creative ideas with and from nature. A really diverse offer for little explorers!

Family vacation in the Bavarian Forest

Winter enjoyment in the Bavarian Forest

Adventure in the snow for a family vacation in the Bavarian Forest

If you should still be bored, you can still Romp in the various swimming pools, experience a husky tour, try biathlon or go on a torchlight hike. There is even the possibility to take part in an igloo workshop - if that's not really cool! More information and details can be found here.

Would you also like a family vacation in the Bavarian Forest with winter enjoyment? Have you ever been to winter hiking, cross-country skiing, skiing or sledding in the region? Feel free to write me a comment!

Split up

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Deutschland, Europa, Family, Travels, Winter
Schreibe einen Kommentar

Familienurlaub im Bayerischen Wald – Winterspaß für Groß & Klein!

Bayerischer-Wald_Foto_Kevin_Lorenz

Anzeige l Die Region Bayerischer Wald im Nordosten Bayerns wird ja oft nicht gleich mit einem Familienwinterurlaub in Verbindung gebracht. Doch tatsächlich hat der Bayerische Wald von Schneeschuhwandern, Langlauf sowie Skifahren bis hin zu Rodeln und Winterwellness mit und ohne Kids alles zu bieten! Meine Highlights für einen Familienurlaub im Bayerischen Wald im Winter zeige ich Euch hier:

Von München fährt man mit dem Zug oder dem Auto gute zwei Stunden in die Region Bayerischer Wald rund um Passau. In der größten Waldlandschaft Mitteleuropas wartet nicht nur der erste und älteste Nationalpark Deutschlands auf Euch, sondern auch unendlich viele Natur-Abenteuer und purer Wintergenuss. Was man im Familienurlaub im Bayerischen Wald im Winter am besten erleben kann:

Skifahren mit Kindern im Bayerischen Wald

Die zwei beliebtesten familienfreundlichen Skigebiete im Bayerischen Wald sind der Große Arber und Mitterdorf, welche mit Sicherheit die perfekten Bedingungen für Groß und Klein, insbesondere auch für Skianfänger, bieten.

Das Familienskigebiet Arber hat extra für Kinder das ArBär Kinderland & Zwergenland mit fünf Förderbändern, fünf Skischulen und einer flachen Übungswiese. Für die Erwachsenen stehen im Skigebiet auf bis zu 1.400 Höhenmetern drei Sessel-Lifte und über zehn verschieden Abfahrten zur Verfügung sowie ein Familien Cross-Park. Rodelspaß und Flutlicht-Skifahren ist auch möglich!

Skifahren lernen im Bayerischen Wald

Skifahren lernen im Bayerischen Wald

Mitterdorf bietet im Junior Ski Zirkus drei Zauberteppiche, ein Ski-Karussell und Skischulen mit Skiverleih an. Für die Großen gibt es sechs Lifte und für die Kleineren einen Babylift. Alle Pisten werden beschneit und es geht bis auf 1.100 Höhenmeter hinauf. Flutlicht-Skifahren und Rodeln kann man hier natürlich auch.

Darüber hinaus gibt es noch weitere Skigebiete für einen Familienurlaub im Bayerischen Wald unter anderem Sankt Englmar, Waldmünchen und Geißkopf. Alle Infos zu den Familienskigebieten im Bayerischen Wald und mehr gibt es hier.

Rodeln mit Kindern im Bayerischen Wald

Wir sind ja echte Rodel-Fans! Das machen wir fast noch lieber als Skifahren. Unsere Kleine saß schon auf dem Schlitten als sie noch nicht mal Laufen konnte. Am liebsten kombinieren wir das Ganze mit einer kleinen Winterwanderung, um am Ende auf einer Natur-Rodelbahn hinunter sausen zu können.

Rodeln mit Kindern Bayerischer Wald

Rodeln mit Kindern Bayerischer Wald

Dafür gibt es im Bayerischen Wald unzählige Möglichkeiten! Für dieses Abenteuer bietet sich zum einen die Waldrodelbahn Hochzell an. Dieses Rodelerlebnis für die ganze Familie im Urlaubsort Bodenmais im ArberLand Bayerischer Wald ist wie folgt zu erreichen:

Strecken & Infos Waldrodelbahn Hochzell

  • steile Strecke (ca. 2,9 km): Fußweg ab Arberhochstraße zur Abfahrt ca. 30 Minuten, durchschn. Gefälle: 11,5%, Bahnbreite: ca. 3 m
  • Familienstrecke (ca. 3,1 km): Fußweg ab Arberhochstraße zur Abfahrt ca. 8 Minuten, durchschn. Gefälle: 9,0%, Bahnbreite: ca. 3 m
  • Rodelverleih: Reisebüro Wenzl, Bahnhofstr. 75, 94249 Bodenmais-Zentrum, Tel. +49 (0)9924/7015 sowie bei allen Skischulen im Ort.
  • Parkmöglichkeit: Achtung! Keine Park- und Wendemöglichkeit im Zielbereich Rißlochweg.
  • Bitte im Ort parken und bei Reisebüro Wenzl zusteigen.
  • Betrieb: bei ausreichender Schneelage täglich von 14:00-17:00 Uhr (alle 15-30 Minuten).

Oder auch die Naturrodelbahn Brennes-Mooshütte. Die Betreiber der Rodelbahn sind Franz Herrnberger von der Skischule Arber und Volker Kirchberger vom Berggasthof Mooshütte. Der Start der Schlitten-Gaudi am Brennes befindet sich bei der Skischule Arber.

Strecken-Infos Naturrodelbahn Brennes-Mooshütte

  • Länge: 800 m / Höhenunterschied: 120 m / Höhenlage: 1.050 m (schneesicher)
  • Pflege: täglich
  • Schlittenverleih: bei der Skischule Arber
  • Aufstiegshilfe: nein
  • Parkmöglichkeit: ja
  • Entfernung von Lohberg: 8 km
  • Öffnungszeiten: Der Berggasthof Mooshütte ist die ganze Wintersaison durchgehend geöffnet

Ein besonderer Tipp für Familien mit kleineren Kindern

Familienrodelbahn am Großen Arber

Bei dieser Rodelbahn besteht die Möglichkeit einer Liftfahrt mit der 6er-Sonnenhang- Sesselbahn. Mit 1200 Metern Länge wartet hier eine außergewöhnlich lange und schöne Abfahrt auf Euch. Ein kostenloser Rodelbus bringt Euch anschließend wieder zurück zur Sonnenhang-Sesselbahn und wer mag kann gleich nochmal los düsen!

Diese Rodelbahn ist besonders bei Kindern und jungen Familien sehr beliebt, da sie einen flachen und einfachen Verlauf hat, der nahezu jedes Verletzungsrisiko ausschließt.

Schlittenfahren Bayerischer Wald

Schlittenfahren Bayerischer Wald

Schlittenfahren am beliebten Rodelhang im Kurpark St. Englmar

Im Kurpark St. Englmar wurde ein ca. 150 m langer Schlittenlift installiert und ist damit der längste Rodellift in ganz Ostbayern. Somit wird das Schlittenfahren für die Kinder und natürlich auch uns Eltern um einiges bequemer. Die Schlittenpiste ist daher auch immer in gutem Zustand, da eine Beschneiungsanlage für eine optimale Schneeunterlage sorgt.

Hier steht dem Rodelvergnügen für Jung und Alt auch abends nichts im Wege, da am Rodellift eine Flutlichtanlage beste Sichtverhältnisse schafft. Natürlich gibt es auch einen Schlittenverleih direkt am Rodelhang. Und wer mal eine Stärkung braucht, dem steht ein Kiosk direkt am Hang zur Verfügung.

Darüber hinaus befindet sich im Prinzip auch in jedem Skigebiet eine Möglichkeit zum Rodeln.

Wintergenuss im Nationalpark Bayerischer Wald

Der Nationalpark Bayerischer Wald feiert 2020 sein 50-jähriges Bestehen! Wenn das kein Grund ist, diesen einmal zu besuchen. Es gibt hier kostenlose Führungen und Angebote für Familien. Das ausführliche Programm und alle Details findet ihr hier. Telefonische Voranmeldung nötig! Wetterfeste Kleidung und feste Schuhe sind natürlich bei allen Kinderveranstaltungen Voraussetzung.

Für alle Kinderveranstaltungen ist eine Anmeldung beim Führungsservice unter Tel. 0800 0776650 erforderlich!

Unter anderem werden Führungen zum Thema „Waldspürnasen“, „Spurensucher im Winterwald“ und „Winterabenteuer im Waldspielgelände für Kinder von 5-10 Jahren“ und vieles mehr angeboten. Darüber hinaus gibt es auch eine Naturwerkstatt mit spannenden und kreativen Ideen mit und aus der Natur. Ein wirklich vielfältiges Angebot für kleine Entdecker!

Familienurlaub im Bayerischen Wald

Wintergenuss im Bayerischen Wald

Abenteuer im Schnee für einen Familienurlaub im Bayerischen Wald

Wem immer noch langweilig sein sollte, der kann noch in den verschiedenen Schwimmbädern toben, eine Huskytour miterleben, sich im Biathlon versuchen oder eine Fackelwanderung unternehmen. Es gibt sogar die Möglichkeit an einem Iglu-Workshop teilzunehmen – wenn das mal nicht richtig cool ist! Weitere Infos und Details findet ihr hier.

Hättet ihr auch Lust auf einen Familienurlaub im Bayerischen Wald mit Wintergenuss? Ward ihr schon mal in der Region unterwegs zum Winterwandern, Langlauf, Skifahren oder Rodeln? Schreibt mir gerne einen Kommentar!

Teilen auf

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.